$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
79 reviews
Clean and beautiful suite and private patio with beautiful foliage

I'm from Los Angeles and went to Fresno to celebrate my aunt's 94th birthday. See full review

  • Letty Jo R.
  • May 19, 2015
A Gem of a Bargain

This hotel has been around Fresno for many years. I used to live in Fresno, so never stayed there.... See full review

  • David M.
  • May 7, 2015
Eclectic charm, spacious quarters amid tranquil surroundings in Fresno
The San Joaquin Hotel offers generously sized rooms coupled with an array of amenities, including a fitness center, outdoor pool, adjacent cabana and lush courtyard and garden. The family-owned boutique hotel offers 24 deluxe suites with stylish interiors and 45 tastefully-decorated standard suites. On-site meeting and banquet facilities are available for business and other events. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily and guests enjoy the free Wi-Fi at the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Highlights
  • Lush courtyard garden and pool
  • Fitness center
  • Concierge service
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Jacuzzi

 

Location
The San Joaquin Hotel is located just northwest of central Fresno in the Fig Garden Village district and is easily accessible from highways 41 and 99. Shopping, nightlife and restaurants are within a short drive of the San Joaquin Hotel as is the Fresno Yosemite International Airport.

 

Rooms
All 69 guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel feature separate sitting areas, outdoor accessibility and views of the swimming pool or garden. Deluxe suites offer a king bed while standard suites offer a queen. Rooms also include a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker and clock radio. Cable TV, wireless high-speed Internet access and local calls are complimentary. All guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel are non-smoking.

 

Features
Amenities at the San Joaquin Hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center, as well as laundry facilities and free parking. Guests also enjoy the hotel's free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Roll-away beds and cribs for infants are available, and pets are allowed (fees apply). Shops and eateries abound within a short drive from the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Transportation
  • Fresno Yosemite International Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Fresno Area Express/FAX bus (across the street)

 

Attractions
  • Riverpark Shopping Center (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Fresno Art Museum (3.5 mi/5.6km)
  • Forestiere Underground Gardens (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • California State University Fresno (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Conference/meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event catering
  • Photocopier and fax machine

 

Policies and fees
Roll-away beds are $10 USD per stay, cribs are $10 USD per stay and pets are $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The San Joaquin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

The San Joaquin Hotel Rooms

Standard One Bedroom Suite
NEWLY RENOVATED standard suites include separate living room and bedroom with queen bed. Micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin Coffee. These economy suites include basic furnishings and standard amenities.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Designer deluxe suites with separate living room and bedroom with King bed. These suites offer a stunning combination of fabric, color and texture. Each suite includes a micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin coffee. Deluxe suites have a custom San Joaquin Eastern King bed, hard surface floors or custom carpet, two flat panel 32" tv's and granite countertops.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Bulldog Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Save Mart Center: 4.3 mi
  • Selland Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Joaquin Hotel, a family owned boutique hotel, located in the prestigious Fig Garden District, offers two distinctive meeting spaces. Whether you are planning a business meeting, regional conference, or corporate gathering, the San Joaquin Hotel will ensure that you receive the highest level of quality. Our Indoor/Outdoor Event space is the ideal setting for an intimate wedding, family gathering or Holiday party.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kzemier
Business
Concord, CA
Mar 23, 2010

Great Surprise

I traveled with my wife, and a 4 month old daughter. We made the reservation the night before based on good reviews. the experience was better than we expected. Classy, tastefully decorated lobby gave a great representation if the place. Upon arrival we got immediately upgraded to a deluxe room free of charge. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. The room was great, clean, and esthetically pleasing. The next morning we toured the garden and the pool, both beautifully decorated with art. Staying at this hotel was a great, unique experience. We will definitely stay here next time we are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cdcd1212
Business
illinois
Sep 2, 2013

Great place to stay

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was nice looking and we ended up with a spacious room for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 14, 2007

Great location and family friendly

I loved it. It was a little dated but very spacious, clean, and nice, friendly atmosphere. I am returning back to California in 2 or 3 more months and I plan to use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaightcat
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Fantastic!

The hotel is beautiful. They took a 70sish apartment and converted it into a wonderful hotel of suites. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated - not typical hotel stuff. The bed was delightful. The grounds are landscaped and have various sitting areas with Buddha statues and other garden decorations. The staff was extremely helpful. We were there for business and there was some confusion about our reservation. But they made every accommodation for us and they made certain everything was just right for our meetings. Only two negatives. During the continental breakfast I had to listen to Fox News. Unpleasant. And at breakfast all the cups, plates and utensils were disposable and non-compostable. Considering the grounds were so lovely and Zen-like I would have hoped they would buy compostable breakfastware. But I will defninitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno ca
Oct 9, 2010

Always a great exp at SJ Hotel

I've initially heard about this hotel from a friend....now let me start by saying this is an establishment you would find either in a big city such as San Francisco or Los Angeles. Im always impressed by the landscape art....the clean grounds and the friendly staff members....so initially before I even step into the room they already are a 10 in my book. Now the rooms....amazing...hardwood...leather sofas....the bed is probably one of the most comfortable ones I've ever slept in. Overall 10/10..I have recommended this place to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rowland Heights, CA
May 11, 2008

great hotel in Fresno

Originally they had me in a older room but the air did not work so they upgraded me to a nice newly remodeled room. In a good location and the dining was not too far away for a excellent over all stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

many resturants within walking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 24, 2007

Great Value!

The area, ammenities, and room were all great. We stayed in a partially renovated room which was quite nice: a two room suite with a bathroom which had a separate tub and large shower. There were many nice touches such as (excellent) complimentary coffee,teas and cookies in the lobby and a spa like garden area. The only issues we had were the sparse continental breakfast (coming at an earlier and a later time didn't matter - there was never any coffee and little food available), a 1/2 hour late wake-up call and a too firm bed. Other wise the place is fabulous for the price (and we stay at a lot of hotels!) We would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenniedinazapata[@]
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 8, 2010

Gilbert & Dina Belton

We reserved over the internet and arrived at the Hotel on Our Wedding Night. We were greeted by a friendly staff as we registered. The staff even took a moment to take a picture of us. I thought that was nice. We also, enjoyed a great cup of coffee. We took a walk and sat at the pool. The grounds are well kept and parking was available. The Room 202 is like a small cottage and plenty of space for comfort. Having Internet available is a plus, because we could send pictures of Our Wedding to friends and Family in Hawaii,made it the best place to stay. One small detail was the Old TV set in the room was not the best quality for a Beautiful Hotel. Our stay was a wonderful Experience and will return in 6 months for another short stay. Thanks Gilbert & Dina Belton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We visit from Ohua, Hawaii and would be interested in discovering new places in Fresno to site see while we stay at your Hotel. We did like the Dinning places books in our Room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hanford California
Jan 24, 2010

The rooms were very nice for the price

Although the heater didnt work the staff was excellent and went out of their way to accommodate me by making me more comfortable. They upgraded me to another room for the inconvenience. The Upgrade was very nice! bed were confortable. The carpets were a little dirty other than that very nice. Oh the room the standard room I previous had was very nice as well....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For dining either direction was a short drive to some really nice restaurants and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 27, 2009

San Joaquin Hotel

The hotel is beautiful, all suites and very specious and comfortable. The staff is very friendly. We loved this hotel so much we dicided to stay another night just to relax. They have a medium size pool and hot tub and a fitness room. The breakfast is great with cereal, yogurt, milk, coffee, cream cheese and bagels, O.J. Pretty good continental breakfast. The price was also great. I really enjoyed this hotel. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

many places to shop near by. Costco, hometown buffet, target and bunch of other stores around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top