$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

4 stars
44-400 Indian Wells Lane, 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
81 reviews
What a week!

REIW Resort & Spa is amazing from the carpets that look like they are strewn with rose petals to... See full review

  • Two happy vacationers
  • Jan 12, 2014
Great Hotel, highlight being the Pool!

The hotel and the great pool really exceeded our expectations. Our kids loved the fact that one end... See full review

  • Velsatis
  • Sep 16, 2013
Reawaken your sense of wonder at our stunning Indian Wells resort. Set against the Santa Rosa Mountains at the foothills of Palm Springs' Coachella Valley, the Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa creates an atmosphere of luxury and relaxation unmatched anwhere in Indian Wells or Palm Springs. Enjoy rejuvenating spa treatments, championship golf, dynamite cuisine at our celebrated restaurants, sizzling nightlife, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and breathtaking desert sunsets beyond. Relax in guest rooms with available private balconies, and take a dip in our inviting sand beach pool. Our family-friendly resort features Camp Oasis, our acclaimed kids' activities day camp. Capturing the essence of California style, our Indian Wells resort's stunning decór boasts a majestic staircase, distinctive guestrooms and 100,000 square feet of meeting space. Designed to meet your every need, come to Indian Wells, California and let our resort welcome you to an oasis of modern luxury.

Hotel Map

33.7216 -116.3301
Area served
City of Indian Wells
Nearby airports
Palm Springs International Airport, (PSP), 15.50, MI, SE; LA/Ontario International Airport, (ONT), 86.50, MI, SE; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 139.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Dining

Sirocco
Our celebrated Indian Wells restaurant features award-winning Italian cuisine in a chic, sophisticated setting amid outstanding service. Enjoy fresh-made pasta dishes, dazzling wines, tempting desserts and more.
Glo Sushi
Enjoy outstanding sushi, sake, beer and wine in a relaxed atmosphere. A great place to meet and unwind with friends, alone with a special someone.
Glo Lounge
Enjoy a wide collection of sake, microbrews, domestic & imported favorites, and a full selection of liquors in our living room style lounge, or around the outdoor patio fire pits.
CAVA
Indulge in fresh California cuisine in a casual, patio setting surrounded by a lush orchid garden. Menu features include locally farmed salads, fresh seafood, aged steaks, a terrific wine list, insane desserts and more.
Cafe Biscotti
This casual cafe offers Starbucks coffee, fresh-baked pastries, sandwiches and snacks.
The Pool Bar
Enjoy cool cocktails and a delicious menu of freshly prepared fare at our poolside Indian Wells restaurant and bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Great family vacation

Great place for a family vacation. We have stayed at numerous places in the area and the Renaissance is by far our favorite. Clean rooms, good service and great atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Desert
Jul 16, 2011

Stir Nightclub at Esmeralda

*This applies mainly to their onsite nightclub, 'Stir" but accurately describes the competency and attitudes of their employees and management. Thanks for reading.* This place is absolutely ridiculous. I am a 24 year old local here in the desert, born and raised and after frequenting Stir, buying their drinks, bringing my friends, and supporting this local business for over 3 years, this Saturday night, the club closed (at 1:30....lame...) my friend and I left the club, talked to an employee that we are acquaintances with and then walked up the stairs to wait for our ride. The club and hotel were not busy so my friend & I sat and talked while she relaxed in the chairs in the lobby area, a manager then approached us and asked in an accusatory manner "Are you waiting for a cab or what?" we answered yes, that we are waiting for my friends boyfriend. He scoffed at us and said "Well we just notice that YOU are always the last to leave" we were somewhat suprised and asked.."Us, really..?", unsure of what he was referring to exactly and as he looked at us both up and down as if we are trash he said "Yes. You...SPECIFICALLY". . This is not the first time this has happened, the last time we visited Stir for a friends birthday, about a month ago, we received the same rueful looks upon our arrival from the employees and management as they scolded us, "We'll let you in as long as you dont make a scene at closing time" Look, my friends and I are locals here that like to have a good time, I dont deny it, but we are respectful, hard working, contributive members of society. We have never done anything to intentionally disrespect this establishment, in fact, it has always been the opposite, we used to LOVE Stir and would jump at any chance to go out and dance there and have a few drinks...until the employees and management began to treat us like we are subhuman...because we are not vacationers spending hundreds a night on a room there, because we like to have fun with our friends, because we are not 62 years old and stay out past 10 pm? I honestly dont know, and as someone who has worked in the service industry in the past and as the wife of someone who has been extremely successful working in the industry, I dont appreciate being looked down upon for what, frequenting their club and spending money? No one else does....! The way that they treated us, and the way that they spoke to my friend and I this evening, I would never return to this place. In this economy I simply do not understand why a place would treat patrons who truly cared about their success and business, and have helped contribute to it for the past 3 years this way. It is absolutely incomprehensible. I am seriously upset and very disappointed that this is the way they choose to treat the locals that come to their club. Please, out of respect for the idea of 'good business' and respect for people who have grown up here, come from good families and are trying to make a living working in the desert, while being disrespected for trying to have a fun time, go somewhere else. Costas and Zeldas both have dancing and fun atmosphere, without the 'Indian Wells' bad attitude, apparently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Please do not go to Stir, the people are disrespectful, and awful, to put it lightly. Take your money and time elsewhere, Costas or Zeldas Nightclub are good options instead!

Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Desert
Jul 16, 2011

Stir Nightclub at Esmeralda

*This applies mainly to their onsite nightclub, 'Stir" but accurately describes the competency and attitudes of their employees and management. Thanks for reading.* This place is absolutely ridiculous. I am a 24 year old local here in the desert, born and raised and after frequenting Stir, buying their drinks, bringing my friends, and supporting this local business for over 3 years, this Saturday night, the club closed (at 1:30....lame...) my friend and I left the club, talked to an employee that we are acquaintances with and then walked up the stairs to wait for our ride. The club and hotel were not busy so my friend & I sat and talked while she relaxed in the chairs in the lobby area, a manager then approached us and asked in an accusatory manner "Are you waiting for a cab or what?" we answered yes, that we are waiting for my friends boyfriend. He scoffed at us and said "Well we just notice that YOU are always the last to leave" we were somewhat suprised and asked.."Us, really..?", unsure of what he was referring to exactly and as he looked at us both up and down as if we are trash he said "Yes. You...SPECIFICALLY". . This is not the first time this has happened, the last time we visited Stir for a friends birthday, about a month ago, we received the same rueful looks upon our arrival from the employees and management as they scolded us, "We'll let you in as long as you dont make a scene at closing time" Look, my friends and I are locals here that like to have a good time, I dont deny it, but we are respectful, hard working, contributive members of society. We have never done anything to intentionally disrespect this establishment, in fact, it has always been the opposite, we used to LOVE Stir and would jump at any chance to go out and dance there and have a few drinks...until the employees and management began to treat us like we are subhuman...because we are not vacationers spending hundreds a night on a room there, because we like to have fun with our friends, because we are not 62 years old and stay out past 10 pm? I honestly dont know, and as someone who has worked in the service industry in the past and as the wife of someone who has been extremely successful working in the industry, I dont appreciate being looked down upon for what, frequenting their club and spending money? No one else does....! The way that they treated us, and the way that they spoke to my friend and I this evening, I would never return to this place. In this economy I simply do not understand why a place would treat patrons who truly cared about their success and business, and have helped contribute to it for the past 3 years this way. It is absolutely incomprehensible. I am seriously upset and very disappointed that this is the way they choose to treat the locals that come to their club. Please, out of respect for the idea of 'good business' and respect for people who have grown up here, come from good families and are trying to make a living working in the desert, while being disrespected for trying to have a fun time, go somewhere else. Costas and Zeldas both have dancing and fun atmosphere, without the 'Indian Wells' bad attitude, apparently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Please do not go to Stir, the people are disrespectful, and awful, to put it lightly. Take your money and time elsewhere, Costas or Zeldas Nightclub are good options instead!

Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
orange county, ca
Jul 11, 2011

Great facilities and service

wife and i took a long weekend. stayed at the resort the entire time. great facilities; room was great, pool area was nice, restaurants were great. The service was excellent; front desk, room service, pool service, restaurants/bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

siracco was great...food and service was excellent. loved the complimentary extras (ravioli, sorbet, lemoncello).

Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
orange county, ca
Jul 11, 2011

Great facilities and service

wife and i took a long weekend. stayed at the resort the entire time. great facilities; room was great, pool area was nice, restaurants were great. The service was excellent; front desk, room service, pool service, restaurants/bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

siracco was great...food and service was excellent. loved the complimentary extras (ravioli, sorbet, lemoncello).

Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Lonzo
San Diego, CA
Jun 28, 2011

Romantic, quiet, well-kept -- NOT!

Although the room was nice with all the amenities, and the lobby and grounds were impressive, this is not the place to go for a romantic getaway. The hotel layout is inefficient-- there is only one bank of elevators, about a 3-minute walk from the room, and it was about a 10-minute walk to the car. The pool, which is the focal area of the hotel, is huge but only 3 ft. deep and has no lap lanes for swimming, only wild screaming kids and filthy patrons who leave their dirty dishes, cigarette butts and used towels all over, and no staff to clean up. We encountered this scene even later in the evening, along with roaches crawling around the lounge areas, making it impossible to enjoy a quiet poolside evening. Although the fitness center was open 24 hours, it also was not maintained, with used towels strewn everywhere in the locker room. We could not sleep with the window open due to all the noise, if not from the pool, from some noisy crows in the pool area trees. All in all, if you want a well-kept, quiet or romantic getaway, this is not the place...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Lonzo
San Diego, CA
Jun 28, 2011

Romantic, quiet, well-kept -- NOT!

Although the room was nice with all the amenities, and the lobby and grounds were impressive, this is not the place to go for a romantic getaway. The hotel layout is inefficient-- there is only one bank of elevators, about a 3-minute walk from the room, and it was about a 10-minute walk to the car. The pool, which is the focal area of the hotel, is huge but only 3 ft. deep and has no lap lanes for swimming, only wild screaming kids and filthy patrons who leave their dirty dishes, cigarette butts and used towels all over, and no staff to clean up. We encountered this scene even later in the evening, along with roaches crawling around the lounge areas, making it impossible to enjoy a quiet poolside evening. Although the fitness center was open 24 hours, it also was not maintained, with used towels strewn everywhere in the locker room. We could not sleep with the window open due to all the noise, if not from the pool, from some noisy crows in the pool area trees. All in all, if you want a well-kept, quiet or romantic getaway, this is not the place...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D-Mo
San Diego, CA
Jun 20, 2011

Great room, Restaurants lagged

The rooms were fantastic! One glaring problem was the variety of food at the hotel restuarants. My wife is a vegetarian and there was little she could eat at Cava or poolside. We tried to eat at Sirocco but they ran out of reservations fairly quickly so make sure to book those ahead of time. The pool was great for relaxing as well as for kids. If you have a family this would be a great resort for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We have had great dinner's at LG's a few times now and have yet to be disappointed.

Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D-Mo
San Diego, CA
Jun 20, 2011

Great room, Restaurants lagged

The rooms were fantastic! One glaring problem was the variety of food at the hotel restuarants. My wife is a vegetarian and there was little she could eat at Cava or poolside. We tried to eat at Sirocco but they ran out of reservations fairly quickly so make sure to book those ahead of time. The pool was great for relaxing as well as for kids. If you have a family this would be a great resort for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We have had great dinner's at LG's a few times now and have yet to be disappointed.

Review of Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ
May 27, 2011

Indian Wells Stopover

My wife and I decided to stopover in Indian Wells on our drive from Scottsdale to Santa Monica. We wanted to try the Renaissance Esmeralda in anticipation of a longer stay. We were very pleased. The pool is enormous with an area for the in-pool bar. Restaurants and terrace bar, at the base of the atrium, look out to the pool and gardens, surrounded by towering palms. We thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and breakfast presentations in this beautiful setting. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a destination resort and spa, whose properties are shared with the Hyatt Grand Champions Golf Resort.

Back to menu Return to top