$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

4 stars
7000 Hollywood Blvd., Hollywood, CA 90028
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
231 reviews
Great!

I had an amazing experience! Wish I could return for Fourth of July weekend, but everything is... See full review

  • DaisyAI
  • Jul 2, 2014
Great stay

I always love the ambiance of the hotel and location. See full review

  • Klisa
  • Nov 25, 2013
Ultra-stylish classic landmark near Hollywood shopping and sights

This Spanish Colonial dazzler has been a fixture in the Hollywood social scene since it opened in 1927. The chic, sexy and sophisticated Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel evokes old-world Hollywood glamour while keeping apace with modern design, luxury and state-of the-art facilities. Renovated by acclaimed L.A. designer Dodd Mitchell, the hotel's luster has been restored and it is now again an A-list destination for the see-and-be-seen crowd.

Highlights
  • Historic, heart-of-Hollywood location puts major Tinseltown sightseeing, shopping and nightlife destinations within easy reach
  • Renovated rooms designed by acclaimed L.A. designer Dodd Mitchell
  • Junior Olympic-size heated swimming pool and fitness center
Rooms
Expect sleek, sophisticated design elements with modernist furnishings and prints of pop-culture icons adorning the walls of the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel. Guests can choose from among 300 standard rooms, studio suites and cabana suites, which are located just off the famed Tropicana Pool. All rooms come with king or queen beds, and each features plush Sferra bed and bath linens, Bigelow bath products and Dean & Deluca pantry offerings. Rooms also boast stunning views of the city and Hollywood Hills.
Features

With a heritage that includes various Hollywood luminaries, the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel emanates vintage Hollywood history and charm, now touched up with a modern, masterful re-design. Dining options including the fresh eclectic American cuisine at Public Kitchen and Bar and award-winning burgers at the hip 24-hour burger-and-bar eatery 25 Degrees. For cocktails, head to the hotel's Library Bar, Teddy's Nightclub, Spare Room adult speakeasy lounge (featuring vintage games and bowling alley) or Tropicana Poolside Bar. Guests can enjoy a junior Olympic-size heated pool and 24-hour fitness center, massage garden, and 24 -hour concierge and room service.

Transportation
  • Hollywood & Highland Metro Station (2 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (14 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (8 miles)
Attractions
  • Hollywood Walk of Fame (same block)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater, Disney's El Capitan Theater, Pantages Theater and Egyptian Theater (walking distance)
  • Kodak Theater (1 block)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (3 mi/5 km)
  • Paramount Studios, Universal Studios & Universal City Walk, Warner Bros. (3 mi/5 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (3 mi/5 km)
  • Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive (4.5 mi/7 km)
  • Getty Museum (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
  • Santa Monica Beach & Third Street Promenade (12 mi/19 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Historic, beautifully restored meeting rooms include The Blossom Room, The Academy Room, Toledo Board Room and Parlor and The Gable-Lombard Penthouse, featuring a private terrace underneath the iconic Roosevelt sign
  • Tropicana Bar & Pool area offers a chic, elegant venue for A-list Hollywood events
Policies and fees
  • Pets are not allowed in Cabana Rooms or Floors 11 and 12. 
  • Non-refundable cleaning fee is $100, good for 7 days.
  • Valet parking is available for $36 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.1012 -118.3418
Area served
Hollywood, Los Angeles, West Hollywood, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles (LAX)14 miles Burbank (BUR)8 miles
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood's Entertainment District, on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Directly opposite the famous Grauman's Chinese Theater and Oscar's new home, the Kodak Theater. Within blocks of Disney's El Capitan Theater and Egyptian Theater. Television giants NBC, ABC, and CBS, as well as most of the major movie studios are all within 15 minutes of the hotel. Also, within walking distance to numerous theaters, restaurants, and other attractions easily accessible from the Metro station located across the street at Hollywood and Highland.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King Room
One king with 400 square feet, wireless Internet access, Cable TV with pay movies, Ipod docking station,CD player, Coffeemaker, Minibar, Keihl's bath amenities.
Cabana Room with Garden View
One king bed with Garden view, 350 square feet, wireless Internet access, Bathrobes, Cable TV with pay movies, Ipod docking station, CD player, Coffeemaker, Minibar, Keihl's bath amenities.
Studio Suite
One king bed with 487 to 584 square feet, Small sitting area, wireless Internet access, Bathrobes, Cable TV with pay movies, Ipod docking station, CD player, Coffeemaker, Minibar, Keihl's bath amenities.
Standard Queen Room
One queen bed with 350 square feet, wireless Internet access, Cable TV with pay movies,Ipod docking station, CD player, Coffeemaker, Minibar, Keihl's bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios: 2.7 mi

