$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
72 reviews
Weekend fun

Love this place, I'll never pay money at another motel. This is really worth it. See full review

  • Momma of twins
  • Dec 4, 2014
Our home for awhile..

Loved it. The Staff was so understanding to our situation. My family was very comfortable. See full review

  • Momma of twins
  • Nov 19, 2014
Eclectic charm, spacious quarters amid tranquil surroundings in Fresno
The San Joaquin Hotel offers generously sized rooms coupled with an array of amenities, including a fitness center, outdoor pool, adjacent cabana and lush courtyard and garden. The family-owned boutique hotel offers 24 deluxe suites with stylish interiors and 45 tastefully-decorated standard suites. On-site meeting and banquet facilities are available for business and other events. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily and guests enjoy the free Wi-Fi at the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Highlights
  • Lush courtyard garden and pool
  • Fitness center
  • Concierge service
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Jacuzzi

 

Location
The San Joaquin Hotel is located just northwest of central Fresno in the Fig Garden Village district and is easily accessible from highways 41 and 99. Shopping, nightlife and restaurants are within a short drive of the San Joaquin Hotel as is the Fresno Yosemite International Airport.

 

Rooms
All 69 guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel feature separate sitting areas, outdoor accessibility and views of the swimming pool or garden. Deluxe suites offer a king bed while standard suites offer a queen. Rooms also include a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker and clock radio. Cable TV, wireless high-speed Internet access and local calls are complimentary. All guest rooms at the San Joaquin Hotel are non-smoking.

 

Features
Amenities at the San Joaquin Hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center, as well as laundry facilities and free parking. Guests also enjoy the hotel's free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Roll-away beds and cribs for infants are available, and pets are allowed (fees apply). Shops and eateries abound within a short drive from the San Joaquin Hotel.

 

Transportation
  • Fresno Yosemite International Airport (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Fresno Area Express/FAX bus (across the street)

 

Attractions
  • Riverpark Shopping Center (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Fresno Art Museum (3.5 mi/5.6km)
  • Forestiere Underground Gardens (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • California State University Fresno (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Conference/meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event catering
  • Photocopier and fax machine

 

Policies and fees
Roll-away beds are $10 USD per stay, cribs are $10 USD per stay and pets are $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The San Joaquin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The San Joaquin Hotel Rooms

Standard One Bedroom Suite
Standard suites include separate living room and bedroom with queen bed. Micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin Coffee. These economy suites include basic furnishings and standard amenities.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Designer deluxe suites with separate living room and bedroom with King bed. These suites offer a stunning combination of fabric, color and texture. Each suite includes a micro-kitchen with microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker with custom blended San Joaquin coffee. Deluxe suites have a custom San Joaquin Eastern King bed, hard surface floors or custom carpet, two flat panel 32" tv's and granite countertops.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bulldog Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Save Mart Center: 4.3 mi
  • Selland Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Joaquin Hotel, a family owned boutique hotel, located in the prestigious Fig Garden District, offers two distinctive meeting spaces. Whether you are planning a business meeting, regional conference, or corporate gathering, the San Joaquin Hotel will ensure that you receive the highest level of quality. Our Indoor/Outdoor Event space is the ideal setting for an intimate wedding, family gathering or Holiday party.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 14, 2011

Not great...

The room smelt awful and had spot jobs all over the walls in every room with a completely different color paint. The balcony door wouldn't lock so I could barely sleep worried someone could just come in through there. The room was horrible and no where near comfortable and was down right creepy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA CA
Feb 11, 2011

I 'll be back!

Great rate for a big roomy apartment. Furnishings in the regular room are basic but quite serviceable. Having couches, an easy chair and balcony were great. Shuttle service is availible to the Elbow Room at no charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Elbow Room has a free shuttle and good food and wine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shasta CA
Feb 11, 2011

Great place at a decent price

Was on business and I enyoyed the quiet setting. The garden is a great place to have coffee and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
erdlr
Business
El Monte, CA
Feb 10, 2011

Peaceful, pleasant visit

Was very pleasantly surprised by my stay. Very clean, well maintained property. Older, but I definitely will stay here again, like an apartment, spacious. Continetal breakfast area also very nice, beautiful garden around pool area. Great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose
Feb 7, 2011

safe and quiet

we were in Fresno for junior tennis tournament. The hotel is safe and quiet, convenient to all locations. Breakfast is good. The hotel courtyard is well maintained and beautifully landscaped. Room is a bit outdated, but clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobs64impala
Business
fresno
Dec 3, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

i really enjoyed our stay at this location we had a wonderful time just relaxing there.it was very peaceful and cozy. i realy like the way the room was set up it look like a small apartment.i would absolutely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

this location was near some really nice restraunts and near a nice shopping centers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Bargain Traveler
Business
San Ramon, CA
Nov 2, 2010

From the Outside In

The exterior renovation is complete and award winning. The interior is still a work in progress. The owners have already repainted, installed dual pane windows, stocked with upscale soaps/shampoos, and replaced much of the furniture. They're still working on replacing TVs and upgrading other features. My room had two old small tvs, a missing light fixture in the bedroom, and very sad pillows - but Comcast Cable on both TVs. I'd stay again and would love to see some of the rooms that are finished. Look for sales, my rate was less than the low tier motel prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler2320
Business
Riverside,Ca
Oct 30, 2010

Loved it !!!

Really liked the room very clean and quiet. We've stayed at other hotels and this one has been the quietest. Actually got a full night sleep. Decorations are little out of date that's why I gave it four stars but overall loved it. Front counter very friendly lots of restaurants near by. I will defenitly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura County, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Good Online value

The outside of the hotel was pleasant and the landscaping pretty. The standard room we stayed in was obviously converted from an apartment to a hotel room so it had plenty of space. Room needed some repair/refurbishment (i.e., curtain had pin holes, towel rack loose on the wall) but overall was clean. No noticeable odor. Small fridge did make humming noises at night so I had to unplug it. Some street noise could be heard and the airplanes, but airplanes were noticeable only in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book rooms on-line [...] for the best rate. Whole foods and starbucks just down the street, very short drive or mid-walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno ca
Oct 9, 2010

Always a great exp at SJ Hotel

I've initially heard about this hotel from a friend....now let me start by saying this is an establishment you would find either in a big city such as San Francisco or Los Angeles. Im always impressed by the landscape art....the clean grounds and the friendly staff members....so initially before I even step into the room they already are a 10 in my book. Now the rooms....amazing...hardwood...leather sofas....the bed is probably one of the most comfortable ones I've ever slept in. Overall 10/10..I have recommended this place to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top