Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

2 stars
7023 Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, CA 90028
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
99 reviews
Family vacation

Perfect location to all the areas we wanted to see See full review

  • iretha
  • Sep 9, 2014
Excellent

When i got to the hotel it was early andcheck in wasnt until 3pm. Beverly the front desk clerk was... See full review

  • Roz the travel lover
  • Jan 20, 2014
Welcome to the Days Inn Hollywood, CA. We are conveniently located on Sunset Blvd off Hwy 101. We are in close proximity to all major Hollywood attractions - Hollywood Walk of Fame, Pantages Theater, Graumans Chinese Theater, Hollywood Bowl, etc. Our property is a short driving distance from Beverly Hills, Los Angeles, Santa Monica, and beach areas. Served daily is our Complimentary Daybreak Deluxe Breakfast which includes hot and cold cereals, bagels, toast, danish along with fruit juices, milk, coffee, and fresh fruits. Whether on business or pleasure our hotel offers something for everyone. Wireless high speed internet, flat-panel 32-inch TVs, outdoor pool, complimentary USA Today newspaper, rooms with balconies, microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. Our hotel surrounds a beautifully decorated sitting area and pool. We are a 100 percent non-smoking hotel. Parking fee is 10 USD tax inclusive per day per vehicle. Maximum vehicle clearance of 6ft 6in. 48-hour 4pm cancellation policy. Sorry, no pets allowed. We require a security deposit of 100 dollars per room for paying cash guest or credit card upon check-in.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

34.0984 -118.3422
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Front desk i am staying h
Business
Darien, IL
Jun 6, 2013

The best location and value. The staff needs some work though

Not very far from anything a little walk to Hollywood Blvd. Bus transit and Metro train near by too. Three restaurants nearby walking distance. (In-and- out Burger, Hollywood Happy Endings, and Ihop) These resturunts are basically on top of the Days Inn, so after site seeing and enjoying all the things awesome about California you do not hato go far to get some food. Breakfast is served at Days Inn bagels, toast, danishes, cold cereals, hot oatmeal, juice, coffee and condiments for all, also. My only complaint was is the last two days that I was there. A women behind the front desk told me I was not a guess there in front of customers and I told her I was a guess and gave her my room number. The next day she did the same thing this time it was in the breakfast bar and she had hotel staff confront me, told me I am not a guest here. Then when I left the breakfastbar this woman told me that if Icome back again tomorrow this will be handled differently. I told her again I am a guest here, she told I was not. I told her my room number again and I had been there since last week already and I was checking out today. She told me someone else was staying in that room, why have I not seen you then before, and she asked for my key I gave it to her and she scanned my key and my room number came up the one I told her. When I went back to my room my key was having problems. What made me upset was, is that the employee that confrontede me in the breakfast bar was on the other side of the secured door and I was having problems with my key I did get in after a few attempts, was upset at this point. I am still hurt after being told your not a guests and stayed Wed to Wed. The rest of the staff was nice. Travel tip: There are less fortunate and peddler's on the streets around the hotel but the are every where in Hollywood. The homeless tend to be nice if you do not give them anything it is OK. The peddler's do not take anything they are always selling and if it get caught in your hand just give it back to them if you do not want to pay for it and they are most of the time good about it. I went by myself everyone's experience my be different. If I stay at this place again I will make sure that I go to the front desk every day when I leave and come back so they know I am staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hollywood walk a fame has all the deals and attractions I recommend Citypass Hollywood also talk with the places you want to see. I saw three places for a discounted price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hollywood Loved it
Business
Alexandria, VA
Mar 16, 2013

