$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
117 reviews
Great place to stay

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was nice looking and we ended up with a spacious... See full review

  • cdcd1212
  • Sep 2, 2013
love the location

I spent two weeks at three different hotels in Fresno, without a doubt the San Jaquine was my... See full review

  • fresnodougert
  • Apr 7, 2014
Eclectic charm, spacious quarters amid tranquil surroundings in Fresno
The San Joaquin Hotel offers generously sized rooms coupled with an array of amenities, including a fitness center, outdoor pool, adjacent cabana and lush courtyard and garden. The family-owned boutique hotel offers 24 deluxe suites with stylish interiors and 45 tastefully-decorated standard suites. On-site meeting and banquet facilities are available for business and other events. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily and guests enjoy the free Wi-Fi at the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Highlights
  • Lush courtyard garden and pool
  • Fitness center
  • Concierge service
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Jacuzzi

 

Location
The San Joaquin Hotel is located just northwest of central Fresno in the Fig Garden Village district and is easily accessible from highways 41 and 99. Shopping, nightlife and restaurants are within a short drive of the San Joaquin Hotel as is the Fresno Yosemite International Airport.

 

Rooms
All 69 guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel feature separate sitting areas, outdoor accessibility and views of the swimming pool or garden. Deluxe suites offer a king bed while standard suites offer a queen. Rooms also include a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker and clock radio. Cable TV, wireless high-speed Internet access and local calls are complimentary. All guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel are non-smoking.

 

Features
Amenities at the San Joaquin Hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center, as well as laundry facilities and free parking. Guests also enjoy the hotel's free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Roll-away beds and cribs for infants are available, and pets are allowed (fees apply). Shops and eateries abound within a short drive from the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Transportation
  • Fresno Yosemite International Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Fresno Area Express/FAX bus (across the street)

 

Attractions
  • Riverpark Shopping Center (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Fresno Art Museum (3.5 mi/5.6km)
  • Forestiere Underground Gardens (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • California State University Fresno (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Conference/meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event catering
  • Photocopier and fax machine

 

Policies and fees
Roll-away beds are $10 USD per stay, cribs are $10 USD per stay and pets are $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The San Joaquin Hotel Rooms

Standard One Bedroom Suite
Standard suites include separate living room and bedroom with queen bed. Micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin Coffee. These economy suites include basic furnishings and standard amenities.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Designer deluxe suites with separate living room and bedroom with King bed. These suites offer a stunning combination of fabric, color and texture. Each suite includes a micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin coffee. Deluxe suites have a custom San Joaquin Eastern King bed, hard surface floors or custom carpet, two flat panel 32" tv's and granite countertops.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The San Joaquin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8081 -119.8154
Area served
Central Valley
Nearby airports
Fresno Yosemite International Airport (FAT): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes, and distance is 7.5 miles.
Area description
The San Joaquin Hotel is located in the prestigious Fig Garden District. We are easily accessible from both Freeway 41 and Freeway 99. Simply take the Shaw Avenue exit from 41 and go west, or from 99, take the Shaw Avenue exit and go east. We are centrally located and a short drive from the Save Mart Center, Tower District, Riverpark, Fashion Fair mall, and various eateries and nightlife.

Nearby points of interest

  • Bulldog Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Save Mart Center: 4.3 mi
  • Selland Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Joaquin Hotel, a family owned boutique hotel, located in the prestigious Fig Garden District, offers two distinctive meeting spaces. Whether you are planning a business meeting, regional conference, or corporate gathering, the San Joaquin Hotel will ensure that you receive the highest level of quality. Our Indoor/Outdoor Event space is the ideal setting for an intimate wedding, family gathering or Holiday party.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 18, 2010

"Nice getaway"

Our stay was nice, quiet and relaxing. We got a larger room than we expected, and the other guests were really quiet, so it was perfect. It was a nice getaway from the busy life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a lot of restaurants and shopping places nearby.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stockton, CA
Jun 7, 2010

The Upgraded Room is well worth it!