Dining

25 Degrees
Stylish version of the classic Burger Bar, with Leather banquets, dark wood tables and 4 flat screen TV's and will feature "The Works"; Jones sodas, milk shakes and half bottles of wine. Open 24 hours, 7 days a week.
Tropicana
Wrapping around the hotel's historic David Hockney pool, Tropicana has become an oasis by day and by night is transformed into a sultry lounge, making Tropicana the ultimate sexy Hollywood Hideaway. Serving food & drinks from 11:00am
Teddy's
An exclusive bottle service nightclub located off the Historic Lobby
Library Bar
Loacted in the Historic Lobby. The Library Bar offers a comfortable, low key place to enjoy a cocktail and appetizers. Nightly from 5:30pm to 2:00am
Public Kitchen and Bar
Features a menu of eclectic American fare from Executive Chef Tim Goodell. The re imagined dining hall features loft inspired design which provides a lighter, brighter space highlighted by butcher block tables, 1960s library chairs, and diamond-tufted banquettes. At the room's center, a three-sided, marble topped bar offers creative cocktails, a moderately priced 100 bottle wine list, beers by draft and bottle, and an assortment of cured meats and cheeses.
The Spare Room
The Spare Room is a modern day gaming parlour and cocktail lounge, situated on the mezzanine level of the hotel. The Spare Room features two vintage bowling lanes, custom and eclectic furnishings, and unique surfaces and textures which convey a handcrafted, timeless feel. The newest addition to the Roosevelts property provides unparalleled amenities to not only hotel guests, but is also a unique destination for Hollywood's architects of influence.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Event & Private Dining Facilities: Fine cuisine and specialty menus created by our award-winning chef serviced by our in-house catering and banquet team.

Blossom Ballroom: Site of the first Academy Awards, with its 25 foot high, handcrafted ceiling this 4400 square feet space can accommodate up to 500 standing, 300 seated.

Oscar Room: The 3000 square foot space can accommodate 300 standing, 180 seated.

Historic Lobby: This impressive venue with its Spanish architecture is ideal for receptions up to 400 people and wedding services.

Academy: Former library of the hotel and meeting place of the Academy seats approximately 175 guests in its 2500 square feet of beautiful appointed space.

Conference Facilities: Additionally, our 4 break out rooms can comfortably accommodate 15-40 guests.

Wedding Services: Complete wedding services are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disaster Vacationer
Charleston, SC
Apr 20, 2010

Nice Hotel Confounded by Horrible Staff

I am a married, adult law student in my mid 30s, and I stayed at The Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel on my recent trip to L.A. The reason for my trip was twofold. I was to have a meeting with my new business partner and friend regarding the company we just started. Also, I have 4 very old and dear buddies that I went to college with who live in Hollywood as well, and I hoped to combine a business trip with pleasure by reconnecting with them over cocktails. This was to be a very special occasion for both myself and my old pals as none of us had seen each other in many years. After college I went away to law school while they moved off to the west coast to chase dreams, and now that we've all become successful in those pursuits we were eager to sit around and swap our respective stories and I'd hoped to provide the hosting location via what I thought would be a swanky hotel with an atmosphere that the entire group could appreciate. To give you an idea of the group's make-up, I'll just say that two of my friends are now working for two of the major broadcast networks in executive positions where they work in the production of two different prime time TV shows, and the rest are successfully established in the music business, so all of us had tons of exciting stories to tell and were excited to get together for the purpose of doing so. Consequently, I was looking for a hotel that could offer us a hip, centrally located spot to meet/eat/drink. I also wanted to stay somewhere that had tons of amenities, gorgeous architecture, and a rich history. I must admit that if these were the only criteria that mattered, The Roosevelt would've certainly more than fit the bill. Ironically, all of us had plenty of money to spend on expensive food and beverage service which is exactly what I was in the market for, but sadly the behavior of the Roosevelt's staff forced us to spend it elsewhere. In general the employees at The Roosevelt were so unbelievably rude, unhelpful, and inexplicably conceited that their lack of professionalism and total absence of anything approaching hospitable service, ended up rendering the property basically unusable as anything more than a place for me to sleep at night. Considering my experience, if I had it to do over I'd have taken up one of the many offers to stay in a friend's guest room in lieu of ever entering this hotel. Typically I am the kind of person who is uncomfortable with such an imposition even with close friends and family, but that kind of experience would have been far more comfortable than any of the time I spent on The Roosevelt's property. I was surprised to find that after ten p.m. (and often during the day as well), there was no way possible to ingress or egress from my particular room without encountering a rude, snarky, and accusatory member of the hotel security staff. Security at The Roosevelt, apparently, consists of well-dressed gentlemen with secret-service-style earpieces whose job it is to interrogate guests as to where they are going each time they leave or return to their rooms while simultaneously making sure they don't feel comfortable anywhere near the pool bar area. The first day I was there, after checking in and going out to have some dinner, I returned to the hotel with 3 friends. Our plan was to stop by my room to drop some things off, then we were going to head to the bar at the pool for a bit. Unfortunately, our plans changed after the glorified hall monitor on duty insisted that he search each of the bags that each of us were carrying as if we were common criminals attempting to smuggle narcotics through customs or something. He explained to me, after finding a single bottle of alcohol that I had purchased on our way back, that the hotel had a policy against "outside alcohol", and that this was "typical policy at most hotels". Having previously managed an oceanfront resort, I found that information surprising, but I totally complied without so much as politely que...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disaster Vacationer
Charleston, SC
Apr 20, 2010

