$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hanford California
Jan 24, 2010

The rooms were very nice for the price

Although the heater didnt work the staff was excellent and went out of their way to accommodate me by making me more comfortable. They upgraded me to another room for the inconvenience. The Upgrade was very nice! bed were confortable. The carpets were a little dirty other than that very nice. Oh the room the standard room I previous had was very nice as well....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For dining either direction was a short drive to some really nice restaurants and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaightcat
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Fantastic!

The hotel is beautiful. They took a 70sish apartment and converted it into a wonderful hotel of suites. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated - not typical hotel stuff. The bed was delightful. The grounds are landscaped and have various sitting areas with Buddha statues and other garden decorations. The staff was extremely helpful. We were there for business and there was some confusion about our reservation. But they made every accommodation for us and they made certain everything was just right for our meetings. Only two negatives. During the continental breakfast I had to listen to Fox News. Unpleasant. And at breakfast all the cups, plates and utensils were disposable and non-compostable. Considering the grounds were so lovely and Zen-like I would have hoped they would buy compostable breakfastware. But I will defninitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CP student
Business
San Luis Obispo
Jan 10, 2010

San Joaquin Hotel

Very friendly staff, upgraded us to a deluxe suite for free. The room was awesome. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Fresno State and the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 7, 2010

Quiet location. Needs renovation!

Quiet, private location, nice grounds. Rooms are older, needs renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dominichino
Business
Fresno, Ca
Dec 28, 2009

"Good place to stay at the last minute"

The hotel was great. The staff were friendly and the rooms were spacious for the price we paid. I enjoyed my stay there and will visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix,Az
Dec 20, 2009

fresno trip

had difficulty with service to the room. their door placards look exactly the same for "privacy" and "service Room". Had to ask for service. told room would be serviced, never happened. asked for at least clean towels.. never delivered, so had to go to front desk.... next day room was finally serviced, but no towels provided. again, had to go to desk....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Dec 16, 2009

Surprisingly nice for a good price

This was probably the nicest place we could have found given our price range. I've seen a lot worse places that charge a lot more to stay. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boysman
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 13, 2009

Clean and cheap for night

I got price 47 plus tax. It is nice for that price. I recommend if you do not have enought budget. Nice and free breakfirst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Dec 8, 2009

smelly and old

Smelled like smoke. No Cold water for shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa, CA
Dec 1, 2009

Better After the First Night

The first night we stayed was the worst. However, thee next day the hotel upgraded our room to a very nice suite. They are under construction to remodel all rooms. We happened to get a very NEEDed renovation. The staff are very nice and accomadating. We would stay there again, but ask for the renovated suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top