$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
70 reviews
Great place to stay

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was nice looking and we ended up with a spacious... See full review

  • cdcd1212
  • Sep 2, 2013
love the location

I spent two weeks at three different hotels in Fresno, without a doubt the San Jaquine was my... See full review

  • fresnodougert
  • Apr 7, 2014
Eclectic charm, spacious quarters amid tranquil surroundings in Fresno
The San Joaquin Hotel offers generously sized rooms coupled with an array of amenities, including a fitness center, outdoor pool, adjacent cabana and lush courtyard and garden. The family-owned boutique hotel offers 24 deluxe suites with stylish interiors and 45 tastefully-decorated standard suites. On-site meeting and banquet facilities are available for business and other events. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily and guests enjoy the free Wi-Fi at the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Highlights
  • Lush courtyard garden and pool
  • Fitness center
  • Concierge service
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Jacuzzi

 

Location
The San Joaquin Hotel is located just northwest of central Fresno in the Fig Garden Village district and is easily accessible from highways 41 and 99. Shopping, nightlife and restaurants are within a short drive of the San Joaquin Hotel as is the Fresno Yosemite International Airport.

 

Rooms
All 69 guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel feature separate sitting areas, outdoor accessibility and views of the swimming pool or garden. Deluxe suites offer a king bed while standard suites offer a queen. Rooms also include a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker and clock radio. Cable TV, wireless high-speed Internet access and local calls are complimentary. All guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel are non-smoking.

 

Features
Amenities at the San Joaquin Hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center, as well as laundry facilities and free parking. Guests also enjoy the hotel's free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Roll-away beds and cribs for infants are available, and pets are allowed (fees apply). Shops and eateries abound within a short drive from the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Transportation
  • Fresno Yosemite International Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Fresno Area Express/FAX bus (across the street)

 

Attractions
  • Riverpark Shopping Center (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Fresno Art Museum (3.5 mi/5.6km)
  • Forestiere Underground Gardens (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • California State University Fresno (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Conference/meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event catering
  • Photocopier and fax machine

 

Policies and fees
Roll-away beds are $10 USD per stay, cribs are $10 USD per stay and pets are $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.8081 -119.8154
Area served
Central Valley
Nearby airports
Fresno Yosemite International Airport (FAT): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes, and distance is 7.5 miles.
Area description
The San Joaquin Hotel is located in the prestigious Fig Garden District. We are easily accessible from both Freeway 41 and Freeway 99. Simply take the Shaw Avenue exit from 41 and go west, or from 99, take the Shaw Avenue exit and go east. We are centrally located and a short drive from the Save Mart Center, Tower District, Riverpark, Fashion Fair mall, and various eateries and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The San Joaquin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The San Joaquin Hotel Rooms

Standard One Bedroom Suite
Standard suites include separate living room and bedroom with queen bed. Micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin Coffee. These economy suites include basic furnishings and standard amenities.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Designer deluxe suites with separate living room and bedroom with King bed. These suites offer a stunning combination of fabric, color and texture. Each suite includes a micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin coffee. Deluxe suites have a custom San Joaquin Eastern King bed, hard surface floors or custom carpet, two flat panel 32" tv's and granite countertops.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bulldog Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Save Mart Center: 4.3 mi
  • Selland Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Joaquin Hotel, a family owned boutique hotel, located in the prestigious Fig Garden District, offers two distinctive meeting spaces. Whether you are planning a business meeting, regional conference, or corporate gathering, the San Joaquin Hotel will ensure that you receive the highest level of quality. Our Indoor/Outdoor Event space is the ideal setting for an intimate wedding, family gathering or Holiday party.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Dec 8, 2009

smelly and old

Smelled like smoke. No Cold water for shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Napa, CA
Dec 1, 2009

Better After the First Night

The first night we stayed was the worst. However, thee next day the hotel upgraded our room to a very nice suite. They are under construction to remodel all rooms. We happened to get a very NEEDed renovation. The staff are very nice and accomadating. We would stay there again, but ask for the renovated suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Aug 27, 2009

San Joaquin Hotel

The hotel is beautiful, all suites and very specious and comfortable. The staff is very friendly. We loved this hotel so much we dicided to stay another night just to relax. They have a medium size pool and hot tub and a fitness room. The breakfast is great with cereal, yogurt, milk, coffee, cream cheese and bagels, O.J. Pretty good continental breakfast. The price was also great. I really enjoyed this hotel. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

many places to shop near by. Costco, hometown buffet, target and bunch of other stores around.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Socal traveller
Business
san bernardino, ca
Jul 27, 2009

great price

This place was definitely an older hotel, but the rooms are all suites so they are spacious. The price is much lower than other suite hotels. The courtyard was very tastefully done and peaceful. The bathroom had both a shower stall and tub, very unusual. The air conditioning wasn't the best. The vent seemed to cool the bathroom more than the bedroom, but it wasn't too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The only nicer restaurants I found were at the mall about five miles away. Not much else in the area.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bermuda Dunes, CA
Jul 22, 2009

Noisy AC

I expected a pull out couch in the "suite" but had to arrange (10.00) for a roll-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fresno
Jun 9, 2009

ok

Lobby, pool area and general grounds were very well maintained and presentable, however my room was dated, carpet was filthy, bedspread old, tv was old, did not feel comfortable in room. This is not the way I travel, I expect to be a bit more comfortable in my room. Because of these things, I did not want to relax in my room. Would not stay here again. Maybe if the rooms were more presentable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephanie Kator
Business
Soda Springs, ID
Feb 19, 2009

Run for your life!

We booked three nights based on the photos of this hotel. We arrived and the lobby and pool area were very nice but the room was awful(nothing like the pictures). The minute you walk through the door an odor like a mildewing basement hit us in the face, unidentifiable stains on the carpet (which was separating from the walls). The TV came over on the Mayflower. The bathroom, I showered in LUKE warm water with my flip flops on. If you have allergies -don't atempt it! The air vent was covered in dust. Needless to say we cancelled the next 2 nights and stayed at the Raddison, which in comparison is the Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rowland Heights, CA
May 11, 2008

great hotel in Fresno

Originally they had me in a older room but the air did not work so they upgraded me to a nice newly remodeled room. In a good location and the dining was not too far away for a excellent over all stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

many resturants within walking

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
May 3, 2008

okat hotel which was very noisey at night

A very handy location for our stay in Fresno, but a very noisey group was also staying at the hotel. The noise went on until 3:00 am and started again at 8:00 am. Bath room show need of repair with water leakage on the floor. Hotel has a great courtyard with some very nice pieces of garden art.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

many good restaurants within a short distance.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 2, 2007

Classy, but sitll remodeling

A wonderful place to stay. They're re-doing the grounds and rooms and the outside looks gorgeous. The rooms that haven't been updated are a bit dilapidated, but still comfortable and clean. I'd recommend it as a great place to stay for anyone visiting Fresno who like a suite as opposed to just a room. The staff is terrific and friendly and they obviously hired a great designer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and restaurants in Fig Garden very nearby.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search