$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
368 reviews
Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one... See full review

  • freq traveler90
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great place to stay

Everything was nice, no complaints other than the hallways having that classic old smell. But it's... See full review

  • SoCalZooMan
  • Jun 9, 2014
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6758 -117.8603
Area served
Orange County, CA
Nearby airports
Orange County Airport Los Angeles Airport Long Beach Airport
Area description
In the heart of the metropolitan Irvine Business District with access to all freeways and attractions in Southern California. Located near the beaches of Southern California; Disneyland, South Coast Plaza Shopping and UCI.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (368)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NLW Colorado
Denver
Sep 4, 2012

Overall Pretty Nice!

Upon arrival at the Atrium, I noticed an odor that smelled like someone tried to cover up cigarette smoke with chemicals (hard to describe). The lobby smelled funny and so did our room. The room was old but very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The pool was fantastic! After a while, I didn't notice the odd smell. I was doubtful at first, but once I got settled in, I had a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yeah That Just Happened
Las Vegas
Aug 27, 2012

Nice

Not bad for the price, the location wasn't that great and the parking was very inconvenient . But once you were inside the hotel everything was pretty nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gregory H
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Aug 26, 2012

Live entertainment, with poolside light show, from my cabana. Sweet!

All associates here were genuinely pleased to see you, each time without fail showing real warmth to each guest. The room was nicely appointed with flat screen, pillowtop bed, work station, and a small patio. If a pool view, it's awesome. The cabanas by the pool are so nice that you may never use your room, and they're gratis for guests. There was live music and Parrotheads, but it was just fun, not out of control. Great place for breakfast and dinner on site too. I was flying to Denver from John Wayne Airport, across the street literally, so location was very convenient and ideal for a couple days wind down after a long work week. Perfect almost, paradise close. Newport Beach and HB are right down the road. Too many great golf courses to name within an hour. Nice place, great staff, well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Live large in a cabana all week and you'll have all the entertainment you want.

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mustang
Slovakia
Aug 23, 2012

Good base for trips around southern California.

Most of the days towels were missing despite room tip. Very nice outdoor facility!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Connie 58
irvine
Aug 14, 2012

Convenient and comfortable

The rooms are older and more standard to the hotels of the 1970s, but if you're not looking for a luxury resort, the Atrium has some benefits. The beds are very comfortable, there is a large flat-screen TV in the room, and it's very convenient to Orange County Airport. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and room service is available, decent, and prompt. No complaints about cleanliness or staff. Small bathrooms, no fridge in-room, but if you don't care about those things, not a bad place to use for a base of operations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieKat35
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Great staff

I was very pleased with my stay at the Atrium. A friend and I were looking for a stay-cation and found this hotel. The staff was really nice and the pool area was awesome. And the free brunch buffett was an added plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
avani
Califrnia
Aug 12, 2012

Internet is bad

We stayed 4 days there. Except internet everything is good. Even though we complained them 4 times, there is no use. It was frustrating for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raverdog
La Quinta, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Very Enjoyable, will stay again!

This is a beautiful hotel, great staff. We will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
useruserusername
Dana Point, California
Aug 8, 2012

A Decent Coitus Hotel

The Atrium Hotel seems to be the cheapest in this area for the best quality. The staff was friendly and gave us free breakfast just because I asked if it was included in our room, which it wasn't. Even though we slept through breakfast, the thought was nice. We got two double beds instead of one king but we didn't complain because it actually worked out nice having one bed solely for play and the other for sleeping. The room smelled faintly of smoke despite being a non-smoking room, but it didn't bother us much. The shower and bathroom was decent but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There is no night life here and no restaurants open past 1:30am (In-N-Out off Campus Drive) besides BCD Tofu House which I didn't really feel like eating at 3:30am.

Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Wattz
corona, ca
Aug 7, 2012

nice over night stay

The hotel had extremely comfortable and clean rooms. The pool area looked gorgeous as did the lobby. I was sad I was only staying one night when I saw how nice everything was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search