$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

4 stars
7000 Hollywood Blvd., Hollywood, CA 90028
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
231 reviews
Great!

I had an amazing experience! Wish I could return for Fourth of July weekend, but everything is... See full review

  • DaisyAI
  • Jul 2, 2014
Great stay

I always love the ambiance of the hotel and location. See full review

  • Klisa
  • Nov 25, 2013
Ultra-stylish classic landmark near Hollywood shopping and sights

This Spanish Colonial dazzler has been a fixture in the Hollywood social scene since it opened in 1927. The chic, sexy and sophisticated Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel evokes old-world Hollywood glamour while keeping apace with modern design, luxury and state-of the-art facilities. Renovated by acclaimed L.A. designer Dodd Mitchell, the hotel's luster has been restored and it is now again an A-list destination for the see-and-be-seen crowd.

Highlights
  • Historic, heart-of-Hollywood location puts major Tinseltown sightseeing, shopping and nightlife destinations within easy reach
  • Renovated rooms designed by acclaimed L.A. designer Dodd Mitchell
  • Junior Olympic-size heated swimming pool and fitness center
Rooms

Expect sleek, sophisticated design elements with modernist furnishings and prints of pop-culture icons adorning the walls of the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel. Guests can choose from among 300 standard rooms, studio suites and cabana suites, which are located just off the famed Tropicana Pool. All rooms come with king or queen beds, and each features plush Sferra bed and bath linens, Bigelow bath products and Dean & Deluca pantry offerings. Rooms also boast stunning views of the city and Hollywood Hills.

Features

With a heritage that includes various Hollywood luminaries, the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel emanates vintage Hollywood history and charm, now touched up with a modern, masterful re-design. Dining options including the fresh eclectic American cuisine at Public Kitchen and Bar and award-winning burgers at the hip 24-hour burger-and-bar eatery 25 Degrees. For cocktails, head to the hotel's Library Bar, Teddy's Nightclub, Spare Room adult speakeasy lounge (featuring vintage games and bowling alley) or Tropicana Poolside Bar. Guests can enjoy a junior Olympic-size heated pool and 24-hour fitness center, massage garden, and 24 -hour concierge and room service.

Transportation
  • Hollywood & Highland Metro Station (2 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (14 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (8 miles)
Attractions
  • Hollywood Walk of Fame (same block)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater, Disney's El Capitan Theater, Pantages Theater and Egyptian Theater (walking distance)
  • Kodak Theater (1 block)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (3 mi/5 km)
  • Paramount Studios, Universal Studios & Universal City Walk, Warner Bros. (3 mi/5 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (3 mi/5 km)
  • Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive (4.5 mi/7 km)
  • Getty Museum (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
  • Santa Monica Beach & Third Street Promenade (12 mi/19 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Historic, beautifully restored meeting rooms include The Blossom Room, The Academy Room, Toledo Board Room and Parlor and The Gable-Lombard Penthouse, featuring a private terrace underneath the iconic Roosevelt sign
  • Tropicana Bar & Pool area offers a chic, elegant venue for A-list Hollywood events
Policies and fees
  • Pets are not allowed in Cabana Rooms or Floors 11 and 12. 
  • Non-refundable cleaning fee is $100, good for 7 days.
  • Valet parking is available for $36 per night.
  • NOTICE: The pool is closed until 1 April due to maintenance.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.1012 -118.3418
Area served
Hollywood, Los Angeles, West Hollywood, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles (LAX)14 miles Burbank (BUR)8 miles
Area description
Located in the heart of Hollywood's Entertainment District, on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Directly opposite the famous Grauman's Chinese Theater and Oscar's new home, the Kodak Theater. Within blocks of Disney's El Capitan Theater and Egyptian Theater. Television giants NBC, ABC, and CBS, as well as most of the major movie studios are all within 15 minutes of the hotel. Also, within walking distance to numerous theaters, restaurants, and other attractions easily accessible from the Metro station located across the street at Hollywood and Highland.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King Room
One king with 400 square feet, wireless Internet access, Cable TV with pay movies, Ipod docking station,CD player, Coffeemaker, Minibar, Keihl's bath amenities.
Cabana Room with Garden View
One king bed with Garden view, 350 square feet, wireless Internet access, Bathrobes, Cable TV with pay movies, Ipod docking station, CD player, Coffeemaker, Minibar, Keihl's bath amenities.
Studio Suite
One king bed with 487 to 584 square feet, Small sitting area, wireless Internet access, Bathrobes, Cable TV with pay movies, Ipod docking station, CD player, Coffeemaker, Minibar, Keihl's bath amenities.
Standard Queen Room
One queen bed with 350 square feet, wireless Internet access, Cable TV with pay movies,Ipod docking station, CD player, Coffeemaker, Minibar, Keihl's bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios: 2.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Event & Private Dining Facilities: Fine cuisine and specialty menus created by our award-winning chef serviced by our in-house catering and banquet team.

