$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
75 reviews
Clean and beautiful suite and private patio with beautiful foliage

I'm from Los Angeles and went to Fresno to celebrate my aunt's 94th birthday. See full review

  • Letty Jo R.
  • May 19, 2015
Weekend fun

Love this place, I'll never pay money at another motel. This is really worth it. See full review

  • Momma of twins
  • Dec 4, 2014
The San Joaquin Hotel offers generously sized rooms coupled with an array of amenities, including a fitness center, outdoor pool, adjacent cabana and lush courtyard and garden. The family-owned boutique hotel offers 24 deluxe suites with stylish interiors and 45 tastefully-decorated standard suites. On-site meeting and banquet facilities are available for business and other events. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily and guests enjoy the free Wi-Fi at the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Location
The San Joaquin Hotel is located just northwest of central Fresno in the Fig Garden Village district and is easily accessible from highways 41 and 99. Shopping, nightlife and restaurants are within a short drive of the San Joaquin Hotel as is the Fresno Yosemite International Airport.

 

Rooms
All 69 guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel feature separate sitting areas, outdoor accessibility and views of the swimming pool or garden. Deluxe suites offer a king bed while standard suites offer a queen. Rooms also include a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker and clock radio. Cable TV, wireless high-speed Internet access and local calls are complimentary. All guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel are non-smoking.

 

Property features
Amenities at the San Joaquin Hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center, as well as laundry facilities and free parking. Guests also enjoy the hotel's free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Roll-away beds and cribs for infants are available, and pets are allowed (fees apply). Shops and eateries abound within a short drive from the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Highlights
  • Lush courtyard garden and pool
  • Fitness center
  • Concierge service
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Jacuzzi

 

Nearby attractions
  • Riverpark Shopping Center (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Fresno Art Museum (3.5 mi/5.6km)
  • Forestiere Underground Gardens (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • California State University Fresno (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Conference/meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event catering
  • Photocopier and fax machine

 

Transportation
  • Fresno Yosemite International Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Fresno Area Express/FAX bus (across the street)

 

Policies
Roll-away beds are $10 USD per stay, cribs are $10 USD per stay and pets are $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The San Joaquin Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$59
3.1 / 5 78 reviews
★★★
$59
3.5 / 5 77 reviews
★★
$49
2.7 / 5 71 reviews
★★★
$53
3.2 / 5 46 reviews
★★★
$65
3.4 / 5 107 reviews
★★
$65
3.5 / 5 74 reviews
★★
$75
4.0 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$76
3.7 / 5 106 reviews

The San Joaquin Hotel Rooms

Standard One Bedroom Suite
NEWLY RENOVATED standard suites include separate living room and bedroom with queen bed. Micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin Coffee. These economy suites include basic furnishings and standard amenities.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Designer deluxe suites with separate living room and bedroom with King bed. These suites offer a stunning combination of fabric, color and texture. Each suite includes a micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin coffee. Deluxe suites have a custom San Joaquin Eastern King bed, hard surface floors or custom carpet, two flat panel 32" tv's and granite countertops.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Bulldog Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Save Mart Center: 4.3 mi
  • Selland Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Joaquin Hotel, a family owned boutique hotel, located in the prestigious Fig Garden District, offers two distinctive meeting spaces. Whether you are planning a business meeting, regional conference, or corporate gathering, the San Joaquin Hotel will ensure that you receive the highest level of quality. Our Indoor/Outdoor Event space is the ideal setting for an intimate wedding, family gathering or Holiday party.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 75
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gloria M.
Family
N/A
Aug 15, 2015

Mini vacation

I liked how big the room was, the free wifi and how everything was set up, we couldn't get the ac to work the first night it seemed like it would go on and off, the breakfast was average, but other than that the place was nice and the price was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nickbear
Family
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Extremely run-down

Room very cold. Carpets very dirty. Bed was like sleeping on a piece of cardboard. Both Tvs didn't work until you turned them on by hand. Channel selection limited. Coffee maker broken. Only two very small bath towels completely worn out. Totally unreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma of twins
Family
Clovis, Ca
Nov 19, 2014

Our home for awhile..

Loved it. The Staff was so understanding to our situation. My family was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyOregonMOM
Family
Portland, Oregon
Oct 22, 2014

Delightful

This hotel was just what I wanted. The courtyard was peaceful, beautiful, and relaxing. The rooms had separate "living room," and a spacious bathroom. The hotel was in the process of remodeling but it wasn't an issue. And the remodeling was only to update out of style 1980's decor. Not because there was any thing wrong with it. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast had something for everyone. Everything was clean. And there was plenty of hot water and a high quality shower head. I would defiantly like to stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of options

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JDFresno
Family
Fresno Ca
May 3, 2014

Good for the price

This is a good suite at a good price. My son wife and I were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mehmeh
Family
Walnut, CA, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Nice place, great value

The room we stayed in was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The room even came with a small back area (grass, decorative rocks, lawn chairs and an orange tree). However, we were warned that only the renovated rooms are nice. When I called and asked to be placed in a renovated room I was told that those rooms were an additional fee. Once the hostess realized I had booked through this site she upgraded me for free. I'm guessing it was because she knew that I would be asked to complete this review after my trip. It was a nice visit and we had no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fresno
Family
Bay Area
Nov 27, 2011

Horrible experience

the room we were given at the San Joaquin Hotel was dingy, outdated and totally creepy on every level. We literally ran out of the hotel and didnt stay the night! Fortunately we were lucky enough to find a room at Picadilly Inn on Shaw on thanksgiving weekend. Had I not found a room somewhere else, San Joaquin hotel would have put me in a bad situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
san jose
Feb 7, 2011

safe and quiet

we were in Fresno for junior tennis tournament. The hotel is safe and quiet, convenient to all locations. Breakfast is good. The hotel courtyard is well maintained and beautifully landscaped. Room is a bit outdated, but clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Stockton, CA
Jun 7, 2010

The Upgraded Room is well worth it!

The original room we were booked in was outdated; where my son was unable to hook up his playstation because the T.V. was so old. I requested the upgraded room and it made my stay. I did have to pay more, but I don't think I could stay more than one night in the other room. So if you get the upgraded room it is worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Comfort and value mom
Family
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 9, 2010

It depends

The San Joaquin seemed like a good value at $75 per night, but we soon found out that we did not have a renovated room. The room was very worn and uncomfortable, and it faced the main road, which was noisy. We changed to a renovated room which was substantially more but was lovely, comfortable, and enjoyable. I did not realize that there was a choice in rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great little diner that does eggs perfectly - Pardini's

Back to menu Return to top