$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
52 reviews
Crowne Plaza

Affordable, several dining options in the hotel as well as in the hotel's neighborhood. Very nice... See full review

  • Sassy Sissy
  • Sep 16, 2014
Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods... See full review

  • ath2
  • Jul 15, 2014
Enjoy the Best of the San Francisco Bay Area Welcome to the Crowne Plaza® Foster City - San Mateo, here to deliver you services and amenities you wont find anywhere else. We are centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley. We are just 9 miles away from the San Francisco International Airport, providing complimentary airport shuttle to and from the hotel. Our hotel is proud to offer free Wi-Fi access, free parking, a 24-hour business center, and 16,000 sq. feet of meeting space to ensure all your professional needs are met. We are surrounded by top companies like Visa, Sony and Gilead, just to name a few. We are also only a short drive from CSM, San Mateo Event Center and Stanford University. Dine at any of our 3 restaurants, dip in our indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and experience the height of relaxation with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring complimentary sleep kits, in any one of our 350 well appointed guestrooms or suites. Treat yourself to an upgrade to our Executive Level featuring breakfast in our Crowne Club und upgraded room amenities. Enjoy the views of Foster Citys lagoon, tee off at one of the local golf courses, stroll the outdoor Shopping Centers upscale shops, or take the free shuttle to the Hillsdale Mall. Make your reservation today and let our award winning team help to make your stay successful and memorable.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cafe Florian
A beautiful restaurant centrally located in our garden atrium lobby, surrounded by waterfalls and streams of Japanese Koi fish. The Sunday Champagne Brunch offers many choices of delicious items, and is a local favorite.
Chit Chat Lounge
An informal lounge in the lobby that serves drinks and light appetizers.
Clubhouse Bistro
Sports bar and Night Club equipped with a brick fire oven and full bar with drink specialties
Fish Market
Nestled alongside a quiet lagoon, this seafood restaurant features a full service cocktail bar and lounge area and a popular oyster bar. Patio dining available in the summer months.
Kingfish
Steak and Seafood located in downtown San Mateo. Very popular loaction for groups to have dinner.
Paul Martin's American Grill
At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 52
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NHRunner
Business
NH
Jul 19, 2012

Ok on the weekends

Looks like a decent business hotel. The only problem I had was the bathroom light kept coming back on so I shut the door and put a towel across the bottom to block the light at night...never bothered to complain. Probaly wouldn't pay weekday rates out of my own pocket for just myself. Location is good for hitting anywhere on the pennisula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sally Beth R
Business
Choctaw, OK
Jun 25, 2012

Comfortable and clean

This was my third time staying at this hotel and they did not disappoint. I would highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario
Aug 14, 2010

Awesome experience!!!!!!!!

Everything was perfect, plenty of towels clean bathroom, plenty of real glass cups for a drink, computer connection, many many many amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Countryboyjoe
Business
Santa Maria, Ca
Aug 2, 2010

Great Place!

I usually avoid higher priced hotels like this, but was here for my niece's wedding, and the whole family was staying at this hotel. Got a great price here on Orbitz, but was really impressed at the hotel! Front desk service was wonderful, placing me in a room with all the amenities I LOVE! My room was clean, quiet, and just all around great. I was at the FAR end of the hallway from the elevators, but I think that's part of why it was so quiet. And a little walking won't kill anyone! hehe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Since they don't include a continental breakfast, and the restaurants & room service in the hotel are rather pricy, I recommend the IHOP and surrounding restaurants across the freeway. Any GPS can probably find it for you...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Probably good, but not THIS trip!

After a long shopping day on a buying trip for my company, all I wanted was room service, a movie, and peaceful rest before more of the same on the following day. Was told the room I reserved had been taken and all that remained was over the Bistro. I was too tired to go looking elsewhere. Ordered dinner before discovering the air conditioner didn't work. Engineer visited twice during my relaxing (not!) dinner so held off for the movie until desert- by then the air conditioner worked, but in planning to move me to another room, I could no longer order a movie. 15 minutes after calling the desk, i still couldn't order a movie and gave up. Creme brulee was all creme, no brulee- like pudding from the refrigerator, so I ordered again and paid for two deserts. Drums and base from the Bistro rattled the room until 1AM both nights. The hotel LOOKS lovely- the breakfast was fabulous, but this was the worst business trip I've taken in several years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 19, 2007

Great hotel

I liked hotel, it is within walking distance of a shopping center and many restaurants. The hotel was remodeling their restaurants so only one was available but it did have great food. The room was clean and it is great getting free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top