Blossom Ballroom: Site of the first Academy Awards, with its 25 foot high, handcrafted ceiling this 4400 square feet space can accommodate up to 500 standing, 300 seated.

Oscar Room: The 3000 square foot space can accommodate 300 standing, 180 seated.

Historic Lobby: This impressive venue with its Spanish architecture is ideal for receptions up to 400 people and wedding services.

Academy: Former library of the hotel and meeting place of the Academy seats approximately 175 guests in its 2500 square feet of beautiful appointed space.

Conference Facilities: Additionally, our 4 break out rooms can comfortably accommodate 15-40 guests.

Wedding Services: Complete wedding services are available.

Dining

25 Degrees
Stylish version of the classic Burger Bar, with Leather banquets, dark wood tables and 4 flat screen TV's and will feature "The Works"; Jones sodas, milk shakes and half bottles of wine. Open 24 hours, 7 days a week.
Tropicana
Wrapping around the hotel's historic David Hockney pool, Tropicana has become an oasis by day and by night is transformed into a sultry lounge, making Tropicana the ultimate sexy Hollywood Hideaway. Serving food & drinks from 11:00am
Teddy's
An exclusive bottle service nightclub located off the Historic Lobby
Library Bar
Loacted in the Historic Lobby. The Library Bar offers a comfortable, low key place to enjoy a cocktail and appetizers. Nightly from 5:30pm to 2:00am
Public Kitchen and Bar
Features a menu of eclectic American fare from Executive Chef Tim Goodell. The re imagined dining hall features loft inspired design which provides a lighter, brighter space highlighted by butcher block tables, 1960s library chairs, and diamond-tufted banquettes. At the room's center, a three-sided, marble topped bar offers creative cocktails, a moderately priced 100 bottle wine list, beers by draft and bottle, and an assortment of cured meats and cheeses.
The Spare Room
The Spare Room is a modern day gaming parlour and cocktail lounge, situated on the mezzanine level of the hotel. The Spare Room features two vintage bowling lanes, custom and eclectic furnishings, and unique surfaces and textures which convey a handcrafted, timeless feel. The newest addition to the Roosevelts property provides unparalleled amenities to not only hotel guests, but is also a unique destination for Hollywood's architects of influence.
Beachers Madhouse
Beachers Madhouse is a revolutionary Vaudeville-inspired theater development within the iconic property of the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel. Beachers Madhouse features over a dozen variety acts nightly that push the boundaries of sexuality, entertainment, fantasy, and innocence. Acts include world-renowned burlesque dancers, midget impersonators, live animals, acrobats, contortionists, and fire-breathers. The venue extends 3,000 square feet, featuring a mirrored passageway, a 1920s inspired main stage, antique brass accents and red velvet curtains. VIP banquettes of various sizes are available throughout the theatre, including an exclusive birdcage booth with seating for 20.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kathy the roadwarrior
Sarasota, FL
Oct 16, 2009

Not As Good As Super 8

My husband and I traveled across I-10 from FL to CA & stayed at 3 B&B's, 2 Super 8's & the Roosevelt. THE WORST exp. was by far the Roosevelt, where we were told there were no reservations (staff blamed [...], or anyone else they could for the "error"), denied access to our vehicle and pointed to areas we wanted to see (the pool, the Marilyn mirror on 2nd floor, lounge). I was told that the confirmation that I printed would not do me any good, as I was trying to show it to the desk clerk to let her know that we did indeed have reservations. We prepaid for two weekend nights and one weekday night, excluding tips and parking, and the clerk handed us a charge summary which included the very day we were checking out, which we had already paid for but were told was not reserved for us. We asked to speak to a manager and were told that the manager was on the phone so we would have to wait.[...]the last evening, which is the Roosevelt's responsibility, is still not refunded to my credit card, and that was five days ago. Had we flown into CA to spend the entire stay there, our vacation would have been ruined. The stars of the show were the lowly bellhops, valets and housekeeping staff who were all gracious and helpful.Also, everything is charged....no complimentary coffee, water or parking. I'm surprised they don't charge for the toilet paper useage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the tours, as cruising through the town alone would have been a nightmare and the history of the area is entertaining.

Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport Beach, Ca.
Oct 3, 2010

Negative review of the Roosevelt

Very poor overall experience with the Hotel Staff to provide room that was contracted. No attempt was made to tell us of their inability to provide the contracted room, as if they were trying to do a bait and switch. Room was not the pool view as specified in the reservation and it was also next door to the restaurant. The room air conditioner was broken and the room was over 80 degrees at the time of our late check in. The night manager took no responsibility and we left without a word of regret from the staff. Bad, very BAD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 21, 2010

Not very happy

Web site was misleding on size of room. I needed to have space for meetings and had to upgrade at an additional $125per night to do so. There always seemed to be a party going on in the hallways and I had to listen to a flute player practice for quite some time one evening. Staff that led you away from activites in the lobby were not rude, but a bit forcefull. Made me feel like it was my fault the lobby was closed. Bathroom layout is poor and the old tub is very slippery. The glass partition is the only thing to try and catch yourself. I could understand the high parking price if your not a guest. Maintenace had to drill out the door in order to get me in my room. Then they had to come back and replace lockset. I was offered another room, but it was the small king that I had just upgraded from. I would have thought that after sitting in the hallway waiting for maintenance to let me in and then being distrubed again while they re-installed a new lockset that some form of compensation would have been offered...none was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kathy the roadwarrior
Sarasota, FL
Oct 16, 2009

Not As Good As Super 8

My husband and I traveled across I-10 from FL to CA & stayed at 3 B&B's, 2 Super 8's & the Roosevelt. THE WORST exp. was by far the Roosevelt, where we were told there were no reservations (staff blamed [...], or anyone else they could for the "error"), denied access to our vehicle and pointed to areas we wanted to see (the pool, the Marilyn mirror on 2nd floor, lounge). I was told that the confirmation that I printed would not do me any good, as I was trying to show it to the desk clerk to let her know that we did indeed have reservations. We prepaid for two weekend nights and one weekday night, excluding tips and parking, and the clerk handed us a charge summary which included the very day we were checking out, which we had already paid for but were told was not reserved for us. We asked to speak to a manager and were told that the manager was on the phone so we would have to wait.[...]the last evening, which is the Roosevelt's responsibility, is still not refunded to my credit card, and that was five days ago. Had we flown into CA to spend the entire stay there, our vacation would have been ruined. The stars of the show were the lowly bellhops, valets and housekeeping staff who were all gracious and helpful.Also, everything is charged....no complimentary coffee, water or parking. I'm surprised they don't charge for the toilet paper useage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the tours, as cruising through the town alone would have been a nightmare and the history of the area is entertaining.

Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disaster Vacationer
Charleston, SC
Apr 20, 2010

Nice Hotel Confounded by Horrible Staff

I am a married, adult law student in my mid 30s, and I stayed at The Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel on my recent trip to L.A. The reason for my trip was twofold. I was to have a meeting with my new business partner and friend regarding the company we just started. Also, I have 4 very old and dear buddies that I went to college with who live in Hollywood as well, and I hoped to combine a business trip with pleasure by reconnecting with them over cocktails. This was to be a very special occasion for both myself and my old pals as none of us had seen each other in many years. After college I went away to law school while they moved off to the west coast to chase dreams, and now that we've all become successful in those pursuits we were eager to sit around and swap our respective stories and I'd hoped to provide the hosting location via what I thought would be a swanky hotel with an atmosphere that the entire group could appreciate. To give you an idea of the group's make-up, I'll just say that two of my friends are now working for two of the major broadcast networks in executive positions where they work in the production of two different prime time TV shows, and the rest are successfully established in the music business, so all of us had tons of exciting stories to tell and were excited to get together for the purpose of doing so. Consequently, I was looking for a hotel that could offer us a hip, centrally located spot to meet/eat/drink. I also wanted to stay somewhere that had tons of amenities, gorgeous architecture, and a rich history. I must admit that if these were the only criteria that mattered, The Roosevelt would've certainly more than fit the bill. Ironically, all of us had plenty of money to spend on expensive food and beverage service which is exactly what I was in the market for, but sadly the behavior of the Roosevelt's staff forced us to spend it elsewhere. In general the employees at The Roosevelt were so unbelievably rude, unhelpful, and inexplicably conceited that their lack of professionalism and total absence of anything approaching hospitable service, ended up rendering the property basically unusable as anything more than a place for me to sleep at night. Considering my experience, if I had it to do over I'd have taken up one of the many offers to stay in a friend's guest room in lieu of ever entering this hotel. Typically I am the kind of person who is uncomfortable with such an imposition even with close friends and family, but that kind of experience would have been far more comfortable than any of the time I spent on The Roosevelt's property. I was surprised to find that after ten p.m. (and often during the day as well), there was no way possible to ingress or egress from my particular room without encountering a rude, snarky, and accusatory member of the hotel security staff. Security at The Roosevelt, apparently, consists of well-dressed gentlemen with secret-service-style earpieces whose job it is to interrogate guests as to where they are going each time they leave or return to their rooms while simultaneously making sure they don't feel comfortable anywhere near the pool bar area. The first day I was there, after checking in and going out to have some dinner, I returned to the hotel with 3 friends. Our plan was to stop by my room to drop some things off, then we were going to head to the bar at the pool for a bit. Unfortunately, our plans changed after the glorified hall monitor on duty insisted that he search each of the bags that each of us were carrying as if we were common criminals attempting to smuggle narcotics through customs or something. He explained to me, after finding a single bottle of alcohol that I had purchased on our way back, that the hotel had a policy against "outside alcohol", and that this was "typical policy at most hotels". Having previously managed an oceanfront resort, I found that information surprising, but I totally complied without so much as politely que...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GMartinez
California, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Worst Hotel

