$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
375 reviews
Short business trip

Atrium was in a great location for a great price. The atrium area is a beautiful atmosphere. It was... See full review

  • Family Business Traveler
  • Oct 16, 2014
Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one... See full review

  • freq traveler90
  • Jul 25, 2014
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (375)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
375 out of 375
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mustang
Business
Slovakia
Aug 23, 2012

Good base for trips around southern California.

Most of the days towels were missing despite room tip. Very nice outdoor facility!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Connie 58
Business
irvine
Aug 14, 2012

Convenient and comfortable

The rooms are older and more standard to the hotels of the 1970s, but if you're not looking for a luxury resort, the Atrium has some benefits. The beds are very comfortable, there is a large flat-screen TV in the room, and it's very convenient to Orange County Airport. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and room service is available, decent, and prompt. No complaints about cleanliness or staff. Small bathrooms, no fridge in-room, but if you don't care about those things, not a bad place to use for a base of operations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieKat35
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Great staff

I was very pleased with my stay at the Atrium. A friend and I were looking for a stay-cation and found this hotel. The staff was really nice and the pool area was awesome. And the free brunch buffett was an added plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
avani
Business
Califrnia
Aug 12, 2012

Internet is bad

We stayed 4 days there. Except internet everything is good. Even though we complained them 4 times, there is no use. It was frustrating for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raverdog
Business
La Quinta, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Very Enjoyable, will stay again!

This is a beautiful hotel, great staff. We will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
useruserusername
Business
Dana Point, California
Aug 8, 2012

A Decent Coitus Hotel

The Atrium Hotel seems to be the cheapest in this area for the best quality. The staff was friendly and gave us free breakfast just because I asked if it was included in our room, which it wasn't. Even though we slept through breakfast, the thought was nice. We got two double beds instead of one king but we didn't complain because it actually worked out nice having one bed solely for play and the other for sleeping. The room smelled faintly of smoke despite being a non-smoking room, but it didn't bother us much. The shower and bathroom was decent but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There is no night life here and no restaurants open past 1:30am (In-N-Out off Campus Drive) besides BCD Tofu House which I didn't really feel like eating at 3:30am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Wattz
Business
corona, ca
Aug 7, 2012

nice over night stay

The hotel had extremely comfortable and clean rooms. The pool area looked gorgeous as did the lobby. I was sad I was only staying one night when I saw how nice everything was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Signer1999
Business
Lexington, KY
Aug 6, 2012

Depends on What You Want

This is an average hotel with great amenities. If you're looking for a place that is plush and luxurious, this is not the place for you. However, if you're looking for an affordable hotel that's ideal for relaxing, I'd highly recommend it. The atrium area surrounding the pool is gorgeous, the pool is huge, and the large windows in the rooms allow that perfect CA air in. The rooms are a bit dated, but were fine for the amount of time I was in them. I found the staff to be helpful and courteous. The hotel is across the street from John Wayne airport, which is super-convenient (but also noisy if you don't like that sort of thing). It's also very accessible to the major thoroughfares of LA, which made it easy to get to the beach, the area attractions, and even through LA to the north side of the area. All in all, it depends on what you're looking for in a hotel. If you want luxurious towels and a sleek, modern design, try the Hilton next door. If you're looking for a place to sleep while you enjoy everything California has to offer, this is a great bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Long Beach was not nearly as pretty as I'd imagined. Skip it and enjoy Newport Beach instead. It's closer, cleaner, and has much more to offer in terms of restaurants and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STL Josh
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 6, 2012

Great Stay and Convenient

Clean rooms, close to the airport, great staff! The check in process was easy, the pool layout and bar was attractive. The room was clean. I cant' say a bad word about my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All highways accessible eventually starting from the 405...beach, Disney, great food, shopping. What a steal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Euphorbs
Business
Columbus, NE
Aug 3, 2012

needs to be updated

Overall, the hotel is nice but the bathroom, tv, etc. should be brought up to date. The tv was a small crt and the bathroom fixtures would have been nice in the 70's but not in 2012. The food was excellent, room service was prompt. The hotel is within easy walking distance of John Wayne airport. as long as the price doesn't increase, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food, good sized servings, reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top