$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

2 stars
View map of 7023 Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, CA 90028

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BevP
Essex, England
Aug 19, 2013

Perfect for my stay.

My first impression of the hotel was, this will do me! I had a large room with kingside bed. Both the room and bathroom were clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and the location just prefect for the walk of fame/Hollywood tourist spots, from which it was very easy to take the metro /bus to different parts of the city. I was travelling on my own and felt fine walking up and back from the main road - although perhaps the latest I did this was only 8:30pm. I also felt safe and secure in the hotel. The breakfast in the morning is simple but a good start to the day. I am easily pleased and so any issues were minor to me, but I can see why others might complain more if inclined that way. The TV reception was not great. I did ask for it to be looked at and the service to do so was prompt and as helpful as he could be. It was obviously an ongoing cable problem. Also the walls were very thin which would not have been a problem either until an obnoxious man checked in to the room next door and found it important to have a very loud conversation with a friend at all hours of the day and decided to tap a tune on the wall early in the morning. This was not the hotels fault though, but the inconsideration of others. All in all I personally enjoyed my stay and would recommend to those on a budget as a very good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

As I was without a car, I did go for the hop on hop off bus tour. This got me to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive, Santa Monica beach and then Downtown (over 48hours). Easy way to get to all the places you want to go.

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikeru
Business
Brick nj
Jul 7, 2013

Days inn

Pool area very good room small but clean excellent location on sunset blvd service good in and out burger next store would like to buy stock in that place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent sports bar across street called happy endings

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Cali Trip
Business
Maine
Jun 17, 2013

Wonderful place to stay!

This hotel was a great place to stay on our first trip to LA. The location was great and the staff was amazing! My husband and I decided when we go back this is where we will be staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brieee
Business
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Jun 14, 2013

Pure Gem in the Heart of Hollywood

I was hesitant to stay here at first after reading some reviews but I decided I had to check it out for myself and I'm so glad I did. I stayed here for 6 nights and this hotel was very clean, safe, quiet and extremely comfortable. Equipped with air conditioning, a clean pool, free breakfast and the softest pillows ever. The staff was very nice and accomodating. Hollywood Blvd is just a short walk away which makes this cheap but nice hotel a pure gem ! I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hollywood Blvd is around the block near stores such as forever21, H&M, American Eagle and an American Apparel. There's also an outdoor mall if those stores don't suffice. There's also a big selection of souvenir shops and tattoo shops such as Oliver Pecks True Tattoo and Kat Von Ds High Voltage in the area. There's also a lot of cheap dining in the area from franchises to bars but nothing fancy.

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Front desk i am staying h
Business
Darien, IL
Jun 6, 2013

The best location and value. The staff needs some work though

Not very far from anything a little walk to Hollywood Blvd. Bus transit and Metro train near by too. Three restaurants nearby walking distance. (In-and- out Burger, Hollywood Happy Endings, and Ihop) These resturunts are basically on top of the Days Inn, so after site seeing and enjoying all the things awesome about California you do not hato go far to get some food. Breakfast is served at Days Inn bagels, toast, danishes, cold cereals, hot oatmeal, juice, coffee and condiments for all, also. My only complaint was is the last two days that I was there. A women behind the front desk told me I was not a guess there in front of customers and I told her I was a guess and gave her my room number. The next day she did the same thing this time it was in the breakfast bar and she had hotel staff confront me, told me I am not a guest here. Then when I left the breakfastbar this woman told me that if Icome back again tomorrow this will be handled differently. I told her again I am a guest here, she told I was not. I told her my room number again and I had been there since last week already and I was checking out today. She told me someone else was staying in that room, why have I not seen you then before, and she asked for my key I gave it to her and she scanned my key and my room number came up the one I told her. When I went back to my room my key was having problems. What made me upset was, is that the employee that confrontede me in the breakfast bar was on the other side of the secured door and I was having problems with my key I did get in after a few attempts, was upset at this point. I am still hurt after being told your not a guests and stayed Wed to Wed. The rest of the staff was nice. Travel tip: There are less fortunate and peddler's on the streets around the hotel but the are every where in Hollywood. The homeless tend to be nice if you do not give them anything it is OK. The peddler's do not take anything they are always selling and if it get caught in your hand just give it back to them if you do not want to pay for it and they are most of the time good about it. I went by myself everyone's experience my be different. If I stay at this place again I will make sure that I go to the front desk every day when I leave and come back so they know I am staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hollywood walk a fame has all the deals and attractions I recommend Citypass Hollywood also talk with the places you want to see. I saw three places for a discounted price.

