$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
375 reviews
Short business trip

Atrium was in a great location for a great price. The atrium area is a beautiful atmosphere. It was... See full review

  • Family Business Traveler
  • Oct 16, 2014
Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one... See full review

  • freq traveler90
  • Jul 25, 2014
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (375)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
375 out of 375
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
freq traveler90
Business
new orleans, la
Jul 25, 2014

Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one part of a great stay. The staff was very professional and friendly, and greeted us every day. The room was spacious and clean. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If using Uber car service, hotel's proximity to the airport allows only Uber Black. To use Uber X, the cheaper car service, choose a pickup place near the hotel, not at the hotel. Then call driver and inform him you are at the Atrium Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris the Travelin Man
Business
Temecula, CA
Jul 25, 2014

Good airport location

Checkin was 3pm, we arrived early at 2pm. Was told by clerk at front desk that room would be ready at 3pm and that we could hang out at the pool if we wanted. So they stored our luggage and we went to the pool with a small soft cooler which had a six-pack of beercans that we brought for the room. The Pool area is beautiful and was literally deserted. Only two other people were there. We ordered some food at the pool bar and drank our beers waiting for the room. At 3:00, the room was still not ready. Our food arrived and we ate and had two more beers and then I checked again at 3:30....room still not ready. Checked again at 4pm...still not ready, so I complained and the other clerk offered me two free breakfast buffets. I accepted and went back to the pool area as my wife was gathering our stuff as the Manager told her she couldn't have her own beer (in cans, mind you). A few seconds later, a bellhop brought us our keys. That manager who harassed my wife walked by us several times when I was out there and never said a word about the beer. As soon as I walk away, he confronts my wife....what a weanie! Finally got our room, it was very small but the bed was comfortable and the Flat Screen TV was a nice touch! With the exception of the one manager in the pool area, we had a very good stay. Although the breakfast buffet in the morning was very sparse. I wouldn't pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Torito Restaurant is within walking distance as is a IHOP. Avoid the breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Trip Couple
Business
Beaumont
Jul 25, 2014

Feeling Deceived.

On the website it said nothing about parking costing $12 a day!! We reserved 1 king bed, they sent us to a room with 2 queens and we had to wait 30 minutes before we were able to get to our room. The "fitness center" consisted of a closet sized room with 4 things... Treadmill, stair climber, bike, and a chest machine... And there was no jacuzzi/ spa at all. It took asking 3 times before we actually got out towels at 11pm. Overall, I feel if the staff had more since of urgency or if they cared a little more about the guest experience...my stay would have gone better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Torito had excellent service and staff. See Jorge for the guacamole!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Youngmex
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 24, 2014

Great little find!

Small and intimate hotel with friendly staff. We stayed here for a couple of days to "debrief" after a convention, and spent the day poolside under the cabanas that cover a couch/sitting area. That area is beautiful and you'd never know you were across the street from the busy John Wayne airport. When we arrived, we found that we weren't facing the pool and the very friendly lady (don't remember her name) at the front desk was very accommodating to change us over to another room. Rooms were very clean, beds and pillows were comfy, and bathroom looked to have been updated or kept very clean. No complaints. Only thing was that the carpet in the hallways seems to be outdated and needs to be replaced or deep-cleaned. Also the elevators have a bad odor, which is the only reason it doesn't get five stars. Patrick was our server by the pool - extremely friendly and came back several times to check on us, bringing us food and drink to the poolside. Jessica at the front desk when we left had our parking receipt ready as requested. Restaurant was also good with an okay breakfast buffet. It's a definite "come back" location for us any time we are in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

It sure would have been nice to realize ahead of time that an Enterprise Car Rental agency is right in the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ditka3489
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 23, 2014

Atrium Hotel

What a great location with wonderful opportunity. Needs up grades in the rooms and community area. Great Amenities and friendly staff. Priced a little high for dated rooms. Musty smell in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nothing of worth in immediate area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NCmama
Business
L, nc
Jul 4, 2014

Expected more

The beds were comfortable and the bartender at the pool was nice, other than that I was not impressed. I paid more for this hotel than most of the other ones we stayed at on our trip and I liked the cheap motel 6 better! Tiny bath/shower didn't help make me any happier either!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Merly Mom
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 21, 2014

University Graduation

The location was very close to the airport and UC Irvine, which was very convenient. The room smelled weird and funky. The amenities were good. The hallways were dark and dull. The staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kmorganfit
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Jun 20, 2014

Fair priced nice place to stay

Easy fairly priced very nice helpful staff. Simple access from car to room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convienent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJimmy
Business
San Diego
Jun 10, 2014

Quick Stay

Not the first time at this hotel. I chose it again because it has great location and is in a fairly quiet area. Parking is easy and is $12 for self park and $14 for valet. We had friends come hang out for a bit and they were able to park for free for 2 hours (Big plus). They do have a nice pool area with gazebos. It is not necessarily lively but its a nice place to hang out with friends. The rooms are decently sized. The bathrooms look a little aged. It could definitely use a little update. Overall, decent stay and good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
247sportsmom
Business
sacramento ca
Jun 10, 2014

Extra time

just needed a nice place to stay ...last minute plans to Disneyland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top