$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 8, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

2 stars
View map of 1401 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, CA 90027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whirlwind tour
Business
New Jersey
Nov 15, 2011

Genuinely Welcoming Staff

We were greeted at the counter with a big smile. Check-in was quick, then the agent recommended tours for us to take and filled in the details. He was very knowledgable and sincerely seemed to want us to have a great time. We were encouraged to leave our car in the lot during the all-day trip, even though we had already checked out. The night agent was also friendly, and helped us log on and print our tour confirmation ($1 per page) in the lobby. Breakfast was cereals (2 choices), packaged muffins and danish, bananas, tea and coffee; nothing that appealed to us. We asked for a room away from the sirens, and were given a room in the back where we slept well. The room was a good size. Parking was inside the courtyard and safe. We would have stayed a couple more nights, but they were booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The 50's Diner down the street is worth going to for the extensive menu of shakes in unusual and exotic combinations. I enjoyed the Breakfast Shake with low-fat frozen yogurt, granola and fresh berries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beadman
Business
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

I like this place

This is a very serviceable and convenient hotel for activities I pursue locally. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are better than OK. This time, a few minor issues--like neighbor noise late at night, and occasionally less-than-hot water from the tap. I appreciate that this remains a smoking-friendly hotel--which is a primary reason I stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close by: El Buritto on Sunset around the corner, north. Vons supermarket two blocks away. Good take-out from both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mel 520
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Perfect location, and the price is right...

I'll start by admitting I am not a fan of fancy resorts. When I travel, I prefer no frills -- all I need is a bed and a shower. This place has both. Awesome! Seriously, the location is incredible. It's within walking distance to all kinds of food and various shops. The metro stop is a mere few feet away. The accommodations were just right. If you plan on spending time in the room other than sleeping, perhaps something fancier would be better for you, but if you're there to check out the city, you cannot beat this place. The front desk manager was extremely helpful. I chose this place because it was within walking distance to the Greek Theater. I will be staying there again when I need to get to LA for a good show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Sep 24, 2011

hotel ok but neighborhood bad

The hotel is good for the price you are paying. The beds are comfy and the noise is not too bad at night. We were surprised on how small the pool was. There was barely any room to lay down, but we made it work. The bad part is the neighborhood. We made the mistake of turning right the first day and ended up in the bad part of town. We discovered that if you turn left, its not that bad and you get to the metro easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It seems everone is giving you different but high prices to shuttle to the airport. At the reception we were told that a cap is $68 and the shuttle is $40 for 2 people. I checked on my phone and found "blue shuttle" for $30 for 2 people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brkinlv
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Will Stay Again

Over all, will stay again. I went to the desk to report I had a problem with the room safe , desk clerk "Bill" said he would come up but never did . Room was a little dusty, Bed was great, room only had a shower but that was fine for me.Lots of hot water , no low flow head : ) Didn't use the pool but seemed uninviting . Location is the only selling point here . parking can be a challenge if arriving late .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peoria, AZ
Sep 8, 2011

universal getaway

The hotel was clean, The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was small but adequate. The location was quiet and seemed safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aswhenmos
Business
LA,CA
Aug 9, 2011

It's ok.

Ordinary one, location is good. Nice Thai restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 25, 2011

Great for the money

This hotel is close to Hollywood Blvd, and most highways. Great location for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few resturants that are only short walking distance from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Jul 8, 2011

Great experience

The best thing about this hotel was its proximity to the Red Line Metro (right across the street) which allowed you to get to Hollywood/Highland (where tyhe action is) in 3 stops. The outside if the hotel is old--it could use some refurbishing, but the rooms themselves were great. The beds were comfortable, and everything was clean. I'd stay here again for the price--it was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Starline TOurs--hop on hop off--it allowed us to get to everywhere we wanted to get to since we didn't have a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jp
Business
UK
Jun 25, 2011

Well located, good staff

First things first, this is not the hotel you choose for a romantic vacation, but in terms of good value and decent location this was a good hotel. There aren't too many good areas of LA but this was located near a children's hospital (which didn't cause us any noise problems) and was a 1 minute walk from a bus stop and the main metro line - $1.50 for any single journey - bargain!). It's also around the corner from an enormous Scientology building... Staff were very helpful and arranged fro pick-ups to do any of the tours from sightseeing to getting you to Disneyland. Breakfast is buffet style and very basic with very limited room to eat it in but on the second day we wised up and just brought our food up to our room. Rooms were a good size, in good condition and were kept lovely and clean throughout. If you're a city traveller then this is a good hotel to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro buses and subway leave from very near-by. You can travel all the way to the San Fernando Valley or Pasadena for only $1.50 single. Traffic iss very heavy in LA so I recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top