$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

2 stars
View map of 17251 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy couple from vegas
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 3, 2012

Stayed here 3 times now

My husband and I like to come out to Huntington for a few days and we really like staying here. It's a good price, nice part of town that has plenty of places to eat at close by and not to far from the beach and the freeways. Hotel is always clean and nice and pillows are really fluffy for hotel. We have no complaints. Also if you are looking for a large room for a family with kids I recommend the king suite. The room is really big and comes with a pullout couch to the kids in one room and has a mini fridge, microwave and tv, then in the other part of the room has the kind bed with a second tv. Room is great for little kids to run around and not feel cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mpkmath
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Jul 29, 2012

Very unpleasant experience

Hotel bathroom was dirty. Air conditioner didn't room. There were many loud partygoers staying at the hotel that were partying until 3 am. The staff did not stop them. Very restless night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
never again 2012
Business
San Diego
Jun 18, 2012

Cockroaches

They checked me in and the shower didn't work. So I had to pack up and they put me in a suite. It was ok excpet for the cockroaches. I was only there a few hours so I showered and left. I wouldn't recomend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Occasional Visitor to HB
Business
East Coast of US
Jun 2, 2012

Room Acceptable. Fairly good value. No breakfast.

The room was OK, the location excellent, service normal, and the amenities in the room good -- microwave oven, mini-refrigerator, coffeemaker, etc. The only problem came from the hotel's use as a kind of dormitory for foreign students working in Huntington Beach. They filled all the breakfast tables and ate all the food two of the three mornings we were there. Luckily, McDonald's is only two blocks away and there are other choices, also..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of choices at all quality/cost brackets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vamperia
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 26, 2012

Needs to be secret shoped by Cheep Tickets!

Check in was fine, the clerk was courtious. They supplied a luggage cart as we were on the second floor (208). Whlie the carpet was clean, it was in need of replacment. There was a square of carpet cut and replaced with a newer patch in front of the sink, but the floor underneath was soft. The shower curtin was stained, and the rod was screwed into the wall at an odd angle,you could see where it had been pulled out of the wall before.It would not stay closed while you were in the shower. I pulled the bed down and a pillow case and the bottom sheet both had stains on them. We were offerd another room, but were unpacked and as housekeeping was gone for the day, I changed the sheets myself. We were very disapointed as the rating was 2 stars. I could not open the pool gate and never saw the spa area, both of which I was looking foward to using. The day clerk did get a 20% discount on our first nights stay for us, and that was very apprecaited. I realy feed that you need to send a secret guest to this location to reevaulate this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The envelope the room key comes in has a 20% discount at Marie Calanders not far from the motel. It is a very nice restruant, we ate there both nights of our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diligaf
Business
SLC
May 22, 2012

plain

If my house was this dirty I would be embarrassed to let anyone see it. The chairs were stained beyond belief. After taking the gnarly bedspread off you get a gnarly blanket underneath. The rest of the room looked clean but who knows. Other than that just an ordinary room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SD FOF
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

Not very good...

For the price and my use it was barely OK. I wouldn't take my family to stay there for the night. I travel for business so I needed only a place to sleep and shower...that is the only reason I say OK. The room was cleaned but no attention to detail. The hand soap was was left over from the last guest...the package was wet and the bar of soap was falling apart. Looked like the bathroom door needed to be wiped down. Maybe dirt or blood who knows? The paint was peeling throughout the room. The room smelled musty. The ironing board was broke. The over all feel of the room was uncomfortable. I didn't want to touch things or walk around without my socks. The front desk staff had no enthusiasm or willingness to be helpful in anyway. I would pass on this Howard Johnson in the future sorry to say because I have had great stays at other HoJo properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrMrsT
Business
Ladera Ranch, CA 92694
Feb 7, 2012

Clean, friendly and a great value

The hotel was located right where we needed it and it had all the amenities one might expect in a more expensive hotel. It was a great value and very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CandH
Business
Chula Vista, CA
Sep 19, 2011

Perfect for the price.

I was very pleased with the inn. The place was neat and tidy. Parking was always available not matter what time it was. Hotel staff seemed friendly. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. Also it was two miles from my destination. I is centrally located within Huntington Beach. Food, Gas, Grocery Stores, and even hardware stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Huntington Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dragan
Business
Novi Sad, Serbia
Sep 19, 2011

Nothing special, but OK

This place is nothing special, but it's OK if you're looking for a place to sleep and take a shower. It can get a bit noisy at night, but it's nothing really bad, but I guess people with small children might find it a bit troublesome. Overall, I think this is a good deal for the price, considering the location, if not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top