$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
View map of 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PAttyQ
Business
Moorpark, California
Jul 21, 2013

The whole Bay Area real close!

The place was very appealing, rooms very clean, staff efficient and the place overall very comfortable. The biggest plus is that the hotel is located in a nice area, with plenty of shopping places within walking distance, and freeways close by that can take you from San Francisco to the East Bay in minutes! Parking was not a problem - and it was free, while all hotels in San Francisco charge outrageous fees for parking. Great place for the money, and close to SFO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of excellent food (low cost) around the area, and a Costco store, where we bought our wine and cheeses, and saved the happy hour charges at bars or restaurants!

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Mercedes
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 10, 2014

Under renovation

The room and staff along with basic amenities more than just met our expectations. It was very comfortable bed. Jast disappointed that the hotel was under renovation. No atrium, no waterfall, no koi pond, and no breakfast buffet. This needed to be made clear somehow to us before booking. The pool area is very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, CA
Jul 15, 2009

Great Family Stay at this Hotel

Great stay at this hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff and free wireless internet. Very close walking distance to shopping areas, plus free shuttle to nearby mall. The neighborhood seems very safe for walking and not very congested. I was able to walk to Budget car rental to pick up a car and the freeway is nearby to get you in and out of town convieniently. The only thing I had an issue with is after getting out the pool you have to go through the lobby to get back to your room, not really a problem, it just doesn't feel right especially when there are people sitting around waiting in the lobby, a back escape would have been ideal. A great experience overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is a weekend nightclub in the hotel, so if you are going to stay on the weekend and do not want to deal with the noise get a room on one of the higher levels.

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Lovin' Teen
Business
San Francisco
Aug 8, 2009

Great Experience

I was really impressed with this hotel. It was easy to reach and gorgeous on the inside. I was really surprised with the service and cleanliness! The bed was amazingly comfy and the room was immaculate with an HD tv and free internet. Couldn't ask for a better room, especially for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 19, 2007

Great hotel

I liked hotel, it is within walking distance of a shopping center and many restaurants. The hotel was remodeling their restaurants so only one was available but it did have great food. The room was clean and it is great getting free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ukiah, CA.
Jul 6, 2010

Good place to stay

Beds had nice, fluffly comforters, but only doubles instead of Queens, so was a little tight when we had to share with our kids. Kids loved the pool and the glass elevators overlooking the atrium. Good breakfast place with buffet downstairs. Didn't try the buffet but food from the a la carte menu was good. Good Japanese restaurant on lobby level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flymoose
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great Hotel for the price

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the hotel rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and if your into sports they have a great sports bar onsite, the breakfast buffet was also good. However there is one thing I feel that I need to say, is that if your planning on staying here either a Friday or Saturday night, the sports bar turns into a night club, our room sat right above the club, and the music can be heard from the room from at least 10pm til 2am! We decided to check out the club, which turn out to be alot of fun. However If you are looking for a quiet nights sleep on Friday or Saturday night, I highly recommend you ask the hotel to not reserve your room over or near the night club. Overall all I have to say is that this is a great hotel for the price that we paid, and we plan on staying here again on our next trip to the San Francisco area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward, CA
May 1, 2011

good room for a good price!

I just needed a night away from home and I looked up hotels on the peninsula. the hotel itself is really nice inside. really clean and the staff was very nice every time I needed them. the room was a modestly nice room. nothing outstanding cuz well, it's the Crowne Plaza; not the Ritz Carlton. but I really liked the room tho, it was really nice and had everything we needed for the night. we spent the day in SF which was maybe a 20 drive away which isn't bad. and I live across the bridge just about 10 minutes away so the hotel was located in a great place.. halfway between home and SF. I had a good time during my stay, the only thing I didn't like was the hotel made a $50 deposit with my card and never told me that. I had to have an alert sent to my phone from the card company and then asked them to find out what the charge was for. I get it back so it's nothing I'm mad about it just seemed kind of shady that they didn't tell me up front. but thanks for a good time Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive from SF and downtown San Mateo has plenty to do as well.

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfespirit7
Business
Sedona, az
May 9, 2011

Great Stay

Good location. Booked San Francisco bus tour thru hotel, loved someone else doing all the driving. Good restaurants and movie theater cloae by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Carlos, Ca
Nov 16, 2009

Always a nice place

My husband and I go here every couple of months or so as our "weekend getaway" close to home. It's a great room, near restaurants, and the bar/nightclub is fun. Sometimes the nightclub is still a little loud when trying to get to sleep in the room - but it's still a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are 3 good restaurants (El Torito's, Harry's Hofbrau, and Black Angus) all just a block away from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top