Nice Hotel Confounded by Horrible Staff

I am a married, adult law student in my mid 30s, and I stayed at The Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel on my recent trip to L.A. The reason for my trip was twofold. I was to have a meeting with my new business partner and friend regarding the company we just started. Also, I have 4 very old and dear buddies that I went to college with who live in Hollywood as well, and I hoped to combine a business trip with pleasure by reconnecting with them over cocktails. This was to be a very special occasion for both myself and my old pals as none of us had seen each other in many years. After college I went away to law school while they moved off to the west coast to chase dreams, and now that we've all become successful in those pursuits we were eager to sit around and swap our respective stories and I'd hoped to provide the hosting location via what I thought would be a swanky hotel with an atmosphere that the entire group could appreciate. To give you an idea of the group's make-up, I'll just say that two of my friends are now working for two of the major broadcast networks in executive positions where they work in the production of two different prime time TV shows, and the rest are successfully established in the music business, so all of us had tons of exciting stories to tell and were excited to get together for the purpose of doing so. Consequently, I was looking for a hotel that could offer us a hip, centrally located spot to meet/eat/drink. I also wanted to stay somewhere that had tons of amenities, gorgeous architecture, and a rich history. I must admit that if these were the only criteria that mattered, The Roosevelt would've certainly more than fit the bill. Ironically, all of us had plenty of money to spend on expensive food and beverage service which is exactly what I was in the market for, but sadly the behavior of the Roosevelt's staff forced us to spend it elsewhere. In general the employees at The Roosevelt were so unbelievably rude, unhelpful, and inexplicably conceited that their lack of professionalism and total absence of anything approaching hospitable service, ended up rendering the property basically unusable as anything more than a place for me to sleep at night. Considering my experience, if I had it to do over I'd have taken up one of the many offers to stay in a friend's guest room in lieu of ever entering this hotel. Typically I am the kind of person who is uncomfortable with such an imposition even with close friends and family, but that kind of experience would have been far more comfortable than any of the time I spent on The Roosevelt's property. I was surprised to find that after ten p.m. (and often during the day as well), there was no way possible to ingress or egress from my particular room without encountering a rude, snarky, and accusatory member of the hotel security staff. Security at The Roosevelt, apparently, consists of well-dressed gentlemen with secret-service-style earpieces whose job it is to interrogate guests as to where they are going each time they leave or return to their rooms while simultaneously making sure they don't feel comfortable anywhere near the pool bar area. The first day I was there, after checking in and going out to have some dinner, I returned to the hotel with 3 friends. Our plan was to stop by my room to drop some things off, then we were going to head to the bar at the pool for a bit. Unfortunately, our plans changed after the glorified hall monitor on duty insisted that he search each of the bags that each of us were carrying as if we were common criminals attempting to smuggle narcotics through customs or something. He explained to me, after finding a single bottle of alcohol that I had purchased on our way back, that the hotel had a policy against "outside alcohol", and that this was "typical policy at most hotels". Having previously managed an oceanfront resort, I found that information surprising, but I totally complied without so much as politely que...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My Advice To You
New York, NY
Jan 20, 2010

Somebody Take Care Of The Rooms!

While I loved staying in the middle of Hollywood, I was very disappointed with the Roosevelt Hotel. The furniture in my upgraded "suite" was falling apart and the iPod dock clock radio was completely out of commission. If I'm paying a premium rate for a room I expect a premium experience, this was not the case. Look to The Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tornto Canada
Dec 12, 2010

Renovate your heating system

Concierge Service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tornto Canada
Dec 12, 2010

Renovate your heating system

Concierge Service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My Advice To You
New York, NY
Jan 20, 2010

Somebody Take Care Of The Rooms!

