$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

2 stars
View map of 17251 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
65 reviews
Marine corps ball

Great experience staff was amazing, I woke up late and didn't get to check out on time and was... See full review

  • JohnnyMarines
  • Nov 25, 2014
great times

We got to our room at the howard johnson and it was huge. It looked and felt really clean. The... See full review

  • Mavie C.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Book a fun-filled trip at this Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach conveniently located off Interstate 405 near Disneyland and within three miles of a relaxing day in the sun at several beaches. Bike the scenic trails along the coast, or browse the shops at South Coast Plaza or the famous Fashion Island Shopping Center. Take the family to Knotts Berry Farm for thrilling roller coasters and water slides at Soak City Water Park 10 miles away. For a day of sports, watch baseball at Angel Stadium of Anaheim or hockey at the Honda Center less than 15 miles away. Walk to authentic Mexican dishes at Fiesta Maya Restaurant. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine breakfast, plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet access, and unwind in the hot tub. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Hot tub suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mavie C.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

great times

We got to our room at the howard johnson and it was huge. It looked and felt really clean. The staff was great and both front desk csr's had a smile during my check in and check out. We ate at aztecas which is down the street. They had great mexican food. The jaccuzzi had some debri in it, but we still got in. The night beforw was real windy. It was one of the greatest new years yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mojavi
Business
Riverside, California
Jun 10, 2014

Fun little getaway

Staff is wonderful! A short $15 can ride to Main Street and an energizing 30 min. bike ride to the pier. Room is very comfy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BWGG
Business
Dana Point
Mar 28, 2014

About my stay at Howard Johndon's

It was ok and the price was right......................The continental breakfast was very bad even at 8: a.m. nothing to eat.......................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nataly678
Business
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Jan 2, 2014

not pleasent

Not on time with check in. Rude staff Dont appreciate customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E fun
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 6, 2013

Pleasant stay

The hotel was the right price and comfortable. I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

In So Cal a blinker means speed up not slow down

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cheri909
Business
Highland, Ca
Jun 20, 2013

Just what I need

I find myself down in that area at least once a month and have found this hotel the best for the price. Clean, quiet and friendly staff. I don't need much and this satisfies everything I need

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennie Reyes
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 2, 2013

awesoem

Place was very clean and loved staying there. Going again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Huntington beach is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy couple from vegas
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 3, 2012

Stayed here 3 times now

My husband and I like to come out to Huntington for a few days and we really like staying here. It's a good price, nice part of town that has plenty of places to eat at close by and not to far from the beach and the freeways. Hotel is always clean and nice and pillows are really fluffy for hotel. We have no complaints. Also if you are looking for a large room for a family with kids I recommend the king suite. The room is really big and comes with a pullout couch to the kids in one room and has a mini fridge, microwave and tv, then in the other part of the room has the kind bed with a second tv. Room is great for little kids to run around and not feel cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Occasional Visitor to HB
Business
East Coast of US
Jun 2, 2012

Room Acceptable. Fairly good value. No breakfast.

The room was OK, the location excellent, service normal, and the amenities in the room good -- microwave oven, mini-refrigerator, coffeemaker, etc. The only problem came from the hotel's use as a kind of dormitory for foreign students working in Huntington Beach. They filled all the breakfast tables and ate all the food two of the three mornings we were there. Luckily, McDonald's is only two blocks away and there are other choices, also..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of choices at all quality/cost brackets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vamperia
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 26, 2012

Needs to be secret shoped by Cheep Tickets!

Check in was fine, the clerk was courtious. They supplied a luggage cart as we were on the second floor (208). Whlie the carpet was clean, it was in need of replacment. There was a square of carpet cut and replaced with a newer patch in front of the sink, but the floor underneath was soft. The shower curtin was stained, and the rod was screwed into the wall at an odd angle,you could see where it had been pulled out of the wall before.It would not stay closed while you were in the shower. I pulled the bed down and a pillow case and the bottom sheet both had stains on them. We were offerd another room, but were unpacked and as housekeeping was gone for the day, I changed the sheets myself. We were very disapointed as the rating was 2 stars. I could not open the pool gate and never saw the spa area, both of which I was looking foward to using. The day clerk did get a 20% discount on our first nights stay for us, and that was very apprecaited. I realy feed that you need to send a secret guest to this location to reevaulate this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The envelope the room key comes in has a 20% discount at Marie Calanders not far from the motel. It is a very nice restruant, we ate there both nights of our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top