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hollywood Loved it
Business
Alexandria, VA
Mar 16, 2013

Hollywood! In your backyard

If you want to explore hollywood this is the place to stay! right next to the VERY popular In-n-Out burger and steps away from the chicken restaurant that Brad Pitt worked at on Sunset Boulevard. Don't like a lite breakfast? there's an IHOP across the street. Others called it noisey, it wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be. We loved our vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping center at Hollywood and Fairfax is awesome, with a balcony view of the Hollywood sign!

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff's visit
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 26, 2013

pleasent stay

The staff at the hotel are very nice and helpful. Free breakfast in the morning was hot coffee, juices, milk, bread, bagel, cream cheese spread, bagged pastries, bagged oatmeal, apple, orange, banana, Good underground parking for $8 per day. Located next to IN and OUT Burger and lot of places to eat. New remodeled bathroom. Nice shower. A room with two full beds seemed a little small to me. Location is the reason I picked this hotel, only 2 to 3 blocks from Hollywood Boulevard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kcnsd
Business
San Diego
Jan 4, 2013

If you have to

Location is not bad, walking distance to Hollywood Blvd. But the room had that old hotel smell, hair dryer didn't work and someone had to be called up to turn on the air conditioner because the room did not have the required remote and the control panel was ridiculously confusing. FYI - the date of my stay was January 2013 but 4 days into the new year and 2013 is not an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are vegan, vegetarian or just like healthy food I would highly recommend The Veggie Grill. There are several locations. Even my omnivore travel companion loved it.

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
camillio
Business
kelowna BC
Oct 2, 2012

perfect place for a quick hollywood visit

everything was great. don't use the phone unless you want to be charged!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
l burgess
Business
uk
Sep 3, 2012

great location

it is about a 5 min walk away from the Chinese theatre and the best bits of Hollywood Blvd. It has an in n out and burger king next to it and a laundrette around the corner. There are tons of restaurants close. The hotel itself provides free breakfast (toast,cereal, banana). Our room was a bit old and smelly, and looked ouy across a corridor so we had to keep our curtains shut. It was a little noisey depending on who else was staying. It had the bonus of a microwave and fridge which saved us a ton of money. The staff are friendly. The parking is underground and barriered so safe but there is the daily fee. It is quite expensive for what it is, but you are paying for the locaton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on and off tour buses....the 48hr ticket and use it to get to and from the beach, studios, universal etc...so much less stressful than trying to drive in the crazy la traffic

Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2 unhappy travelers
Business
mesa, arizona
Aug 28, 2012

Our little CA getaway

When we checked in the lobby was nice...clean..ok...front desk person not so friendly..gave us alot info..asked if that info would be in the room to refer to (like most hotels) she said yes. There was no info in room re: breakfast times, check out, where vending machines etc. Room smelled like they were trying to cover up something..not sure what..not pleasant and not clean smelling..shower curtain torn, shower soap dish looked like there was mold in it..towel rack broken and the bathroom door wouldnt shut... our window was left open a bit no screen and if we hadn't noticed..anyone could have gotten in our room as it was next to the hall walk way. called the front desk..sent a gentleman who was nice enough but couldn't speak much english but did figure out how the window locked. we turned on the AC (located in the ceiling) to cool room down some and went out for the evening. Came back and the AC was dripping condensation on the floor,carpet wet... placed a towel and trash can to catch the drips there for the evening. Carpet on bare feet felt nasty so layed down another towel towards bathroom so wouldn't have to walk on the carpet. the guest next to us were very loud talking, slamming their door many times till early morning. We finally fell asleep from having gotten up early and driving most of the day to get to CA. We got up the next morning went to breakfast and it was less than satisfactory. We did not even shower we packed up and checked out....Thank goodness it was only one night. We wouldn't even give it a star but was reguired!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top