$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

2 stars
View map of 1536 N Western Ave, Hollywood, CA 90027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CkV
Business
Chico, CA
Nov 2, 2009

Disappointed stay

There were no towels in our room when we checked in. Asked the lady at the front desk and took her 30 min. to brink up some towels. Our friends who had an adjacent room to us had the same problem with no towels. Parking is horrible here. The parking lot is very small and hard to maneuver when full. One car had some light scratches to the rear end from another car who was backing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Highlands Night club was pretty fun and also Hollywood Blvd and Walk of Fame is a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syd, Aus
Oct 16, 2009

Average

We stayed in this hotel because it was close to Universal studios, but we would never stay there again, it had nothing to do with the hotel itself, in fact the staff were nice and helpful but we felt unsafe in the area. If you do choose to stay here look further down western ave rather than going down sunset blvd for dinner, that was an experience in itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Hollywood Blvd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oh Melissa!
Business
Hollywood, Ca
Oct 11, 2009

Decent for price and location.

The lady at the front desk was very nice. Although there is free parking, almost every spot is labeled compact; with minvans and SUVS parked there, so it was hard to park at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Fransisco
Sep 13, 2009

Nice cheap hotel

The Hotel is nice, with friendly staff, 2 of them with who I met. Nice location, cheap, clean. The street was a little noisy at the night. This information for bad sleeper :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

And subway :D, and you can reach almost everything. To get the beach is little hard, but beverly hills, universal and warner brothers studio, downtown is pretty near. 2-3 subway station. The tickets are 1.25 for 1 line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 11, 2009

good value

less than 10 minutes from universal studios! the main problems i had with this room: mini-fridge was leaking and left a small wet spot on the carpet, wash towels were PAPER THIN, and the room was cramped. the tv was very static-y, too. but, overall, i would stay here again. i mean, it's fairly cheap and it's a GREAT location. oh, the parking lot is a NIGHTMARE. it's made for compact cars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Avon, CT
Sep 9, 2009

OK for a short stay in Hollywood

This hotel was ok for a two-night stay in the northern LA area in Hollywood. The hotel/motel has definitely seen better days and has a worn out/tired feeling to it, but so does most of the surrounding area outside of the hotel. Parking was free and not an issue for our rental car while we were visiting although the lot is relatively small so I could see how space could run out. The rooms were a decent size although we had a handicap room so I'm not sure if this made the room larger than most other rooms in the hotel. The room did have a refrigerator which was nice. This is a convenient location to getting to Hollywood attractions since there is a metro stop close by (did not use this) and Dodger Stadium but if driving, the traffic can make getting anywhere in the LA area just a nightmare regardless of where you are staying. Overall, I think the hotel was probably one of the best values for the money in the area but definitely just for a short stay and just to be used as a place to crash after a long day of sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the hotel is a Walgreens and McDonald's (one block away) that are nice in case you forgot something or need a quick bite to eat. There are other eateries too on Sunset and Hollywood, which the hotel is between.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tennessee. guy
Business
Chatta, Tn
Aug 24, 2009

good for the money

For the $ all was as expected, several blocks from H@V streets and walk of Fame easy access by tram up the street. Not very much on B'fast but will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take Tram

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mrtanki
Business
nebraska
Jul 31, 2009

sleep with fleas

The room, the bathrom, the refrigerator, the bed sheet was dirty. I had about 30 flea bites in the 216 room. After these I get an other room, and it was dirty, too. You should not go to this hotel.I do not recommend to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jonesy the water girl
Business
Millsap, TX
Jul 21, 2009

Hollywood view

It was exciting when we checked in to the room and could see the Hollywood sign from our window. We just stayed one night, but I believe it would be a comfortable hotel. No pool, small room to eat breakfast in. Very little parking and you better have a small car. Hotel is kind of old. No tub, just shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants within a close walk. Hotel is right down from Sunset Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaverton, OR
Jul 6, 2009

Not Recommended

Room was too small and dirty. The only thing good was the location since it was near to attractions like Kodak Theater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top