Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

2 stars
View map of 7023 Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, CA 90028

Hotel Overview

3.3/5

Overall score

76%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7
Welcome to the Days Inn Hollywood, CA. We are conveniently located on Sunset Blvd off Hwy 101. We are in close proximity to all major Hollywood attractions - Hollywood Walk of Fame, Pantages Theater, Graumans Chinese Theater, Hollywood Bowl, etc. Our property is a short driving distance from Beverly Hills, Los Angeles, Santa Monica, and beach areas. Served daily is our Complimentary Daybreak Deluxe Breakfast which includes hot and cold cereals, bagels, toast, danish along with fruit juices, milk, coffee, and fresh fruits. Whether on business or pleasure our hotel offers something for everyone. Wireless high speed internet, flat-panel 32-inch TVs, outdoor pool, complimentary USA Today newspaper, rooms with balconies, microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. Our hotel surrounds a beautifully decorated sitting area and pool. We are a 100 percent non-smoking hotel. Parking fee is 10 USD tax inclusive per day per vehicle. Maximum vehicle clearance of 6ft 6in. 48-hour 4pm cancellation policy. Sorry, no pets allowed. We require a security deposit of 100 dollars per room for paying cash guest or credit card upon check-in.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

34.0984 -118.3422
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big John
Business
UK
May 28, 2012

A good budget hotel

This hotels best feature is its location, 10 minute walk to Hollywood Boulevard. Plenty of reasonable restaurants locally. Most tours companies will pick you up, so no need to use public transport or taxis. Ideal for short break, but not for a long stay. Overall a good value, budget hotel, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

You don't need a starter ! Portion size is very big.! You nearly always get more than you expected.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sir mark
Business
harrisburg
May 26, 2012

Fun Fun Fun

The break bar is great and the staff was super friendly and helpful close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doyle the entrepreneur
Business
Clovis, Ca
May 25, 2012

Last Minute Get Away

We need a place to stay at the 24th hour. The hotel is located on the strip and close to many ammenities. The rooms are very small, but the bed is one of the most comfortable I slept on in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the middle of all the action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYdavid
Business
Yonkers, NY
May 16, 2012

You get what you pay for.

I've stayed at this hotel twice, once in October 2009 (3 nights) and the other in October 2011. (5 nights). Area around hotel: If you're a tourist on a budget, or just need a place to crash for the night, this is the place to stay. Very close to the Hollywood walk of fame. There's a Target down La Brea, a CVS on Hollywood Blvd and two Ralphs Supermarkets in the area too When venturing out for a walk , you will find an abundance of homeless people in every direction. I am from New York and see homeless people all the time, but even I felt uncomfortable with the amount of homeless people in the intersection of Sunset and La Brea. The side streets in the area seem questionable so do not walk alone, especially at night! The hotel rooms: When I first stayed in October 2009 I chose the cheapest room available which comes with a queen sized bed. DO NOT BOOK THAT ROOM! Room is very VERY SMALL and the window faces the hallway, not the actual outside. I was very upset upon discovering this and went to the front desk to see if I could change rooms but they said they were completely booked and because I had booked through an online travel site and not through them directly. So I had to deal with my shoe-box sized hotel room and learn from my mistakes. October 2011: We booked the room with a King sized bed and a pool view. Very nice sized room, comfy bed and pillows, and nice view of the outside pool and palm trees on sunset blvd. This particular room has a balcony but we did not use it. Never got to see the breakfast because we woke up too late everyday, the elevator in this hotel is extremely SMALL. The parking is adequate and I didn't mind the daily fee compared to other hotel parking fees in the area. The garage gets PACKED so if you return to the hotel late after the club you will get stuck with an awful parking spot that may be difficult to park in. Overall OK experiences with this hotel, would recommend to someone who's on a budget and wants to be walking distance to all the touristy attractions. OK for young / older couples, groups of friends. would NOT recommend to a large family or family with younger, ( under 12 ) children. (15 min drive to the gay bars and clubs around santa monica blvd and san vicente blvd.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In-n-out burger, ihop, subway, pollo loco, burger king, 7 Eleven, and starbucks are all literally footsteps outside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mlbed
Business
ri
Apr 25, 2012

good experience

We were looking for a clean hotel with great location and that's what we found here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Laugh factory was great experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PinkPerson
Business
Nova Scotia, Canada
Apr 13, 2012

Basic Hotel

This is a very basic hotel but well situated near Hollywood, stores and restaurants. The carpets were old & stained and the elevator was ancient and so small I couldn't fit my brother's wheelchair in unless we removed the legs from the chair. The handicap entrance was down (& up again) a steep hill to the underground parking lot, an important fact that was not revealed to me upon booking. The breakfast was basic but good. I had to carry it upstairs though as there was no wheelchair entrance to the breakfast area. The worst part was that the bathroom door was too narrow for the wheelchair to pass through so my brother had to either use a urinal or I had to wheel him up that steep driveway and over to the Burger King down the street to use their public washroom. Technically, this hotel can say they are accessible but they really are not at all. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. The pool area looked very nice though I didn't have a chance to use it. The best part about this hotel would be location. However, due to my "accessible" needs, I would choose the Comfort Inn next door next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ross Dress for Less and Off Broadway shoes across the street. Target & Best Buy 10-12 min walk. Hollywood Blvd 6 min walk. Universal Studios 1 subway stop away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason chan
Business
singapore
Apr 9, 2012

A retreat for a newly we'd couple

A very decent hotel that gives bang for the buck. I am a no frills person. So long the hotel is clean, everything else is secondary. The location of the hotel is great. Good for those without vehicles. A comfy and value hotel for those on a tighter budget. Thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaityH
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Good Value

It has a perfect location with walking distance to the Kodak Theater, the Hollywood walk of fame, Melrose Ave, Hollywood high school and many more. I depended on public transportation. I spent 5 dollars for a day pass and it got me anywhere I wanted in the city, including Universal Studios and outlying cities, like Burbank. So, definitely no need to spend 8 dollars a day for car parking at the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was nice and had good options. I got a great deal here on this site, where I spent less than 100 per night. Which is what I would expect from this hotel. The hotel is pretty clean, it just needs updated bedding and decor. It has those old itchy comforters, but I just threw those off the bed. Definitely a place to keep in mind if you can find a good deal on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GaryC
Business
Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Needs Improvement

I stayed 4 days and 2 of them I had no hot water or luke warm water. TV was not programmed when I arrived(but the staff did take care of this when I called). Lobby was nice but the rest of the Hotel was outdated with worn or dirty carpet, and old fixtures. Room very small. I never stayed at a Hotel where you could not see outside. The window looked into the hallway,,,,very odd. Homeless person stayed in front of the building all 4 days!!?? No one asked him to leave. Also no way to get to the front desk from the street without going up stairs. Overall I was dissappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCconstantTraveler
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Great Hollywood Location, NOT THRILLS

The place is great if you just need a place to crash. We didnt spend much time at the hotel and just needed something affordable while we are in the area for 2 days. Bed was not comfortable and the pool looked pretty gross. However the room was clean, nice/descent lobby, and free cereal/bagels for breakfast. Just an OK hotel for not a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top