$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
375 reviews
Short business trip

Atrium was in a great location for a great price. The atrium area is a beautiful atmosphere. It was... See full review

  • Family Business Traveler
  • Oct 16, 2014
Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one... See full review

  • freq traveler90
  • Jul 25, 2014
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6758 -117.8603
Area served
Orange County, CA
Nearby airports
Orange County Airport Los Angeles Airport Long Beach Airport
Area description
In the heart of the metropolitan Irvine Business District with access to all freeways and attractions in Southern California. Located near the beaches of Southern California; Disneyland, South Coast Plaza Shopping and UCI.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (375)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
375 out of 375
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AKJWC
Business
SNA
Feb 27, 2014

My Worse vacation I ever had!

This hotel is so old and nasty. I got sick the minute I walked in to the room. I could not breath or stop sneezing and coughing. The room stunk so bad. I changed my room three times. The third room was little cleaner and better. I would never stay at this hotel ever again. The only advantage this hotel has is they are located next to the SNA airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rolodex M
Business
Cherry hill nj
Apr 10, 2014

Worst hotel ever for business

Other than it being across from Airport. Atrium needs a total over haul. Understaffed... Sat in Lobby for 2 hours waiting for a room. Check in was at three but flew in from phila at 10 PST , staff would not give any assistance to get me in the room early. After sitting In the lobby for 3 hours and watching a family check in I finally had to go ask why I was not ask or told a room was ready. While I was waiting I went and had lunch at the pool bar and again there was only one person operating the bAr and serving the food. The bar/waiter finally handed me a menu and told me the cook did not buy any fish . I had a bad burger. Tues night I went to another hotel for one night . I will and never recommend the atrium hotel . I want to know how you rated this hotel 3 stars. Totay disappointed. Christoper Rumbos President /CEO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rolodex M
Business
Cherry hill nj
Apr 22, 2014

Second class hotel

Flew in early from east coast and when got to hotel room was not ready . I understand I was early but the staff did not ask or even accomate me in any way. Walk out to outside restaurant and only one bartender was there , no waitress and food did not have most of the food on the menus , no fish per the bartender , cook did not have time to go to market. Bartender was a good guy . That's what save the hour. After I ate I went back in and sat on the couch next to lobby. After a few hours I finally ask the young lady if a room was available , finally ... Room was a 1 on a scale of 5 . Would not recommend at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
john wayne airport
Jun 21, 2009

bad hotel

hotel ruin the trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
djgfoiy
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Dec 8, 2011

old and tired

try another place, they try to clean it up but it feels like a dungeon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
timeout for 2
Business
San Diego
May 13, 2012

airport connection

Exterior of hotel is nice... Interior experience is old and outdated.. If your looking for a quick and inexpensive stay this is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alkhlidi
Business
Irvine
May 26, 2012

I don't like

Not good everything Not good................. I don't have Ad any thing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

:...........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jenn angry customer
Business
Idaho
Jun 13, 2012

A lively get away

there were mechanical problems with the door locks There was hair in the bath tub and on the towels on the first night we were there. Tried to reach the manager in the lobby and on the phone over the course of our 5 days day he never returned any calls voicemails or was available in the lobby. We killed two spiders while staying there. The ceiling popcorn kept falling off so there was white powder on the floor every day. There was mold on the shower ceiling. The front desk held a cash deposit and a card deposit. They said they would only do one out the other so we had to dispute the hold with our bank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Buy the tickets on your smartphone using an app it saves 50.00 a park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Want a clean room
Business
Irvine, CA
Jun 18, 2012

Would not recommend, and here's why:

I've had friends stay there, and really close to the Airport. That is why I chose to stay there. The bad: The hotel states they have been recently remodeled, which is a joke. The hotel smelled strange, and still am not sure why. The carpet had something sticky in front of the full length mirror (nice), but very uncomfortable. I covered it with a towel. The carpet also felt "wet" in areas. Kept my socks on at all times. Shower would lose either the hot or cold, so scald or freeze. The heating didn't really heat the room, and there was no refrigerator; you can order one at a nominal fee. Everything is extra, nickel and diming you like crazy. The hotel info in the rooms is from 2007, so prices, etc., are not up to date. No gift shop, and the place was creepy. Parking is $12.00 a night and an incredible hassle - had to go back to the office, get a sticker, then it doesn't work, and the parking is broken up, has not been updated for a while... I'm here for interviews, so do not need the hassle. The bathroom had mold around the tub. Everything was very worn and used; really used. No one in the restaurant, which was interesting. No continental breakfast at all; like I said, you pay for it. Now the good things: The staff was AMAZING. On top of their game, very helpful and nice. The beds (I reserved a King) was a dream, as were the sheets and pillows. And the pillows smelled really good, (I travel with pillow covers) so sleeping in was heaven. Coffee was alright, the maid service women were so nice and fast, truly concerned in what I might need. Water pressure was pretty good and the hair dryer was nice (no cool settings) and their shampoo\conditioner and soap was very good. So.... there was always someone walking around, so staff is 24/7 and highly visible which is great. I would suggest 2nd\3rd rooms for women alone; I could pop the lock and I am a woman. So Service = 10; Quality = 5; Value = 3. And no, I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nat10
Business
LA
Jun 11, 2012

Wouldn't come back

I didn't like anything about this hotel. The hotel is old and smells bad, the service is bad and the breakfast buffet is just 2 types of cereal,scrambled egg and bacon (they even charge you for a bread)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top