$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 20, 2015 Check-out: Feb 23, 2015

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
383 reviews
Business Trip

The room was very clean and service was A+. I would definitely recommend this room to a friend or... See full review

  • William L.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Girlfriend Trip

The location is convenient. The staff was quick and helpful. The pool area is nice. The entry way... See full review

  • Trixy
  • Jan 9, 2015
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (383)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
383 out of 383
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yin zhao
Business
irvine
Aug 16, 2014

mr.

Good, but room is too far from lobby. The room has a little smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lacrosse Dad
Business
Irvine, California
Aug 4, 2014

Nice pool

Staff is disengaged and not eager in customer service. Rooms are out dated and loud. The pool setting is very nice and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Houston's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dandax
Business
hercules, ca
Aug 4, 2014

hotel atrium

you pay the parking you pay the microwave you pay the refrigerator the bed is small the hallway smells no free coffee in the lobby no complimentary breakfast the access doors to enter the hotel is not secured We will never ever book in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tsunami Kicks
Business
San Marcos, CA
Jul 30, 2014

Good Experience

We stayed overnight in order to catch a boat ride from Newport to Catalina. Overall, a good experience. Pros: nice pool and friendly staff Cons: airport noise and wallpaper in bathroom was outdated and peeling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EscpeArtist
Business
San Gabrial, CA
Jul 29, 2014

Happy For a Get Away

The room was clean, but the bathroom was outdated. Bed was pretty comfortable, but the room smelled like cigarette smoke the first day (was a non-smoking room). I really enjoyed the pool area and outdoor bar. They have cabanas that surround the pool. Very relaxing setting and a great place to just sit, have a drink and catch an Angel's game. The service was good overall. Just a warning, I got sick from the food in the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Irvine Spectrum and movie theaters in Tustin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea the prince3
Business
Egypt
Jul 29, 2014

Good

It was quit good but the people their had to be more friendly not just doing the work for doing it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Whale watching

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrossFit couple
Business
Rockford, Illinois
Jul 29, 2014

Review

This hotel was pretty average. It did have a really nice pool area though. We stayed 4 nights. A couple things I didn't like... The room smelt funny. I think it was from the AC unit. Every night I had to request an additional wash cloth. I'm not sure why they were only leaving one. I was also surprised to find out that it costs $12 a night to park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fashion Island is a great mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLC Likes to Travel
Business
San Diego
Jul 27, 2014

The pool is well worth the stay

I loved the pool area. Towels rolled and nicely placed on each chair. Loved that it was deep, 9ft. Cabanas are available and furnished with comfortable sofas, chairs and televisions, great addition. Prices at the bar, which included a great menu, were very reasonably priced...try the wings with spicy Asian sauce and cilantro ranch dip. The rooms are comfy and a nice size. The bathroom was the down fall. The shower/toilet room were very cramped and small. The mini bathtub was very cute. More towels would have been nice. I actually wished we planned to stay longer. Will definitely be back. In the past I usually stay at an alternate hotel that serves free happy hour and free customer order breakfast; however, I really enjoyed the layout and pool area of the Atrium and will keep them in mind on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Trip Couple
Business
Beaumont
Jul 25, 2014

Feeling Deceived.

On the website it said nothing about parking costing $12 a day!! We reserved 1 king bed, they sent us to a room with 2 queens and we had to wait 30 minutes before we were able to get to our room. The "fitness center" consisted of a closet sized room with 4 things... Treadmill, stair climber, bike, and a chest machine... And there was no jacuzzi/ spa at all. It took asking 3 times before we actually got out towels at 11pm. Overall, I feel if the staff had more since of urgency or if they cared a little more about the guest experience...my stay would have gone better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Torito had excellent service and staff. See Jorge for the guacamole!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris the Travelin Man
Business
Temecula, CA
Jul 25, 2014

Good airport location

Checkin was 3pm, we arrived early at 2pm. Was told by clerk at front desk that room would be ready at 3pm and that we could hang out at the pool if we wanted. So they stored our luggage and we went to the pool with a small soft cooler which had a six-pack of beercans that we brought for the room. The Pool area is beautiful and was literally deserted. Only two other people were there. We ordered some food at the pool bar and drank our beers waiting for the room. At 3:00, the room was still not ready. Our food arrived and we ate and had two more beers and then I checked again at 3:30....room still not ready. Checked again at 4pm...still not ready, so I complained and the other clerk offered me two free breakfast buffets. I accepted and went back to the pool area as my wife was gathering our stuff as the Manager told her she couldn't have her own beer (in cans, mind you). A few seconds later, a bellhop brought us our keys. That manager who harassed my wife walked by us several times when I was out there and never said a word about the beer. As soon as I walk away, he confronts my wife....what a weanie! Finally got our room, it was very small but the bed was comfortable and the Flat Screen TV was a nice touch! With the exception of the one manager in the pool area, we had a very good stay. Although the breakfast buffet in the morning was very sparse. I wouldn't pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Torito Restaurant is within walking distance as is a IHOP. Avoid the breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top