$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

2 stars
17251 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
62 reviews
fun weekend

Very friendly staff excellent room and very close to maal st hb See full review

  • crazyMommyof2
  • Nov 19, 2014
Fun little getaway

Staff is wonderful! A short $15 can ride to Main Street and an energizing 30 min. bike ride to the... See full review

  • Mojavi
  • Jun 10, 2014
Book a fun-filled trip at this Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach conveniently located off Interstate 405 near Disneyland and within three miles of a relaxing day in the sun at several beaches. Bike the scenic trails along the coast, or browse the shops at South Coast Plaza or the famous Fashion Island Shopping Center. Take the family to Knotts Berry Farm for thrilling roller coasters and water slides at Soak City Water Park 10 miles away. For a day of sports, watch baseball at Angel Stadium of Anaheim or hockey at the Honda Center less than 15 miles away. Walk to authentic Mexican dishes at Fiesta Maya Restaurant. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine breakfast, plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet access, and unwind in the hot tub. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Hot tub suites, smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SD FOF
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

Not very good...

For the price and my use it was barely OK. I wouldn't take my family to stay there for the night. I travel for business so I needed only a place to sleep and shower...that is the only reason I say OK. The room was cleaned but no attention to detail. The hand soap was was left over from the last guest...the package was wet and the bar of soap was falling apart. Looked like the bathroom door needed to be wiped down. Maybe dirt or blood who knows? The paint was peeling throughout the room. The room smelled musty. The ironing board was broke. The over all feel of the room was uncomfortable. I didn't want to touch things or walk around without my socks. The front desk staff had no enthusiasm or willingness to be helpful in anyway. I would pass on this Howard Johnson in the future sorry to say because I have had great stays at other HoJo properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vamperia
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 26, 2012

Needs to be secret shoped by Cheep Tickets!

Check in was fine, the clerk was courtious. They supplied a luggage cart as we were on the second floor (208). Whlie the carpet was clean, it was in need of replacment. There was a square of carpet cut and replaced with a newer patch in front of the sink, but the floor underneath was soft. The shower curtin was stained, and the rod was screwed into the wall at an odd angle,you could see where it had been pulled out of the wall before.It would not stay closed while you were in the shower. I pulled the bed down and a pillow case and the bottom sheet both had stains on them. We were offerd another room, but were unpacked and as housekeeping was gone for the day, I changed the sheets myself. We were very disapointed as the rating was 2 stars. I could not open the pool gate and never saw the spa area, both of which I was looking foward to using. The day clerk did get a 20% discount on our first nights stay for us, and that was very apprecaited. I realy feed that you need to send a secret guest to this location to reevaulate this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The envelope the room key comes in has a 20% discount at Marie Calanders not far from the motel. It is a very nice restruant, we ate there both nights of our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mpkmath
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Jul 29, 2012

Very unpleasant experience

Hotel bathroom was dirty. Air conditioner didn't room. There were many loud partygoers staying at the hotel that were partying until 3 am. The staff did not stop them. Very restless night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
never again 2012
Business
San Diego
Jun 18, 2012

Cockroaches

They checked me in and the shower didn't work. So I had to pack up and they put me in a suite. It was ok excpet for the cockroaches. I was only there a few hours so I showered and left. I wouldn't recomend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NoneSD
Business
San Diego, California
Aug 10, 2012

Stay not pleasant

Getting to the room located at the third floor is very inconvenient, the elevator was very far. The noise from the neighboring room was really loud till late in the evening which make sleeping really difficult. This is a bad experience in general and would not recommend a place if you could afford it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ka09
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Mediocre says it all

I wanted a night to just relax before my long drive in the morning. I picked this place because the reviews weren't so bad, pictures were decent, and location sounded nice. I did not enjoy my stay there because it seemed like a party place more than a nice getaway. There was loud booming music and loud neighbors. I expected a lot more out of my stay and I just wanted a refund so I could get out of there and stay somewhere else more comfortable and safe for me since I was traveling alone. Getting a refund was practically impossible as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
d powerheart
Business
houston TX
Mar 14, 2010

nice location

it's too noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
garboochie
Business
Salt LAke city
Aug 28, 2012

wouldnt stay again

not at all impressed with this place..... the people were kind of weird and the rooms way to junk for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat Jersey Traveler
Business
Cape Coral, FL
Feb 2, 2013

Ok for the money

We were here for 7 nights. The best thing I can say is that the motel is centrally located and the daily cleaning service was outstanding and very accommodating. In fact, it was so good I felt compelled to mention it at the front desk upon check out. However, the beds and most especially pillows were extremely uncomfortable and the carpeting is in need of replacement. However, I am not paying for the best and for the money the accommodations were decent. The breakfast is nonexistent. I would recommend it for someone who wants to stay in the area and does not want to spend a lot of money. I would recommend it to a friend only if they were looking for less expensive accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nataly678
Business
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Jan 2, 2014

not pleasent

Not on time with check in. Rude staff Dont appreciate customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top