Hollywood! In your backyard

If you want to explore hollywood this is the place to stay! right next to the VERY popular In-n-Out burger and steps away from the chicken restaurant that Brad Pitt worked at on Sunset Boulevard. Don't like a lite breakfast? there's an IHOP across the street. Others called it noisey, it wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be. We loved our vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping center at Hollywood and Fairfax is awesome, with a balcony view of the Hollywood sign!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff's visit
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 26, 2013

pleasent stay

The staff at the hotel are very nice and helpful. Free breakfast in the morning was hot coffee, juices, milk, bread, bagel, cream cheese spread, bagged pastries, bagged oatmeal, apple, orange, banana, Good underground parking for $8 per day. Located next to IN and OUT Burger and lot of places to eat. New remodeled bathroom. Nice shower. A room with two full beds seemed a little small to me. Location is the reason I picked this hotel, only 2 to 3 blocks from Hollywood Boulevard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kcnsd
Business
San Diego
Jan 4, 2013

If you have to

Location is not bad, walking distance to Hollywood Blvd. But the room had that old hotel smell, hair dryer didn't work and someone had to be called up to turn on the air conditioner because the room did not have the required remote and the control panel was ridiculously confusing. FYI - the date of my stay was January 2013 but 4 days into the new year and 2013 is not an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are vegan, vegetarian or just like healthy food I would highly recommend The Veggie Grill. There are several locations. Even my omnivore travel companion loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
camillio
Business
kelowna BC
Oct 2, 2012

perfect place for a quick hollywood visit

everything was great. don't use the phone unless you want to be charged!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
l burgess
Business
uk
Sep 3, 2012

great location

it is about a 5 min walk away from the Chinese theatre and the best bits of Hollywood Blvd. It has an in n out and burger king next to it and a laundrette around the corner. There are tons of restaurants close. The hotel itself provides free breakfast (toast,cereal, banana). Our room was a bit old and smelly, and looked ouy across a corridor so we had to keep our curtains shut. It was a little noisey depending on who else was staying. It had the bonus of a microwave and fridge which saved us a ton of money. The staff are friendly. The parking is underground and barriered so safe but there is the daily fee. It is quite expensive for what it is, but you are paying for the locaton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on and off tour buses....the 48hr ticket and use it to get to and from the beach, studios, universal etc...so much less stressful than trying to drive in the crazy la traffic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2 unhappy travelers
Business
mesa, arizona
Aug 28, 2012

Our little CA getaway

When we checked in the lobby was nice...clean..ok...front desk person not so friendly..gave us alot info..asked if that info would be in the room to refer to (like most hotels) she said yes. There was no info in room re: breakfast times, check out, where vending machines etc. Room smelled like they were trying to cover up something..not sure what..not pleasant and not clean smelling..shower curtain torn, shower soap dish looked like there was mold in it..towel rack broken and the bathroom door wouldnt shut... our window was left open a bit no screen and if we hadn't noticed..anyone could have gotten in our room as it was next to the hall walk way. called the front desk..sent a gentleman who was nice enough but couldn't speak much english but did figure out how the window locked. we turned on the AC (located in the ceiling) to cool room down some and went out for the evening. Came back and the AC was dripping condensation on the floor,carpet wet... placed a towel and trash can to catch the drips there for the evening. Carpet on bare feet felt nasty so layed down another towel towards bathroom so wouldn't have to walk on the carpet. the guest next to us were very loud talking, slamming their door many times till early morning. We finally fell asleep from having gotten up early and driving most of the day to get to CA. We got up the next morning went to breakfast and it was less than satisfactory. We did not even shower we packed up and checked out....Thank goodness it was only one night. We wouldn't even give it a star but was reguired!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big John
Business
UK
May 28, 2012

A good budget hotel

This hotels best feature is its location, 10 minute walk to Hollywood Boulevard. Plenty of reasonable restaurants locally. Most tours companies will pick you up, so no need to use public transport or taxis. Ideal for short break, but not for a long stay. Overall a good value, budget hotel, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

You don't need a starter ! Portion size is very big.! You nearly always get more than you expected.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sir mark
Business
harrisburg
May 26, 2012

Fun Fun Fun

The break bar is great and the staff was super friendly and helpful close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doyle the entrepreneur
Business
Clovis, Ca
May 25, 2012

Last Minute Get Away

We need a place to stay at the 24th hour. The hotel is located on the strip and close to many ammenities. The rooms are very small, but the bed is one of the most comfortable I slept on in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the middle of all the action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top