$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
73 reviews
Weekend fun

Love this place, I'll never pay money at another motel. This is really worth it. See full review

  • Momma of twins
  • Dec 4, 2014
Our home for awhile..

Loved it. The Staff was so understanding to our situation. My family was very comfortable. See full review

  • Momma of twins
  • Nov 19, 2014
Eclectic charm, spacious quarters amid tranquil surroundings in Fresno
The San Joaquin Hotel offers generously sized rooms coupled with an array of amenities, including a fitness center, outdoor pool, adjacent cabana and lush courtyard and garden. The family-owned boutique hotel offers 24 deluxe suites with stylish interiors and 45 tastefully-decorated standard suites. On-site meeting and banquet facilities are available for business and other events. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily and guests enjoy the free Wi-Fi at the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Highlights
  • Lush courtyard garden and pool
  • Fitness center
  • Concierge service
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Jacuzzi

 

Location
The San Joaquin Hotel is located just northwest of central Fresno in the Fig Garden Village district and is easily accessible from highways 41 and 99. Shopping, nightlife and restaurants are within a short drive of the San Joaquin Hotel as is the Fresno Yosemite International Airport.

 

Rooms
All 69 guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel feature separate sitting areas, outdoor accessibility and views of the swimming pool or garden. Deluxe suites offer a king bed while standard suites offer a queen. Rooms also include a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker and clock radio. Cable TV, wireless high-speed Internet access and local calls are complimentary. All guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel are non-smoking.

 

Features
Amenities at the San Joaquin Hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center, as well as laundry facilities and free parking. Guests also enjoy the hotel's free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Roll-away beds and cribs for infants are available, and pets are allowed (fees apply). Shops and eateries abound within a short drive from the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Transportation
  • Fresno Yosemite International Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Fresno Area Express/FAX bus (across the street)

 

Attractions
  • Riverpark Shopping Center (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Fresno Art Museum (3.5 mi/5.6km)
  • Forestiere Underground Gardens (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • California State University Fresno (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Conference/meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event catering
  • Photocopier and fax machine

 

Policies and fees
Roll-away beds are $10 USD per stay, cribs are $10 USD per stay and pets are $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The San Joaquin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

The San Joaquin Hotel Rooms

Standard One Bedroom Suite
Standard suites include separate living room and bedroom with queen bed. Micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin Coffee. These economy suites include basic furnishings and standard amenities.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Designer deluxe suites with separate living room and bedroom with King bed. These suites offer a stunning combination of fabric, color and texture. Each suite includes a micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin coffee. Deluxe suites have a custom San Joaquin Eastern King bed, hard surface floors or custom carpet, two flat panel 32" tv's and granite countertops.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bulldog Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Save Mart Center: 4.3 mi
  • Selland Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Joaquin Hotel, a family owned boutique hotel, located in the prestigious Fig Garden District, offers two distinctive meeting spaces. Whether you are planning a business meeting, regional conference, or corporate gathering, the San Joaquin Hotel will ensure that you receive the highest level of quality. Our Indoor/Outdoor Event space is the ideal setting for an intimate wedding, family gathering or Holiday party.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 73
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
youngt
Business
houston, tx
May 31, 2014

dirtiest carpet i have ever seen

i opened the room door and i see a carpewt with more stains and spots than i have ever encountered oin a hotel room. it made me question whether they had aby standards of cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
all bad
Business
Fresno, ca
Feb 18, 2014

Room 306 at San Joaquin Hotel

The room was big, but it was disgusting and filthy. Below is a list of items that we came across; 1. carpet was stained and filthy 2. toilet paper roll was half used and room did not have an extra one in it 3. bathroom sink was backed up 4. toilet ran all night 5. absolutely zero water pressure in shower 6. Both TV's in the room were made in the late 70's 7. outlets in room were all loose and half of them not working 8. lightbulbs in room were all dim watts, had to go buy my own lightbulb if I actually wanted to see 9. Went to front desk for more towels, they didn't have any available there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cdcd1212
Business
illinois
Sep 2, 2013

Great place to stay

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was nice looking and we ended up with a spacious room for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NanBe
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Fresno trip

This hotel needs serious updating. I guess they have updated the lobby and maybe some rooms - but ours was not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobs64impala
Business
fresno
Dec 3, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

i really enjoyed our stay at this location we had a wonderful time just relaxing there.it was very peaceful and cozy. i realy like the way the room was set up it look like a small apartment.i would absolutely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

this location was near some really nice restraunts and near a nice shopping centers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler2320
Business
Riverside,Ca
Oct 30, 2010

Loved it !!!

Really liked the room very clean and quiet. We've stayed at other hotels and this one has been the quietest. Actually got a full night sleep. Decorations are little out of date that's why I gave it four stars but overall loved it. Front counter very friendly lots of restaurants near by. I will defenitly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura County, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Good Online value

The outside of the hotel was pleasant and the landscaping pretty. The standard room we stayed in was obviously converted from an apartment to a hotel room so it had plenty of space. Room needed some repair/refurbishment (i.e., curtain had pin holes, towel rack loose on the wall) but overall was clean. No noticeable odor. Small fridge did make humming noises at night so I had to unplug it. Some street noise could be heard and the airplanes, but airplanes were noticeable only in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book rooms on-line [...] for the best rate. Whole foods and starbucks just down the street, very short drive or mid-walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 18, 2010

"Nice getaway"

Our stay was nice, quiet and relaxing. We got a larger room than we expected, and the other guests were really quiet, so it was perfect. It was a nice getaway from the busy life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a lot of restaurants and shopping places nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenniedinazapata[@]
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 8, 2010

Gilbert & Dina Belton

We reserved over the internet and arrived at the Hotel on Our Wedding Night. We were greeted by a friendly staff as we registered. The staff even took a moment to take a picture of us. I thought that was nice. We also, enjoyed a great cup of coffee. We took a walk and sat at the pool. The grounds are well kept and parking was available. The Room 202 is like a small cottage and plenty of space for comfort. Having Internet available is a plus, because we could send pictures of Our Wedding to friends and Family in Hawaii,made it the best place to stay. One small detail was the Old TV set in the room was not the best quality for a Beautiful Hotel. Our stay was a wonderful Experience and will return in 6 months for another short stay. Thanks Gilbert & Dina Belton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We visit from Ohua, Hawaii and would be interested in discovering new places in Fresno to site see while we stay at your Hotel. We did like the Dinning places books in our Room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jesster
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 11, 2010

Partially Renovated

Picked this hotel because of location and reviews. Staff was friendly, however the room that was given to us on the third floor was obvioiusly not renovated. Carpet was badly stained and worn, fabric on easy chairs was faded and room smelled of smoke. Returned to lobby and informed staff and they graciously assigned new room on first floor which was excellently appointed,clean and quiet. Room was an upgrade and we were not charged. Staff was very responsive and professional to our concerns. Would stay again but I would ensure that room assigned was one of the renovated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Fig Garden shopping and dining area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top