$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

2 stars
View map of 1536 N Western Ave, Hollywood, CA 90027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Syd, Aus
Oct 16, 2009

Average

We stayed in this hotel because it was close to Universal studios, but we would never stay there again, it had nothing to do with the hotel itself, in fact the staff were nice and helpful but we felt unsafe in the area. If you do choose to stay here look further down western ave rather than going down sunset blvd for dinner, that was an experience in itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Hollywood Blvd

Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oh Melissa!
Couples
Hollywood, Ca
Oct 11, 2009

Decent for price and location.

The lady at the front desk was very nice. Although there is free parking, almost every spot is labeled compact; with minvans and SUVS parked there, so it was hard to park at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Avon, CT
Sep 9, 2009

OK for a short stay in Hollywood

This hotel was ok for a two-night stay in the northern LA area in Hollywood. The hotel/motel has definitely seen better days and has a worn out/tired feeling to it, but so does most of the surrounding area outside of the hotel. Parking was free and not an issue for our rental car while we were visiting although the lot is relatively small so I could see how space could run out. The rooms were a decent size although we had a handicap room so I'm not sure if this made the room larger than most other rooms in the hotel. The room did have a refrigerator which was nice. This is a convenient location to getting to Hollywood attractions since there is a metro stop close by (did not use this) and Dodger Stadium but if driving, the traffic can make getting anywhere in the LA area just a nightmare regardless of where you are staying. Overall, I think the hotel was probably one of the best values for the money in the area but definitely just for a short stay and just to be used as a place to crash after a long day of sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the hotel is a Walgreens and McDonald's (one block away) that are nice in case you forgot something or need a quick bite to eat. There are other eateries too on Sunset and Hollywood, which the hotel is between.

Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tennessee. guy
Couples
Chatta, Tn
Aug 24, 2009

good for the money

For the $ all was as expected, several blocks from H@V streets and walk of Fame easy access by tram up the street. Not very much on B'fast but will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take Tram

Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mrtanki
Couples
nebraska
Jul 31, 2009

sleep with fleas

The room, the bathrom, the refrigerator, the bed sheet was dirty. I had about 30 flea bites in the 216 room. After these I get an other room, and it was dirty, too. You should not go to this hotel.I do not recommend to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jonesy the water girl
Family
Millsap, TX
Jul 21, 2009

Hollywood view

It was exciting when we checked in to the room and could see the Hollywood sign from our window. We just stayed one night, but I believe it would be a comfortable hotel. No pool, small room to eat breakfast in. Very little parking and you better have a small car. Hotel is kind of old. No tub, just shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants within a close walk. Hotel is right down from Sunset Blvd.

Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Beaverton, OR
Jul 6, 2009

Not Recommended

Room was too small and dirty. The only thing good was the location since it was near to attractions like Kodak Theater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoboJoe
Couples
Albuquerque NM
Jun 2, 2009

...

Not in a good neighborhood, but it is 2 blocks from the metro subway. From there it was a fast hook up to Hollywood/Highland area and Universal Studios. Front desk staff was kind of stoic but helpful when needed. Maids are super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mone 74
Friends
san fransisco
May 28, 2009

cheep getaway

the hotel was easy to find. first breakfast no jelly and no cream cheese. spider in the bed, rooms smelling awefull, worker not really friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St. Louis, MO.
May 2, 2009

The good, the bad and the really ugly!

The worst hotel check ins we have ever experienced! I rented two rooms for 2 nights and I paid almost $160.00/room but we were so unhappy and unsatisfied! The rooms were not really clean, the bathroom doors are both broken, shower curtains are so gross with stains like poop, there's no toiletries like soap and shampoo, towels are so tiny, no foot towel, curtain rods are all crooked that i had to use my hair clamp to hold the curtains together, i didn't sleep because I hear sounds upstairs, no dresser, not enough pillows, and they said it includes breakfast but we didn't even get any donut and barely no coffee. We stayed just to go to Universal Studio and Hollywood. We stayed at a very nice Cannery hotel and casino in Las Vegas for 3 nights and we got everything we need, so clean and comfortable, quite, cool, almost like a 4star hotel and we only paid $100.00 for three nights. Now, for all the inconveniences, WE WANT OUR MONEY BACK FROM THIS SUPER 8 IN L.A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top