$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
534 reviews
Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one... See full review

  • freq traveler90
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great place to stay

Everything was nice, no complaints other than the hallways having that classic old smell. But it's... See full review

  • SoCalZooMan
  • Jun 9, 2014
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

33.6758 -117.8603
Area served
Orange County, CA
Nearby airports
Orange County Airport Los Angeles Airport Long Beach Airport
Area description
In the heart of the metropolitan Irvine Business District with access to all freeways and attractions in Southern California. Located near the beaches of Southern California; Disneyland, South Coast Plaza Shopping and UCI.

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (534)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
534 out of 534
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wine storer
Business
Irvine,ca
Jun 28, 2012

Business stay

Great front desk staff. Courteous, fast and efficient. Property in need of some tlc. Extremely good value for business travel when 4-5 star accommodations are not a necessity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martinrmc
Business
Phoenix, as
Jun 19, 2012

Weekend business trip

Based on other reviews I ws pleasantly surprised. Loved the outdoor pool, bar and seating areas. The room was very comfortable and was up to date. The best parts were a super friendly staff and location right across from orange county airport. I'll return for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schlomo
Business
huntington
Jun 19, 2012

good place

nice place. clean. very nice location except for airport noize

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

go to get cheap food outside of hotel.

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Want a clean room
Business
Irvine, CA
Jun 18, 2012

Would not recommend, and here's why:

I've had friends stay there, and really close to the Airport. That is why I chose to stay there. The bad: The hotel states they have been recently remodeled, which is a joke. The hotel smelled strange, and still am not sure why. The carpet had something sticky in front of the full length mirror (nice), but very uncomfortable. I covered it with a towel. The carpet also felt "wet" in areas. Kept my socks on at all times. Shower would lose either the hot or cold, so scald or freeze. The heating didn't really heat the room, and there was no refrigerator; you can order one at a nominal fee. Everything is extra, nickel and diming you like crazy. The hotel info in the rooms is from 2007, so prices, etc., are not up to date. No gift shop, and the place was creepy. Parking is $12.00 a night and an incredible hassle - had to go back to the office, get a sticker, then it doesn't work, and the parking is broken up, has not been updated for a while... I'm here for interviews, so do not need the hassle. The bathroom had mold around the tub. Everything was very worn and used; really used. No one in the restaurant, which was interesting. No continental breakfast at all; like I said, you pay for it. Now the good things: The staff was AMAZING. On top of their game, very helpful and nice. The beds (I reserved a King) was a dream, as were the sheets and pillows. And the pillows smelled really good, (I travel with pillow covers) so sleeping in was heaven. Coffee was alright, the maid service women were so nice and fast, truly concerned in what I might need. Water pressure was pretty good and the hair dryer was nice (no cool settings) and their shampoo\conditioner and soap was very good. So.... there was always someone walking around, so staff is 24/7 and highly visible which is great. I would suggest 2nd\3rd rooms for women alone; I could pop the lock and I am a woman. So Service = 10; Quality = 5; Value = 3. And no, I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eesn
Bellevue Washingthon
Jun 14, 2012

Rooms needs update - nice swiming pool area - expensive parking

We stayed at the hotel for my daughter’s training. They upgraded our room, breakfast was included. The swimming pool is really nice, and the bar at the pool, Staff is very friendly and easy going. I just felt that the room was way below 3 stars - it needs a serious update, dark ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches are just wonderful in the area. Laguna Beach I must visit, Newport area as well.

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PLEZURE
Business
Lancaster, CA, USA
Jun 13, 2012

IT WAS OK....

THE HOTEL WAS OK... IT WAS A GOOD DEAL FOR RATE ON SALE. I WAS NOT HAPPY WITHOUT AN ICE MACHINE ON THE FLOOR. BUT IT WAS CLEAN & THE ROOM HAS A GOOD VIEW OF POOL AREA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

THERE IS A COST FOR PARKING BUT IT IS FREE IF YOU GO IN AND OUT EVERY 3 HOURS...

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jenn angry customer
Idaho
Jun 13, 2012

A lively get away

there were mechanical problems with the door locks There was hair in the bath tub and on the towels on the first night we were there. Tried to reach the manager in the lobby and on the phone over the course of our 5 days day he never returned any calls voicemails or was available in the lobby. We killed two spiders while staying there. The ceiling popcorn kept falling off so there was white powder on the floor every day. There was mold on the shower ceiling. The front desk held a cash deposit and a card deposit. They said they would only do one out the other so we had to dispute the hold with our bank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Buy the tickets on your smartphone using an app it saves 50.00 a park

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nat10
Business
LA
Jun 11, 2012

Wouldn't come back

I didn't like anything about this hotel. The hotel is old and smells bad, the service is bad and the breakfast buffet is just 2 types of cereal,scrambled egg and bacon (they even charge you for a bread)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kassandra
WA
Jun 9, 2012

Comfortable and safe

Service was exemplary. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. I have stayed there several times before and have never had any problems. I can easily recommend it to friends and family knowing they will probably have a good experience also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Muzkrep
Bakersfield, CA
Jun 8, 2012

Location Location Location

The Atrium Hotel is directly across the street from John Wayne Airport. A shuttle will gladly be there for you, but it is literally an easy walk if you don't have a lot of baggage dragging behind you. The staff is friendly and efficient and the pool and restaurant make this a must-stop resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top