$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The San Joaquin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1309 West Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The San Joaquin Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mysor
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 28, 2012

Great Place!

Staff was wonderful. The overall atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. The room was large and clean with a comfortable bed. Easy access to Yosemite and freeways and food. Breakfast was simple but got the job done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NanBe
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Fresno trip

This hotel needs serious updating. I guess they have updated the lobby and maybe some rooms - but ours was not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mehmeh
Business
Walnut, CA, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Nice place, great value

The room we stayed in was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The room even came with a small back area (grass, decorative rocks, lawn chairs and an orange tree). However, we were warned that only the renovated rooms are nice. When I called and asked to be placed in a renovated room I was told that those rooms were an additional fee. Once the hostess realized I had booked through this site she upgraded me for free. I'm guessing it was because she knew that I would be asked to complete this review after my trip. It was a nice visit and we had no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fresno
Business
Bay Area
Nov 27, 2011

Horrible experience

the room we were given at the San Joaquin Hotel was dingy, outdated and totally creepy on every level. We literally ran out of the hotel and didnt stay the night! Fortunately we were lucky enough to find a room at Picadilly Inn on Shaw on thanksgiving weekend. Had I not found a room somewhere else, San Joaquin hotel would have put me in a bad situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 14, 2011

Not great...

The room smelt awful and had spot jobs all over the walls in every room with a completely different color paint. The balcony door wouldn't lock so I could barely sleep worried someone could just come in through there. The room was horrible and no where near comfortable and was down right creepy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA CA
Feb 11, 2011

I 'll be back!

Great rate for a big roomy apartment. Furnishings in the regular room are basic but quite serviceable. Having couches, an easy chair and balcony were great. Shuttle service is availible to the Elbow Room at no charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Elbow Room has a free shuttle and good food and wine

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shasta CA
Feb 11, 2011

Great place at a decent price

Was on business and I enyoyed the quiet setting. The garden is a great place to have coffee and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
erdlr
Business
El Monte, CA
Feb 10, 2011

Peaceful, pleasant visit

Was very pleasantly surprised by my stay. Very clean, well maintained property. Older, but I definitely will stay here again, like an apartment, spacious. Continetal breakfast area also very nice, beautiful garden around pool area. Great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose
Feb 7, 2011

safe and quiet

we were in Fresno for junior tennis tournament. The hotel is safe and quiet, convenient to all locations. Breakfast is good. The hotel courtyard is well maintained and beautifully landscaped. Room is a bit outdated, but clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The San Joaquin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobs64impala
Business
fresno
Dec 3, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

i really enjoyed our stay at this location we had a wonderful time just relaxing there.it was very peaceful and cozy. i realy like the way the room was set up it look like a small apartment.i would absolutely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

this location was near some really nice restraunts and near a nice shopping centers

Back to menu Return to top