$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

2 stars
View map of 1536 N Western Ave, Hollywood, CA 90027

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
72 reviews
Great place for LA

Rooms are not large but very clean and good value for LA area and close enough to Hollywood,... See full review

  • ChinaBob
  • Mar 9, 2015
Rave trip

Cheap hotel. Close to Hollywood Palladium. Clean room. The beds were surprisingly comfy. Id... See full review

  • Vick Tong
  • Feb 12, 2015
Welcome to Super 8 Hollywood, CA. The 2 Diamond AAA approved property is easily accessible from Hwy 101. The property offers a Free Super Start breakfast and free parking. Each guestroom has free High Speed Internet access, In-room coffee maker, Hair Dryer, Refrigerator, AM/FM clock radio and 24 inch remote control TVs with HBO and cable. The Hollywood sign can be seen from the majority of rooms. We are centrally located to many of the major attractions in Hollywood and Los Angeles Area. Hollywood Walk of Fame, Manns Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, Hollywood Bowl, Griffith Park are just a mile away.

Top hotels

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 72
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
randomguy
Business
LA
Jan 22, 2015

randomguy

I was visiting Universal Studios and it was near to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Keith T.
Business
Long Beach
Jan 21, 2015

You get what you pay for

Cheap room, no bed bugs, looked clean in the bathroom. If you're on a tight budget, it's okay. Otherwise, spend a little more to get something nicer. We only needed the room for four hours so we were willing to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bonnicelli
Business
lancaster
Dec 16, 2014

nice rOom

I've stayed at this motel several times before .the location is good for me because it's only a few blocks from the metro redline subway .and metro busses are close by...the staff was friendly and i met some really nice peoole staying in the room down the hall . the rooms have been redecorated since my last visit...the room I stayed in was Asian inspired . .with a large photo of Grauman's Chinese theater above the bed and black lacquer furniture ....and although the room was recently done ....it appears they did nothing to the bathroom....I do wish they would have done something with it ....it looks old and tired compared to the rest of the room...they do offer a Continental breakfast.....but I don't know what it's like ....I didn't try it....like I said I've stayed here before and I would stay here again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ravi77
Business
Vancouver
Aug 20, 2014

Look elsewhere

Extremely small rooms, dirty, room had leaking faucet, and sink counter top was pulled away from wall like someone stood on it. I understand this is an old hotel but these things should have been repaired. Location is good though. This is definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
price is right audience
Business
sf bay area
Aug 31, 2013

I will never ever book any motel 8 again!!!!

Carpet very dirty from the hallway to our room, I know there a bed bug in our bed carpet whatever kind of bug it is because I got bug bites in my foot and I itch in my back...terrible motel!! I will never ever book any room from motel 8 again!!! Staff are okay thats the only positive word I can say to this experience we had in this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Livin and Lovin Life
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 27, 2013

Overnight Trip - Just the two of us

My husband and I were a little nervous at first going to this place but I kept the reviews in mind that had said you get what you pay for. So, with that in mind and the right price I booked it. I brought a sheet we could throw away if the bed was nasty and flipflops for the floor and shower...We were ready. The parking lot spaces were fairly small but this wasn't an issue for our compact car. Entering had a slight smell but nothing offensive. Check-in was nothing special. Deep breath enter room...Very Very pleased. Whole room seemed like it had been updated. Fresh paint, new carpet, nothing gross about the bed and the a/c worked!! This is a no frills hotel but if you're looking for a spot really close to hollywood walk of fame area with stores and restaurants that are 24hrs this was a great place. Especially for the price!! P.S.-we didn't try the continental breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Exit out of building and there's a 24hour Subway. Normal pricing if you need something quick, cheap and fresh.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sam24
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Jun 1, 2013

Convenient Location

An absolutely no frills place in a semi-sketchy part of town, but it was close to the metro station, the chinese theater, the walk of fame and fit our needs. It was pretty clean, comfortable, came with a mini fridge, and had a complementary breakfast which we took advantage of. For the price and location it was an excellent deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EchoPi
Business
TX
Oct 9, 2012

fantastic hotel

Great location, only 10min walk to the Walk of Frame. Free breakfast, good Staff. Rooms are ok. just the building is old. Compared to the hotel price, it's a good one to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilme
Business
ohio
Aug 5, 2012

bad location

This hotel had terrible parking. all the spots were made for compact car and we had a full size vehicle. It was hard to try and turn the car around. The location of the hotel was not good. There is a pub right next to it and they hang out on the street. It is hard to get to the hotel from the parking lot with the people from the pub on the sidewalk. Breakfast was frozen waffles and toast . It also was started not until 8am when most other hotels start at 6 to 11. The breakfast was closed at 10. The staff was not friendly at all. They did not greet you when u come in the door. They also did not have any business center for you to print out your boarding pass. We just checked out of another hotel of the same brand. and compared to this one it was fantastic and I wish I could of stated at it longer. The drains in the bathroom needs fixed. The water would not go down when you were taking a shower. or washing your hands in the sink. The only thing good about the room was it was clean and bed was comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 4, 2011

You get what you pay for

A cheap hotel in Hollywood? Yes, a cheap hotel, not a good deal on a hotel. The hotel staff was nice, the hotel was not very nice. Old and a little filthy, but what do you expect for the price? If you are looking for a nice stay where you aren't scared to touch the walls in the shower, look elsewhere. If you want a cheap stay that is very close to the metro subway station, this is the place. We spent most of our time outside of our hotel so all we needed was a cheap place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right down the road from the Red Line Metro Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top