$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
375 reviews
Short business trip

Atrium was in a great location for a great price. The atrium area is a beautiful atmosphere. It was... See full review

  • Family Business Traveler
  • Oct 16, 2014
Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one... See full review

  • freq traveler90
  • Jul 25, 2014
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (375)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
375 out of 375
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
john wayne airport
Jun 21, 2009

bad hotel

hotel ruin the trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
djgfoiy
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Dec 8, 2011

old and tired

try another place, they try to clean it up but it feels like a dungeon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
timeout for 2
Business
San Diego
May 13, 2012

airport connection

Exterior of hotel is nice... Interior experience is old and outdated.. If your looking for a quick and inexpensive stay this is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alkhlidi
Business
Irvine
May 26, 2012

I don't like

Not good everything Not good................. I don't have Ad any thing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

:...........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jenn angry customer
Business
Idaho
Jun 13, 2012

A lively get away

there were mechanical problems with the door locks There was hair in the bath tub and on the towels on the first night we were there. Tried to reach the manager in the lobby and on the phone over the course of our 5 days day he never returned any calls voicemails or was available in the lobby. We killed two spiders while staying there. The ceiling popcorn kept falling off so there was white powder on the floor every day. There was mold on the shower ceiling. The front desk held a cash deposit and a card deposit. They said they would only do one out the other so we had to dispute the hold with our bank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Buy the tickets on your smartphone using an app it saves 50.00 a park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Want a clean room
Business
Irvine, CA
Jun 18, 2012

Would not recommend, and here's why:

I've had friends stay there, and really close to the Airport. That is why I chose to stay there. The bad: The hotel states they have been recently remodeled, which is a joke. The hotel smelled strange, and still am not sure why. The carpet had something sticky in front of the full length mirror (nice), but very uncomfortable. I covered it with a towel. The carpet also felt "wet" in areas. Kept my socks on at all times. Shower would lose either the hot or cold, so scald or freeze. The heating didn't really heat the room, and there was no refrigerator; you can order one at a nominal fee. Everything is extra, nickel and diming you like crazy. The hotel info in the rooms is from 2007, so prices, etc., are not up to date. No gift shop, and the place was creepy. Parking is $12.00 a night and an incredible hassle - had to go back to the office, get a sticker, then it doesn't work, and the parking is broken up, has not been updated for a while... I'm here for interviews, so do not need the hassle. The bathroom had mold around the tub. Everything was very worn and used; really used. No one in the restaurant, which was interesting. No continental breakfast at all; like I said, you pay for it. Now the good things: The staff was AMAZING. On top of their game, very helpful and nice. The beds (I reserved a King) was a dream, as were the sheets and pillows. And the pillows smelled really good, (I travel with pillow covers) so sleeping in was heaven. Coffee was alright, the maid service women were so nice and fast, truly concerned in what I might need. Water pressure was pretty good and the hair dryer was nice (no cool settings) and their shampoo\conditioner and soap was very good. So.... there was always someone walking around, so staff is 24/7 and highly visible which is great. I would suggest 2nd\3rd rooms for women alone; I could pop the lock and I am a woman. So Service = 10; Quality = 5; Value = 3. And no, I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nat10
Business
LA
Jun 11, 2012

Wouldn't come back

I didn't like anything about this hotel. The hotel is old and smells bad, the service is bad and the breakfast buffet is just 2 types of cereal,scrambled egg and bacon (they even charge you for a bread)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
krySTAL 949
Business
orange, California
Sep 30, 2012

motel

I thought the surroundings were nice, right next to airport and gas station. Staff was nice, room was horrible. The only nice thing was the bed. Only had like 6 channels and bad connection. Seemed more like a motel then hotel. It cost $12 just to park!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good for travelers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CRISTINA A.
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 18, 2013

DIRTY, SMALL ROOM STUCK IN THE 70s

My two sons and I stayed here because the water polo team decided it was close to the pools we were going to. It was not. We were NOT advised that parking would be $12/day. "Breakfast" was included, horrible powedered eggs and bacon. The first night, the heater didn't work and we asked for blankets but our heads froze. There was hair on my sheets and the top sheet was dirty on the edges. There was a urine stain (or something of that color) on the sink. A small TV from the 70s and two tiny double beds. The next morning a maintenance guy came to repair the heater, and I left the room. When we returned at night, the heater was working and set at 90 degrees. Everthing we touched in the room was boiling hot. So now we had heat, but the heater was making a noise that resembled rain drops on a tin roof. I was able to fall asleep (out of sheer exaustion) around 6am. When I checked out I complained to the front desk about all this AND the fact that I was NEVER, at reservation OR check-in been advised of the $12 daily parking fee. She said if I have any questions to talk to the general manager (who wasn't there). I told her I would just review them on the internet. AND OF COURSE I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you have to eat at the restaurant, have the steak frites, it was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MaxTheCat
Business
Seattle, WAshington
Mar 6, 2013

What Happened?

The check in was great. We did not get a King room as requested and was put into their "newly remodeled room" but it was hardly remodeled and very uncomfortable. The bed was slanted and I kept rolling over to the edge of the bed and couldn't get comfortable. Not to mention that the the smoke detector in the hallway kept going off from 6am to 11am. We called to complain and they thought we were complaining about the alarm clock in the room. When we went to the front desk to complain in person about all of the above, I spoke to the manger and he didn't offer to do anything. Great location and quiet, but terrible service and a horrible restaurant in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at Gulliver's for any reason!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top