$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

4 stars
500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
111 reviews
the best!!!!!

you can"t get a better location than the shorebreak. the rooms are fantastic, the staff is the best... See full review

  • first down
  • Aug 23, 2014
awesome location!

Fun hotel, well maintained with nice decor. The location was fantastic and the staff very friendly.... See full review

  • Midwest Mary
  • May 19, 2014
Inspired boutique hotel just a short walk away from the ocean
Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel puts visitors right next to Southern California's original tourist attraction: the Pacific Ocean. This boutique lifestyle beachfront hotel in downtown Huntington Beach, CA, located along the California coastline, and is the only hotel located near the intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway. All of the 157 guestrooms of the property offer breathtaking contemporary design with distinctive beach flair and uncompromising attention to detail. 
Highlights
  • The first hotel in "The Strand," a new development near Huntington Beach Pier
  • Adjacent to Zimzala Restaurant and Bar, featuring California comfort food
  • Fitness center with yoga studio
  • Access to The Deck, a private courtyard with multiple fire pits
  • Lanai Suite featuring patio, panoramic ocean views, chaise lounge chairs and hammocks
Rooms

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel in Huntington Beach offers a wide variety of room and suite configurations to suit all groups. Visitors can choose from five categories: City/Courtyard View, Partial Ocean View, Waterfront View, Panoramic Suite and Lanai Two-Bedroom Suite.

 

All beautifully appointed rooms at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel feature contemporary artwork, fine Italian bed linens, plush bathrobes, luxurious bath amenities, an executive desk and credenza, flat-panel high-definition televisions, high-speed Wireless Internet access (fees apply), iPod docking stations, free gourmet coffee and tea, stocked refreshment centers and available in-room dining.

Features

Guest services at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel include the hotel's own hip, stylish Zimzala Restaurant and Bar, a fitness center with yoga studio, access to The Deck, a private courtyard with multiple fire pits and a 24-hour business center with laptop stations. The property also features spacious meeting spaces that can host corporate events as well as social gatherings such as family get-together and weddings.

Human visitors won't be the only ones who love the hotel's seaside location and panoramic ocean views, as Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel welcomes pets and dogs run free along nearby Dog Beach.

Transportation
  • Orange County/John Wayne Airport: 13 mi/27 km
  • Los Angeles International Airport: 37 mi/59 km
Attractions
  • International Surfing Museum: 2 mi/3 km
  • Mesa Verde Country Club: 2 mi/3 km
  • Costa Mesa Golf Course: 3 mi/4 km
  • Disneyland: 12 mi/19 km
  • Anaheim GardenWalk: 19 mi/30 km
Business
  • 8,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting service staff
  • High-speed WiFi available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

33.6579 -118.0029
Area served
Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach, Long Beach, Costa Mesa, Fountian Valley, Anaheim, Irvine.
Nearby airports
Orange County (SNA) - 13.00 Miles, Long Beach (LBG) - 15.00 Miles, Los Angeles (LAX) - 37.00 Miles
Area description
Shorebreak Hotel is located just off the beach where the Pacific Coast Highway meets the Huntington Beach Pier. Located in a new development known as "The Strand," Shorebreak Hotel will be the first full-service, luxury boutique hotel on the waterfront in Huntington Beach and the only hotel located in downtown Huntington Beach. This ideal location is well suited to both business and leisure travelers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Rooms

WATERFRONT VIEW - 2 QUEEN BEDS
Waterfront View 2 Queen Beds - Enjoy full ocean views from this spacious Guestroom. Waterfront Guestrooms are directly facing Huntington Beach with view of the pier. Private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Queen Beds.
WATERFRONT VIEW - 1 KING BED
Waterfront View 1 King Bed - Enjoy full ocean views from this spacious Guestroom. Waterfront Guestrooms are directly facing Huntington Beach with views of the pier. Private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
CITY COUTYARD VIEW - 2 DOUBLE BEDS
City Courtyard View 2 Double Beds- Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Double Beds.
CITY COURTYARD VIEW - 1 QUEEN BED
City Courtyard View 1 Queen Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 Queen Bed.
CITY COURTYARD VIEW - 1 KING BED
City Courtyard View 1 King Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
CITY COURYARD VIEW SUITE - 1 KING BED
City Courtyard View Suite 1 King Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW - 2 DOUBLE BEDS
Partial Ocean View 2 Double Beds - Spacious Guestrooms with ocean views from your private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Double Beds.
PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW SUITE - 1 KING BED
Partial Ocean View Suite 1 King Bed - Spacious suite with separate living room area and ocean views from your private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service animals allowed

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Complemented by breathtaking oceanfront vistas amidst an energetic downtown beach setting, Shorebreak Hotel is the perfect locale from which to entertain, reward, inspire and create.From executive retreats to corporate sales meetings, Shorebreak Hotel is a superb choice for meetings and events of consequence. Beautiful surroundings, state-of-the-art technology, and an experienced support staff make any banquet, meeting, or seminar an unforgettable experience. Shorebreak's extensive facilities include 8,000 square feet of total function space, including a stunning 3,000 square foot ballroom. Highlights include a private dining room with wraparound terrace; an interior courtyard terrace with outdoor fire pits, corner boardroom suites, and an executive business center.

