$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

3 stars
18700 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
375 reviews
Short business trip

Atrium was in a great location for a great price. The atrium area is a beautiful atmosphere. It was... See full review

  • Family Business Traveler
  • Oct 16, 2014
Beyond Expectations

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the airport. Ease of access was only one... See full review

  • freq traveler90
  • Jul 25, 2014
The first hotel built near the Orange County Airport (John Wayne Airport - SNA) in the 1960s, the Atrium Hotel was originally known as "The Airporter", evolving into today's chic hangout, spilling over with water fountains and lush with native greenery. The business facilities are impressive - a 700-capacity event space and seven meeting suites, from boardroom to poolside. Guests can ease any travel stress away at the Ilum poolside lounge, with its outdoor sofas and intimate cabanas, sipping a Cosmopolitan in the California sun. As the air cools in the evening, sample some of Chef Chris Reischl's global menu, from the Far East to Continental Europe, at Waterfalls restaurant.
Key facts
  • On-site car rental
  • Salon
  • Outdoor pool
  • Poolside bar
  • Restaurant: Waterfall
  • High-speed Internet
  • ATM
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting rooms and event space
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Across the road from the airport in the Irvine Business District, the Atrium Hotel is minutes away from the Irvine Business Complex and just off the San Diego Freeway. To the south is San Diego Creek, which twists and turns its way out to the famous surf haven of Newport Beach. If you're looking for shopping options, the South Coast Plaza's luxury stores and boutiques are less than two miles down the road. The Plaza is also the place to go for delicacies like the roasted crabs at AnQi Bistro.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to and from the airport, which can work out cheaper than parking if you're not traveling around the wider area by car.

For the quietest stay, book a room away from the pool, since there is often poolside entertainment by the cabanas in the evening-though of course, you could to the opposite and join in the fun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6758 -117.8603
Area served
Orange County, CA
Nearby airports
Orange County Airport Los Angeles Airport Long Beach Airport
Area description
In the heart of the metropolitan Irvine Business District with access to all freeways and attractions in Southern California. Located near the beaches of Southern California; Disneyland, South Coast Plaza Shopping and UCI.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport also booked these hotels.

Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport Rooms

Standard room with king bed
One king bed. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Standard room with two double beds
Two double beds. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Winter Special
Special promotional rate. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Triple Play Room
Includes - King or Double/Double room, daily breakfast and parking. Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.
Advance Purchase
Book in advance and save. Room with one king bed or two doubles.Furnished balcony. Desk with chair. Armoire holds cable TV with pay movies. Complimentary high-speed Internet access. Coffee/tea maker. Complimentary USA Today.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bren Events Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Atrium Hotel will satisfy all of your meeting, conference and banquet needs. Our professional staff will cater and serve your event in facilities for small meetings to grand receptions of up to 700 guests.

Dining

Waterfalls Restaurant
The Waterfalls Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and features an array of European, California and Asian cuisine! Enjoy your meal in a casually elegant ambience tended by attentive, friendly waiters. All for the nominal price of $14.95.
Sunset Lounge
Looking for more than food to satisfy your appetite? Join us in our Sunset Lounge located on the 2nd floor mezzanine. Our friendly and courteous staff will provide cocktails and appetizers while you enjoy the cool sounds of our prescriptive background music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (375)

Ratings and reviews for Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
375 out of 375
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hussar
Business
Wenatchee ,WA
Mar 13, 2013

Noisy

Our room was located in a back building that should have been very quiet -not! walls were thin and I could hear the tv programs playing in the rooms on both sides of us. The room above us must have had a very thin carpet or a marine deoing close order drill. At midnight a guest took a very loud and long shower with a fire hose that woke both my wife and I. Talked to another guest in the same building that voiced similar complaints about noise. glad I was only there for one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MaxTheCat
Business
Seattle, WAshington
Mar 6, 2013

What Happened?

The check in was great. We did not get a King room as requested and was put into their "newly remodeled room" but it was hardly remodeled and very uncomfortable. The bed was slanted and I kept rolling over to the edge of the bed and couldn't get comfortable. Not to mention that the the smoke detector in the hallway kept going off from 6am to 11am. We called to complain and they thought we were complaining about the alarm clock in the room. When we went to the front desk to complain in person about all of the above, I spoke to the manger and he didn't offer to do anything. Great location and quiet, but terrible service and a horrible restaurant in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at Gulliver's for any reason!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bison Guy
Business
San Diego CA
Feb 22, 2013

Excellent Location

The staff at this hotel are fantastic. I stay here every time I am in the Irvine area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tbone24
Business
Henderson, Nevada
Feb 19, 2013

Mini vaca

It was a very nice hotel to stay in. I enjoyed my stay and would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CRISTINA A.
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 18, 2013

DIRTY, SMALL ROOM STUCK IN THE 70s

My two sons and I stayed here because the water polo team decided it was close to the pools we were going to. It was not. We were NOT advised that parking would be $12/day. "Breakfast" was included, horrible powedered eggs and bacon. The first night, the heater didn't work and we asked for blankets but our heads froze. There was hair on my sheets and the top sheet was dirty on the edges. There was a urine stain (or something of that color) on the sink. A small TV from the 70s and two tiny double beds. The next morning a maintenance guy came to repair the heater, and I left the room. When we returned at night, the heater was working and set at 90 degrees. Everthing we touched in the room was boiling hot. So now we had heat, but the heater was making a noise that resembled rain drops on a tin roof. I was able to fall asleep (out of sheer exaustion) around 6am. When I checked out I complained to the front desk about all this AND the fact that I was NEVER, at reservation OR check-in been advised of the $12 daily parking fee. She said if I have any questions to talk to the general manager (who wasn't there). I told her I would just review them on the internet. AND OF COURSE I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you have to eat at the restaurant, have the steak frites, it was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAG 13
Business
L.A., CA
Jan 29, 2013

Great Employees! Great Service!

Check in was easy. The room was comfortable with a large patio and pleasant view. The employees really go out of their way to make you feel at home. The only downfall of the Hotel was the business center, which was not working; however the front desk gave us the assistance we needed to finish our deal memo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

McCormack's and Schmidts which has affordable lunch specials.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drunken Jack
Business
Phoenix
Dec 12, 2012

Nice but needs some work

The hotels needs an upgrade. The staff was very friendly but the room was a bit run down. Good location near airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaryAnn
Business
Garden City, Michigan
Nov 29, 2012

Good for sleeping

I only spent the nights at the Atrium but had no complaints whatsoever. I was very satisfied with the service. My only problem was finding the ice machine & vending machine. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jameson and Fiona
Business
Middleton, Wisconsin
Nov 5, 2012

Visit with new grandchild

We spent 9 nights at the Atrium while visiting our daughter, son-in-law and brand new grandson. The hotel was extremely quiet at night despite being directly across the street from the airport. There was a minimum of hallway noise that we normally experience at most hotels. This facility was clean and grounds were well kept up. The staff was always courteous and helpful although on more than a couple occasions we only got one clean washcloth with the two hand and bath towels. We only used Waterfall restaurant on one occasion but the food was good and the service was quick. We were a bit turned off by the $12 daily parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atrium Hotel Orange County Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommaz88
Business
Las Vegas, nv
Oct 17, 2012

Perfect getaway

I only stayed one night with my kids but it was totally amazing and so relaxing I didn't have not one problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top