$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FFA weekend
Business
San Luis Obispo
Apr 19, 2010

Weekend Stay

This hotel was very cute and has beautiful landscaping (beautiful garden and sculptures). The room was very big but there were a few things I had complaints about. The bed was very hard and the shower head didn't have even flow. The drape handle was broken. Just a few little things here and there needed to be fixed but overall it was a cute hotel and the staff were very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jesster
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Apr 11, 2010

Partially Renovated

Picked this hotel because of location and reviews. Staff was friendly, however the room that was given to us on the third floor was obvioiusly not renovated. Carpet was badly stained and worn, fabric on easy chairs was faded and room smelled of smoke. Returned to lobby and informed staff and they graciously assigned new room on first floor which was excellently appointed,clean and quiet. Room was an upgrade and we were not charged. Staff was very responsive and professional to our concerns. Would stay again but I would ensure that room assigned was one of the renovated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Fig Garden shopping and dining area.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Comfort and value mom
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 9, 2010

It depends

The San Joaquin seemed like a good value at $75 per night, but we soon found out that we did not have a renovated room. The room was very worn and uncomfortable, and it faced the main road, which was noisy. We changed to a renovated room which was substantially more but was lovely, comfortable, and enjoyable. I did not realize that there was a choice in rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great little diner that does eggs perfectly - Pardini's

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 8, 2010

Regret

This for a holiday was a bad experience. [...]....For a first time experience was a nightmare on a Easter having to come from church to Hell. The AC controls were difficult to figure out, after freezing for one houe I got clued in. Stains on carpet & in the shower stall. I sleep on top of the spread. Listen like I stated to this person who hung up on me I had no phone or WiFi. It is 2010 & without my cell phone I would have no phone...a first since the 1920's. The TV's were from the 80's had to figure that out for one hour also. The breakfast is continental period. On a holiday Easter out of church which I can see You people don't do it was Hell. That day I learned I was helpless & complaining was worthless. I have pictures on my IPhone were people just snickered & said just make the best of it. This is my testimony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kirkland, WA
Feb 16, 2010

Review of the San Joaquin

Staff was professional and helpful. Outdoor, common spaces have been upgraded and look great. Needs some work inside rooms - paint, replace missing light fixture in ceiling, replace thread-bare linens. Also, there's no internet connections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fig Garden Village shopping center just down the street.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Expectations
Business
Bay Area, CA
Feb 16, 2010

Satisfying stay at a mid-century modern

We were positively impressed. Our room or suite was in back of the complex, what I would describe as mid-century modern, away from the busy street so it ended up being very quiet. The grounds are spotless with smaller citus trees and cool little sculptures throughout. The room was spotless and updated with nice bamboo flooring, a sitting area with flat screen, small coffee maker, and refrig upon walk in. Down a small hallway to the large master with clean and updated bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clovis, CA
Jan 30, 2010

Not Good

My husband and I were looking for a romantic get-away for his birthday. The picture shown on the[...] web site was not anything like the room we got.There was a huge stain on the carpet as we entered the room.Plus signs of wear on several other spots of the carpet. We could hear the TV in the room next to ours. The road noise from Shaw Ave. was unbelievable!! We were awakened just about every hour. I was looking forward to sleeping in but got out of bed before 6AM. There were no extra blankets,and I was freezing! It was very old and dated. I would have been more comfortable at home in my own bed. We do not get away often but this is probably our worst experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hanford California
Jan 24, 2010

The rooms were very nice for the price

Although the heater didnt work the staff was excellent and went out of their way to accommodate me by making me more comfortable. They upgraded me to another room for the inconvenience. The Upgrade was very nice! bed were confortable. The carpets were a little dirty other than that very nice. Oh the room the standard room I previous had was very nice as well....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For dining either direction was a short drive to some really nice restaurants and shopping.

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaightcat
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Fantastic!

The hotel is beautiful. They took a 70sish apartment and converted it into a wonderful hotel of suites. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated - not typical hotel stuff. The bed was delightful. The grounds are landscaped and have various sitting areas with Buddha statues and other garden decorations. The staff was extremely helpful. We were there for business and there was some confusion about our reservation. But they made every accommodation for us and they made certain everything was just right for our meetings. Only two negatives. During the continental breakfast I had to listen to Fox News. Unpleasant. And at breakfast all the cups, plates and utensils were disposable and non-compostable. Considering the grounds were so lovely and Zen-like I would have hoped they would buy compostable breakfastware. But I will defninitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CP student
Business
San Luis Obispo
Jan 10, 2010

San Joaquin Hotel

Very friendly staff, upgraded us to a deluxe suite for free. The room was awesome. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Fresno State and the airport.

Back to menu Return to top