$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
73 reviews
Weekend fun

Love this place, I'll never pay money at another motel. This is really worth it. See full review

  • Momma of twins
  • Dec 4, 2014
Our home for awhile..

Loved it. The Staff was so understanding to our situation. My family was very comfortable. See full review

  • Momma of twins
  • Nov 19, 2014
Eclectic charm, spacious quarters amid tranquil surroundings in Fresno
The San Joaquin Hotel offers generously sized rooms coupled with an array of amenities, including a fitness center, outdoor pool, adjacent cabana and lush courtyard and garden. The family-owned boutique hotel offers 24 deluxe suites with stylish interiors and 45 tastefully-decorated standard suites. On-site meeting and banquet facilities are available for business and other events. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily and guests enjoy the free Wi-Fi at the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Highlights
  • Lush courtyard garden and pool
  • Fitness center
  • Concierge service
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Jacuzzi

 

Location
The San Joaquin Hotel is located just northwest of central Fresno in the Fig Garden Village district and is easily accessible from highways 41 and 99. Shopping, nightlife and restaurants are within a short drive of the San Joaquin Hotel as is the Fresno Yosemite International Airport.

 

Rooms
All 69 guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel feature separate sitting areas, outdoor accessibility and views of the swimming pool or garden. Deluxe suites offer a king bed while standard suites offer a queen. Rooms also include a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker and clock radio. Cable TV, wireless high-speed Internet access and local calls are complimentary. All guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel are non-smoking.

 

Features
Amenities at the San Joaquin Hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center, as well as laundry facilities and free parking. Guests also enjoy the hotel's free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Roll-away beds and cribs for infants are available, and pets are allowed (fees apply). Shops and eateries abound within a short drive from the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Transportation
  • Fresno Yosemite International Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Fresno Area Express/FAX bus (across the street)

 

Attractions
  • Riverpark Shopping Center (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Fresno Art Museum (3.5 mi/5.6km)
  • Forestiere Underground Gardens (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • California State University Fresno (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Conference/meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event catering
  • Photocopier and fax machine

 

Policies and fees
Roll-away beds are $10 USD per stay, cribs are $10 USD per stay and pets are $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The San Joaquin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The San Joaquin Hotel Rooms

Standard One Bedroom Suite
Standard suites include separate living room and bedroom with queen bed. Micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin Coffee. These economy suites include basic furnishings and standard amenities.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Designer deluxe suites with separate living room and bedroom with King bed. These suites offer a stunning combination of fabric, color and texture. Each suite includes a micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin coffee. Deluxe suites have a custom San Joaquin Eastern King bed, hard surface floors or custom carpet, two flat panel 32" tv's and granite countertops.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bulldog Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Save Mart Center: 4.3 mi
  • Selland Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Joaquin Hotel, a family owned boutique hotel, located in the prestigious Fig Garden District, offers two distinctive meeting spaces. Whether you are planning a business meeting, regional conference, or corporate gathering, the San Joaquin Hotel will ensure that you receive the highest level of quality. Our Indoor/Outdoor Event space is the ideal setting for an intimate wedding, family gathering or Holiday party.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fresno
Business
Bay Area
Nov 27, 2011

Horrible experience

the room we were given at the San Joaquin Hotel was dingy, outdated and totally creepy on every level. We literally ran out of the hotel and didnt stay the night! Fortunately we were lucky enough to find a room at Picadilly Inn on Shaw on thanksgiving weekend. Had I not found a room somewhere else, San Joaquin hotel would have put me in a bad situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
all bad
Business
Fresno, ca
Feb 18, 2014

Room 306 at San Joaquin Hotel

The room was big, but it was disgusting and filthy. Below is a list of items that we came across; 1. carpet was stained and filthy 2. toilet paper roll was half used and room did not have an extra one in it 3. bathroom sink was backed up 4. toilet ran all night 5. absolutely zero water pressure in shower 6. Both TV's in the room were made in the late 70's 7. outlets in room were all loose and half of them not working 8. lightbulbs in room were all dim watts, had to go buy my own lightbulb if I actually wanted to see 9. Went to front desk for more towels, they didn't have any available there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sk8mom28
Business
Stockton, CA
Mar 8, 2014

BAIT AND SWITCH

When I checked in they informed me that the room I was getting was an "older" room I could upgrade for almost double the price. It sure wasn't like the room in the pictures!! The room smelled, had stains on the carpet and on the ceiling. The televisions were older than me (I'm 50). The remote did not work that well. The grounds were nice, but the room was ancient! The staff was friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Fig Garden Village to dine, drink, shop, or pick up whatever you might have forgotten to pack

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephanie Kator
Business
Soda Springs, ID
Feb 19, 2009

Run for your life!

We booked three nights based on the photos of this hotel. We arrived and the lobby and pool area were very nice but the room was awful(nothing like the pictures). The minute you walk through the door an odor like a mildewing basement hit us in the face, unidentifiable stains on the carpet (which was separating from the walls). The TV came over on the Mayflower. The bathroom, I showered in LUKE warm water with my flip flops on. If you have allergies -don't atempt it! The air vent was covered in dust. Needless to say we cancelled the next 2 nights and stayed at the Raddison, which in comparison is the Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Jun 24, 2007

Dump Remodel

The Hotel San Joaquin was undergoing renovation, that is for sure. The staff was very indifferent and sometimes rude. There are some regulars that stay in the hotel and use the pool for their private party every night. Lots of drinking and noise. Staff didn't seem to be bothered. I will never stay there again. The bed was like a cardboard box, and the bathroom was filthy. I was afraid to touch anything. No vending machine for bottled water or soda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some dining, but a very iffy neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clovis, CA
Jan 30, 2010

Not Good

My husband and I were looking for a romantic get-away for his birthday. The picture shown on the[...] web site was not anything like the room we got.There was a huge stain on the carpet as we entered the room.Plus signs of wear on several other spots of the carpet. We could hear the TV in the room next to ours. The road noise from Shaw Ave. was unbelievable!! We were awakened just about every hour. I was looking forward to sleeping in but got out of bed before 6AM. There were no extra blankets,and I was freezing! It was very old and dated. I would have been more comfortable at home in my own bed. We do not get away often but this is probably our worst experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 8, 2010

Regret

This for a holiday was a bad experience. [...]....For a first time experience was a nightmare on a Easter having to come from church to Hell. The AC controls were difficult to figure out, after freezing for one houe I got clued in. Stains on carpet & in the shower stall. I sleep on top of the spread. Listen like I stated to this person who hung up on me I had no phone or WiFi. It is 2010 & without my cell phone I would have no phone...a first since the 1920's. The TV's were from the 80's had to figure that out for one hour also. The breakfast is continental period. On a holiday Easter out of church which I can see You people don't do it was Hell. That day I learned I was helpless & complaining was worthless. I have pictures on my IPhone were people just snickered & said just make the best of it. This is my testimony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 14, 2011

Not great...

The room smelt awful and had spot jobs all over the walls in every room with a completely different color paint. The balcony door wouldn't lock so I could barely sleep worried someone could just come in through there. The room was horrible and no where near comfortable and was down right creepy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nickbear
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Extremely run-down

Room very cold. Carpets very dirty. Bed was like sleeping on a piece of cardboard. Both Tvs didn't work until you turned them on by hand. Channel selection limited. Coffee maker broken. Only two very small bath towels completely worn out. Totally unreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NanBe
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Fresno trip

This hotel needs serious updating. I guess they have updated the lobby and maybe some rooms - but ours was not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top