$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
1221 CHESS DRIVE, FOSTER CITY, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
71 reviews
Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods... See full review

  • ath2
  • Jul 15, 2014
Unforgettable Experience

Staff was fantastic, manager gave us a free upgrade for being our anniversary. Nice suite very... See full review

  • marlon1974
  • Jun 29, 2014
Enjoy the Best of the San Francisco Bay Area Welcome to the Crowne Plaza® Foster City - San Mateo, here to deliver you services and amenities you wont find anywhere else. We are centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley. We are just 9 miles away from the San Francisco International Airport, providing complimentary airport shuttle to and from the hotel. Our hotel is proud to offer free Wi-Fi access, free parking, a 24-hour business center, and 16,000 sq. feet of meeting space to ensure all your professional needs are met. We are surrounded by top companies like Visa, Sony and Gilead, just to name a few. We are also only a short drive from CSM, San Mateo Event Center and Stanford University. Dine at any of our 3 restaurants, dip in our indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and experience the height of relaxation with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring complimentary sleep kits, in any one of our 350 well appointed guestrooms or suites. Treat yourself to an upgrade to our Executive Level featuring breakfast in our Crowne Club und upgraded room amenities. Enjoy the views of Foster Citys lagoon, tee off at one of the local golf courses, stroll the outdoor Shopping Centers upscale shops, or take the free shuttle to the Hillsdale Mall. Make your reservation today and let our award winning team help to make your stay successful and memorable.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.5621 -122.277
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 27.00, MI, N; Oakland Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI, SW; San Francisco International, (SFO), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Dining

Cafe Florian
A beautiful restaurant centrally located in our garden atrium lobby, surrounded by waterfalls and streams of Japanese Koi fish. The Sunday Champagne Brunch offers many choices of delicious items, and is a local favorite.
Chit Chat Lounge
An informal lounge in the lobby that serves drinks and light appetizers.
Clubhouse Bistro
Sports bar and Night Club equipped with a brick fire oven and full bar with drink specialties
Fish Market
Nestled alongside a quiet lagoon, this seafood restaurant features a full service cocktail bar and lounge area and a popular oyster bar. Patio dining available in the summer months.
Kingfish
Steak and Seafood located in downtown San Mateo. Very popular loaction for groups to have dinner.
Paul Martin's American Grill
At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Mercedes
Los Angeles
Jun 10, 2014

Under renovation

The room and staff along with basic amenities more than just met our expectations. It was very comfortable bed. Jast disappointed that the hotel was under renovation. No atrium, no waterfall, no koi pond, and no breakfast buffet. This needed to be made clear somehow to us before booking. The pool area is very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flip831
Gonzales
Aug 26, 2013

Average stay

It wasn't the greatest or the worst. To me it was average. We did only stay for the night. The only thing that bothered me was you could here the flushing of the showers from the other rooms. Otherwise it was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nanda Nemani
Piscataway
Apr 22, 2013

Comfortable stay

We stayed in this hotel after a day long drive. The room was so nice and we had a relaxing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Airport

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank M 19
Ft. Lauderdale
Sep 4, 2012

Foster city

Good and convenient. Clean. Thanks to the cleaning personnel they accommodate our request

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great sports bar

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler I
Redwood City
Aug 1, 2012

Traveler I

Very Nice...Bellman/Busdriver helpful... A little far from airport..but not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 4, 2010

Unacceptable Loud Music

While we've stayed at this hotel on weekends and enjoyed it as restful and accomodating, we were shocked this time to be subjected to extremely loud pounding rock and roll music from the bar (3 floors down) that started at 8PM. Front desk told us that this is a "regular" feature that continues til 1:30AM Fri/Sat. At 10:30PM, they "allowed" us to move to a different room (they offered no assistance to me and my 2 kids) and the new room did not have a minifrig as the old one had, which we needed for the kids's food. It also had cobwebs in the corners. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 4, 2010

Unacceptable Loud Music

While we've stayed at this hotel on weekends and enjoyed it as restful and accomodating, we were shocked this time to be subjected to extremely loud pounding rock and roll music from the bar (3 floors down) that started at 8PM. Front desk told us that this is a "regular" feature that continues til 1:30AM Fri/Sat. At 10:30PM, they "allowed" us to move to a different room (they offered no assistance to me and my 2 kids) and the new room did not have a minifrig as the old one had, which we needed for the kids's food. It also had cobwebs in the corners. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ukiah, CA.
Jul 6, 2010

Good place to stay

Beds had nice, fluffly comforters, but only doubles instead of Queens, so was a little tight when we had to share with our kids. Kids loved the pool and the glass elevators overlooking the atrium. Good breakfast place with buffet downstairs. Didn't try the buffet but food from the a la carte menu was good. Good Japanese restaurant on lobby level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ukiah, CA.
Jul 6, 2010

Good place to stay

Beds had nice, fluffly comforters, but only doubles instead of Queens, so was a little tight when we had to share with our kids. Kids loved the pool and the glass elevators overlooking the atrium. Good breakfast place with buffet downstairs. Didn't try the buffet but food from the a la carte menu was good. Good Japanese restaurant on lobby level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jan 18, 2010

Crowne Plaza Foster City CA

Room on the small side. Lots of street noise facing Chess Drive. Expensive breakfast options in hotel. Supermarket and lots of inexpensive dining within 5 min drive. Easy freeway access. In-room refrig small but very useful and quiet. Great 37" LG HDTV. Would be nice to have on-screen tv program guide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top