$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
368 reviews
Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one... See full review

  • freq traveler90
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great place to stay

Everything was nice, no complaints other than the hallways having that classic old smell. But it's... See full review

  • SoCalZooMan
  • Jun 9, 2014
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6758 -117.8603
Area served
Orange County, CA
Nearby airports
Orange County Airport Los Angeles Airport Long Beach Airport
Area description
In the heart of the metropolitan Irvine Business District with access to all freeways and attractions in Southern California. Located near the beaches of Southern California; Disneyland, South Coast Plaza Shopping and UCI.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (368)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary the best
Iowa
Jul 12, 2012

Walk to airport

Great location for airport and handy to freeways. The pool area with the outside bar and cavbanas is really nice. Rooms had private balconies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LaurieADen
Denver CO
Jul 5, 2012

Good for short trip

Overall the hotel was clean. My room faced the pool which was a bit noisey at night. Overall good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Scott's happy hour is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faster than light
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2012

Great and affordable place to stay!!

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! We took 6 10 year old girls there and they had a blast in the pool. Since it was almost the 4th of July, all the hotels by the beach were either booked or at least $200+. This came up as being $75 average per night, which was somewhat scary - I expected a motel type deal and it is leaps and bounds ahead of that! It has a great pool and lobby, but the rooms are pretty average, yet clean. We were able to save a lot and also enjoy a nice room at a very affordable holiday rate at this hotel. Yes, you are right across the street from the airport but I hardly heard airplane noise while lounging in the pool. I would definitely stay there again if I'm traveling with a bunch of kids and heading to the beach area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wacol
Sebastopol, CA
Jul 2, 2012

wacol

The Atrium needs lots of work. The exterior stucco, design, interior carpets, linens and paint are all dirty, old, grimy and out of date. No air conditioning in public areas. Trash and dirty linens were left in the hall over 24 hours. Very confusing floor plan with very few elevatiors. Parking was $12.00 extra per night after the ad made no mention of paying extra for parking. Staff, however, were very friendly, cheerful, and seemed knowledgable. Directly across MacArthur from the Orange Co. Airport and very convenient to the 405 freeway. My wife and I will not be staying here again. I would not recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Purpose
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Jul 2, 2012

Business

It was unbelievable!!! From the courtesy of the desk attendant arranging me a shuttle from the airport and assisting me back, to the kind attendants throughout my stay. Recently a day spa has been added to the hotel and it was fantastic! I am returning in a week with my family. I just can't believe the quality, cleanliness and professionalism of the staff for a fraction of the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The John Wayne Airport is just a stone's throw away...incredible....and there was no overhead noise often heard from planes flying over....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveling through Atrium
Business
somewhere, USA
Jul 2, 2012

Rundown, cheap

I was really surprised when I walked in my room. Very dated, run-down. The hotel overall is overpriced for what you get. I'd place it with the 1.5/2 star motels to give you an idea of what you're getting. It is right across the street from the airport which is nice and I actually never heard a plane (!) so I'm grateful for that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrs robbins
costa mesa california
Jul 2, 2012

couple getaway

This was a really good experience. It was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Applefortheteacher
Gilbert, AZ
Jul 2, 2012

Good value for one night stay

We stayed overnight to drop my son off at summer camp. Lobby, grounds and pool were beautiful. Breakfast was superb and had great service. The room was older, and somewhat run down. Pocket door in bathroom never closed completely. AC was noisy. Beds were so high they were hard to get into. The sheets came off and the blankets were worn and scratchy. Bathroom had only the minimum number of towels and no shower cap. Our room had two doubles and we asked for a roll-away for my son, but they said it was a fire hazard and refused. The room was large and would have easily accommodated the roll-away. TV was an older, CRT model. This is a beautiful hotel but the rooms need some serious updating. Still, it was a good value for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhb71
USA
Jul 1, 2012

get away special for us

It was a very nice motel as noted in review and truly helped us when we had family meet with us. We did not like car charge for our rental and didn't expect this, so please remind others of this charge. I would have liked lower floor room, as with blind husband would have been easier, but elevators were useful and we really enjoyed pool area and service. I checked bill on leaving and after informing front desk it was taken off with no further problems. Having freeway access - on and off very helpful and having it close fantastic. I will stay again if back in California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

everything needed was right there........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wine storer
Business
Irvine,ca
Jun 30, 2012

Business

Great front desk staff. Great restaurant staff. Property needs some tlc. Rooms stale on down hill portion of usable life

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search