The original room we were booked in was outdated; where my son was unable to hook up his playstation because the T.V. was so old. I requested the upgraded room and it made my stay. I did have to pay more, but I don't think I could stay more than one night in the other room. So if you get the upgraded room it is worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stockton, CA
Jun 7, 2010

The Upgraded Room is well worth it!

The original room we were booked in was outdated; where my son was unable to hook up his playstation because the T.V. was so old. I requested the upgraded room and it made my stay. I did have to pay more, but I don't think I could stay more than one night in the other room. So if you get the upgraded room it is worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenniedinazapata[@]
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 8, 2010

Gilbert & Dina Belton

We reserved over the internet and arrived at the Hotel on Our Wedding Night. We were greeted by a friendly staff as we registered. The staff even took a moment to take a picture of us. I thought that was nice. We also, enjoyed a great cup of coffee. We took a walk and sat at the pool. The grounds are well kept and parking was available. The Room 202 is like a small cottage and plenty of space for comfort. Having Internet available is a plus, because we could send pictures of Our Wedding to friends and Family in Hawaii,made it the best place to stay. One small detail was the Old TV set in the room was not the best quality for a Beautiful Hotel. Our stay was a wonderful Experience and will return in 6 months for another short stay. Thanks Gilbert & Dina Belton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We visit from Ohua, Hawaii and would be interested in discovering new places in Fresno to site see while we stay at your Hotel. We did like the Dinning places books in our Room.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenniedinazapata[@]
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 8, 2010

Gilbert & Dina Belton

We reserved over the internet and arrived at the Hotel on Our Wedding Night. We were greeted by a friendly staff as we registered. The staff even took a moment to take a picture of us. I thought that was nice. We also, enjoyed a great cup of coffee. We took a walk and sat at the pool. The grounds are well kept and parking was available. The Room 202 is like a small cottage and plenty of space for comfort. Having Internet available is a plus, because we could send pictures of Our Wedding to friends and Family in Hawaii,made it the best place to stay. One small detail was the Old TV set in the room was not the best quality for a Beautiful Hotel. Our stay was a wonderful Experience and will return in 6 months for another short stay. Thanks Gilbert & Dina Belton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We visit from Ohua, Hawaii and would be interested in discovering new places in Fresno to site see while we stay at your Hotel. We did like the Dinning places books in our Room.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobatapeak
Business
Chico, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Great place in Fresno

Standard rooms can be iffy - but we got a great suite for $75 a night. Ask for a room where there has been no complaints. #204 is great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fig Garden area is beautiful for a walk or bike ride.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobatapeak
Business
Chico, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Great place in Fresno

Standard rooms can be iffy - but we got a great suite for $75 a night. Ask for a room where there has been no complaints. #204 is great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fig Garden area is beautiful for a walk or bike ride.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FFA weekend
San Luis Obispo
Apr 19, 2010

Weekend Stay

This hotel was very cute and has beautiful landscaping (beautiful garden and sculptures). The room was very big but there were a few things I had complaints about. The bed was very hard and the shower head didn't have even flow. The drape handle was broken. Just a few little things here and there needed to be fixed but overall it was a cute hotel and the staff were very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FFA weekend
San Luis Obispo
Apr 19, 2010

Weekend Stay

This hotel was very cute and has beautiful landscaping (beautiful garden and sculptures). The room was very big but there were a few things I had complaints about. The bed was very hard and the shower head didn't have even flow. The drape handle was broken. Just a few little things here and there needed to be fixed but overall it was a cute hotel and the staff were very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jesster
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 11, 2010

Partially Renovated

Picked this hotel because of location and reviews. Staff was friendly, however the room that was given to us on the third floor was obvioiusly not renovated. Carpet was badly stained and worn, fabric on easy chairs was faded and room smelled of smoke. Returned to lobby and informed staff and they graciously assigned new room on first floor which was excellently appointed,clean and quiet. Room was an upgrade and we were not charged. Staff was very responsive and professional to our concerns. Would stay again but I would ensure that room assigned was one of the renovated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Fig Garden shopping and dining area.

Back to menu Return to top