$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 8, 2014

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
52 reviews
Crowne Plaza

Affordable, several dining options in the hotel as well as in the hotel's neighborhood. Very nice... See full review

  • Sassy Sissy
  • Sep 16, 2014
Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods... See full review

  • ath2
  • Jul 15, 2014
Enjoy the Best of the San Francisco Bay Area Welcome to the Crowne Plaza® Foster City - San Mateo, here to deliver you services and amenities you wont find anywhere else. We are centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley. We are just 9 miles away from the San Francisco International Airport, providing complimentary airport shuttle to and from the hotel. Our hotel is proud to offer free Wi-Fi access, free parking, a 24-hour business center, and 16,000 sq. feet of meeting space to ensure all your professional needs are met. We are surrounded by top companies like Visa, Sony and Gilead, just to name a few. We are also only a short drive from CSM, San Mateo Event Center and Stanford University. Dine at any of our 3 restaurants, dip in our indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and experience the height of relaxation with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring complimentary sleep kits, in any one of our 350 well appointed guestrooms or suites. Treat yourself to an upgrade to our Executive Level featuring breakfast in our Crowne Club und upgraded room amenities. Enjoy the views of Foster Citys lagoon, tee off at one of the local golf courses, stroll the outdoor Shopping Centers upscale shops, or take the free shuttle to the Hillsdale Mall. Make your reservation today and let our award winning team help to make your stay successful and memorable.

Hotel Map

37.5621 -122.277
Nearby airports
Oakland Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI, SW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 27.00, MI, N; San Francisco International, (SFO), 7.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cafe Florian
A beautiful restaurant centrally located in our garden atrium lobby, surrounded by waterfalls and streams of Japanese Koi fish. The Sunday Champagne Brunch offers many choices of delicious items, and is a local favorite.
Chit Chat Lounge
An informal lounge in the lobby that serves drinks and light appetizers.
Clubhouse Bistro
Sports bar and Night Club equipped with a brick fire oven and full bar with drink specialties
Fish Market
Nestled alongside a quiet lagoon, this seafood restaurant features a full service cocktail bar and lounge area and a popular oyster bar. Patio dining available in the summer months.
Kingfish
Steak and Seafood located in downtown San Mateo. Very popular loaction for groups to have dinner.
Paul Martin's American Grill
At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassy Sissy
Business
San Mateo, CA
Sep 16, 2014

Crowne Plaza

Affordable, several dining options in the hotel as well as in the hotel's neighborhood. Very nice and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

3 options for bars. One bar is open until 2 AM but required a $10 cover charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida Roger
Business
Florida
Aug 11, 2014

They did it right

Very comfortable, outstanding location and staff. Complete remodel 99% complete. They are doing the remodel right, everything appears brand new. Double Queen Beds are comfortable. Black out drapes provided flexibility for our sleeping schedule. The Starbucks in the morning and donut was appreciated. Parking was never an issue and always free at street level and their dedicated 2 story parking structure. Great location, less than 15 miles from the airport, for a vacation if you are flying into SFO, touring Stanford, Silicon Valley, Chinatown and Pier 39. The restaurant fare was good with an above average selection. Prices are reasonable. My wife and I have many fond memories of Crowne Plaza Hotels since our Wedding Reception many years age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelesa
Business
Seattle
Aug 11, 2014

decent hotel

It was a good hotel. Just about ten miles from downtown San Francisco, good location if you have a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manuela888
Business
oakland
Aug 10, 2014

construction

Hotel was great the only thing that threw it off was the construction that was taking place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sparkly007
Business
Carson ca
Jul 29, 2014

Worst hotel i have stayed in

I had a problem with my bathtub not draing i told the lady at front desk they did nothing about it. The next morning my carpet was soaking wet bathtub was full of black gunk. I called down and after two diffrent maintance people came in (very rude) they finally swithched my room no one offered to have someone help with our bags nothing. People at front desk were more worried about talking than helping out guest. The parties that go on all night are also disturbing very load peoe screaming through the halls. Just not a great stay wont being staying in one of those hotels ever again. Wish i would know it was also under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ath2
Business
Western PA
Jul 15, 2014

Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods nights of rest there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marlon1974
Business
san francisco
Jun 29, 2014

Unforgettable Experience

Staff was fantastic, manager gave us a free upgrade for being our anniversary. Nice suite very clean and quite. Would definately go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Restaurant and bar at hotel and club.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Mercedes
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 10, 2014

Under renovation

The room and staff along with basic amenities more than just met our expectations. It was very comfortable bed. Jast disappointed that the hotel was under renovation. No atrium, no waterfall, no koi pond, and no breakfast buffet. This needed to be made clear somehow to us before booking. The pool area is very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mario Barroso
Business
São José dos Campos, São Paulo
Jun 1, 2014

Prohibited entry into nightclub

Me and my friend tried dinner at the nightclub but security prevented us from entering that my friend was wearing a simple shoes instead of leather shoes, the situation was extremely awkward because we must be prepared to receive people of different cultures. We did not know who to attend a night club had to be wearing leather shoes. I found it very inelegant by the security guards ban on entering, therefore I did not nominate this hotel to anyone, because I was extremely insatifeito. Mario Barroso

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crys. Super giants fan
Business
Sacramento
Apr 28, 2014

Great weekend get away

It was a nice hotel with really nice staff. The room was very clean and elegant. The one complaint I have is the bed was very hard and the pillows were too soft. Woke up with a neck and back ache the next day. Other than that it was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top