Dining

Zimzala Restaruant
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Zimzala complements the active beach lifestyle. Breakfast at Zimzala is the perfect start to an active day at the beach. Begin with one of our fresh juices or smoothies, then enjoy an array of frittatas, French toasts, warm healthful cereals, and house-baked pastries. Express barista service is offered at the bar during the early morning hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jon s.
Business
Moorestown, NJ, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Shorebreak Hotel

Excellent accomodations and location,very Euro -Southern California decor,friendly and helpful staff. Great bar and restaurant. Eclectic clientele includes corporate,family, leisure,college kids and high end surfers. Where else while waiting in your business attire for the valet to pull your car up in front of the hotel, other guests are walking into the hotel lobby from the beach with their wetsuits on and surfboards under their arms?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

visit the International Surf museum a block away-surfboards and memorobilia along with a great selection of vintage T-shirts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen0506
Business
Olathe, KS, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Shorebreak Hotel - Amazing beach getaway

From the moment we were greeted at the front desk, we knew the Shorebreak was going to be the perfect place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, providing us with everything we'd need to enjoy a day at the beach (from beach chairs to boogie boards). I'd highly recommend one of the waterfront rooms...amazing, unobstructed views of the ocean and Huntington Beach Pier. The hotel's location was perfect! We walked or rode bikes everywhere we wanted to go. There were plenty of cute boutiques and surf shops as well as restaurants offering everything we wanted. The laid back atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. If you are a newbie to surfing and want to try it, I'd definitely recommend you take lessons (staff at the Shorebreak can arrange it). We didn't take lessons and wished we had! Our only complaint....we wish we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mishief
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Aug 16, 2011

Awesome Hotel!!

I was hesitant to book this hotel as it is quite expensive, but as soon my friends and I got there I knew we made the right choice! The hotel is right across from the beach and Huntington pier, and main st. (where all the action is) is just one street over. It was nice to park our car when we got there and not need to use it again b/c the hotel is within walking distance of everything! The decor and artwork in the hotel is modern and beautiful. The staff were super friendly and helpful, if you get a chance to sing for a room upgrade - do it!! We definitely had a great stay here! Would have been nice if parking and WiFi were included but not a big deal considering everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little coffee shop inside HSS (Huntington Surf & Sport) beside the Billabong store on main st. = BEST coffee ever!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas or
Jul 18, 2011

sunny beaches

tired of no sun we went to so cal to find it and a warm beach. and we found it. nice hotel with a view of the huntington beach pier from our hotel room. the beach was a few foot steps from the hotels front door. nice place the shorebreak. we did as little as possible on this trip. one needs to keep driving to a minimum while in so cal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat during happy hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 7, 2011

Fantastic Getaway

hotels in the area were way to expensive and we really wanted to stay in huntington beach for the July 4th weekend. We were only supposed to stay at the Shore Break for 1 night but we booked 2 additional nights as soon as we checked in. They are centrally located to all the great restaurants and shops and right across the street from the main beach entrance. The bathrooms were the best part of the room and i felt very taken care of during my stay. The entire staff was extremely nice. We even had our own balcony with 2 chairs to relax on. I would stay here again in a heart beat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Staying here puts you a few steps away to all the restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
May 3, 2011

The noisy hotel

Valet and check in was great. The hotel is very noisy. Water pipes rattle and shake all night long. Renovated old building that the plumbing was not upgraded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to anything in HB

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix AZ
Apr 12, 2011

Great hotel

Very good check in experience. Bar downstairs was fun, good atmosphere. Amazing bathtub in the King suite, huge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Layton, Ut
Apr 11, 2011

Shorebreak

This hotel was a fun and unique experience. The location is fantastic and the staff were extremely friendly. If you are looking for a "locals" type of experience - this is a good place to try to accomplish it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wolf Creek, Montana
Mar 8, 2011

Nice, very nice.

A hotel that fits into the community. Not another corporate experience. A truely pet-friendly hotel in a perfect location for the pier, beach, and shopping. Staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was tiny but not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Never found a bad meal within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ORANGE COUNTY, CA
Mar 4, 2011

BEST HOTEL IN HB

LOVELY HOTEL REALLY CLOSE TO THE BEACH, CLEAN AND COZY, LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS HOTEL. CANT WAIT TO GO BACK. MAIN STREET IS FULL WITH SHOPS AND VARIETY. BEST HOTEL IN HUNTINGTON BEACH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RA! SHUSHI YUMMMM!!! HAPPY HOUR =)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top