Rooms are small. Bathroom/Showers are small. Staff is not friendly. Can not sleep at night because it is too noisy, walls are paper thin. Horrible experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Debbie/Brenda
Portland Or
Jun 24, 2009

"Not as good as you would think"

1)several days after making the reservation through Orbitz, the hotel still didn't have the reservation -- corrected via a very long phone call to Orbitz 2)upon arrival the hotel put us in a room without a cabana -- the reservation was for "garden view" cabana. Initially they insisted the room we were had a cabana -- eventually they did put us in a "garden view" which was actually a street view, cabana room which had no acess to the pool. 3) the room had only one robe for 2 guests 4) the room had no coffee pot -- housekeeping delivered upon request and had to be asked a second time to bring cups 5) there is no ice available on the first floor (even though they say ice is on every floor) except when the pool bar is open 6) when we asked about a late checkout, we were told on the phone that for an additional $150.00 we could stay until 10 pm; when we checked in we were told that the $150 would only buy a 4 pm checkout 7)the noise from the room next door was quite loud all night and incuded loud music and an unbelievable number of banging doors, very unhappy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 21, 2010

Not very happy

Web site was misleding on size of room. I needed to have space for meetings and had to upgrade at an additional $125per night to do so. There always seemed to be a party going on in the hallways and I had to listen to a flute player practice for quite some time one evening. Staff that led you away from activites in the lobby were not rude, but a bit forcefull. Made me feel like it was my fault the lobby was closed. Bathroom layout is poor and the old tub is very slippery. The glass partition is the only thing to try and catch yourself. I could understand the high parking price if your not a guest. Maintenace had to drill out the door in order to get me in my room. Then they had to come back and replace lockset. I was offered another room, but it was the small king that I had just upgraded from. I would have thought that after sitting in the hallway waiting for maintenance to let me in and then being distrubed again while they re-installed a new lockset that some form of compensation would have been offered...none was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport Beach, Ca.
Oct 3, 2010

Negative review of the Roosevelt

Very poor overall experience with the Hotel Staff to provide room that was contracted. No attempt was made to tell us of their inability to provide the contracted room, as if they were trying to do a bait and switch. Room was not the pool view as specified in the reservation and it was also next door to the restaurant. The room air conditioner was broken and the room was over 80 degrees at the time of our late check in. The night manager took no responsibility and we left without a word of regret from the staff. Bad, very BAD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Debbie/Brenda
Portland Or
Jun 24, 2009

"Not as good as you would think"

1)several days after making the reservation through Orbitz, the hotel still didn't have the reservation -- corrected via a very long phone call to Orbitz 2)upon arrival the hotel put us in a room without a cabana -- the reservation was for "garden view" cabana. Initially they insisted the room we were had a cabana -- eventually they did put us in a "garden view" which was actually a street view, cabana room which had no acess to the pool. 3) the room had only one robe for 2 guests 4) the room had no coffee pot -- housekeeping delivered upon request and had to be asked a second time to bring cups 5) there is no ice available on the first floor (even though they say ice is on every floor) except when the pool bar is open 6) when we asked about a late checkout, we were told on the phone that for an additional $150.00 we could stay until 10 pm; when we checked in we were told that the $150 would only buy a 4 pm checkout 7)the noise from the room next door was quite loud all night and incuded loud music and an unbelievable number of banging doors, very unhappy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top