While I loved staying in the middle of Hollywood, I was very disappointed with the Roosevelt Hotel. The furniture in my upgraded "suite" was falling apart and the iPod dock clock radio was completely out of commission. If I'm paying a premium rate for a room I expect a premium experience, this was not the case. Look to The Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC
Dec 10, 2007

Location/Location/Location

Perfect location for attending movie premieres at Grauman's Chinese Theatre and exploring Hollywood Blvd. Hotel staff are friendly and accommodating, and housekeeping staff greet you by name (even fold your clothes for you if you've left them laying on the bed). Upon checking in I asked for a quiet room as I'm a light sleeper, and front desk kindly upgraded me to a Superior Queen room, which gives you about an extra six feet of space--would have hated to see how small the other rooms were. Several large celebrity type magazines are in the room (very nice). While the first night was mostly quiet, the next two were not--lots of private events are held on the first and second floors of the hotel and you not only only hear the loud music, but the floor was even vibrating one night. Beds are very comfortable, lots of pillows and a quilt. Bathroom is small, but adequate with thick towels. Ice is delivered in late-afternoon by housekeeping (nice touch). TV is old and needs to be replaced. However, twice I asked that the showerhead and bathtub drain be fixed (shower needed new washer, water spraying all over tile, and the bathtub was draining very slowly). I left a note with the front desk and second time alerted them verbally and nothing was ever done. Didn't find out until my last day that there are two laptops and a printer for guests' use on the other side of the check-in area (this is not in their hotel info binder in the rooms), so I didn't waste time reading my e-mail. My friend was staying on the 12th floor in a suite, and she had a couple of bathrobes (however, her carpet was stained, as was mine, furniture fabric was fraying here and there, but she had two large flat-screen TVs). Both of us said that the hotel needs to replace carpets where stained and replace/reupholster furniture for the prices they are charging. I would stay here again as the location is perfect and safe, hotel staff are friendly (even if you are not a VIP/celebrity--plenty of industry people staying at hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hollywood & Highland shopping centre right across the street (next to Grauman's Chinese Theatre), DSW Shoes one block down Hollywood Blvd. as well as a 24-hour Longs Drugstore. Off-Broadway Shoes is two blocks to the south on Sunset (next to the IHOP). Mel's Diner is one block to the east, great for breakfast.

Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC
Dec 10, 2007

Location/Location/Location

Perfect location for attending movie premieres at Grauman's Chinese Theatre and exploring Hollywood Blvd. Hotel staff are friendly and accommodating, and housekeeping staff greet you by name (even fold your clothes for you if you've left them laying on the bed). Upon checking in I asked for a quiet room as I'm a light sleeper, and front desk kindly upgraded me to a Superior Queen room, which gives you about an extra six feet of space--would have hated to see how small the other rooms were. Several large celebrity type magazines are in the room (very nice). While the first night was mostly quiet, the next two were not--lots of private events are held on the first and second floors of the hotel and you not only only hear the loud music, but the floor was even vibrating one night. Beds are very comfortable, lots of pillows and a quilt. Bathroom is small, but adequate with thick towels. Ice is delivered in late-afternoon by housekeeping (nice touch). TV is old and needs to be replaced. However, twice I asked that the showerhead and bathtub drain be fixed (shower needed new washer, water spraying all over tile, and the bathtub was draining very slowly). I left a note with the front desk and second time alerted them verbally and nothing was ever done. Didn't find out until my last day that there are two laptops and a printer for guests' use on the other side of the check-in area (this is not in their hotel info binder in the rooms), so I didn't waste time reading my e-mail. My friend was staying on the 12th floor in a suite, and she had a couple of bathrobes (however, her carpet was stained, as was mine, furniture fabric was fraying here and there, but she had two large flat-screen TVs). Both of us said that the hotel needs to replace carpets where stained and replace/reupholster furniture for the prices they are charging. I would stay here again as the location is perfect and safe, hotel staff are friendly (even if you are not a VIP/celebrity--plenty of industry people staying at hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hollywood & Highland shopping centre right across the street (next to Grauman's Chinese Theatre), DSW Shoes one block down Hollywood Blvd. as well as a 24-hour Longs Drugstore. Off-Broadway Shoes is two blocks to the south on Sunset (next to the IHOP). Mel's Diner is one block to the east, great for breakfast.

Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Apr 16, 2011

Roosevelt

Beautiful hotel with great dining options. Rooms a decent size - only disappointing part of the visit was my first room was obviously close to the club as from 11 pm I could here music thumping; changing rooms took over an hour (which seemed like forever as I was very tired) and the next room they gave me stank of smoke so I had to move again (hence the 3 stars rather than 4). No business center. Great pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gfv3377
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 2, 2012

not so good

Booked poolside cabana for day after oscars. Got VIP access to tearing down scafolding, clanging metal and cleaning up after large mess. Wish hotels would warn of such "inconveniences" at time of reservation and booking. Also, large decorative light bulbs throughout room make loud buzzing noises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top