$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
52 reviews
Crowne Plaza

Affordable, several dining options in the hotel as well as in the hotel's neighborhood. Very nice... See full review

  • Sassy Sissy
  • Sep 16, 2014
Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods... See full review

  • ath2
  • Jul 15, 2014
Enjoy the Best of the San Francisco Bay Area Welcome to the Crowne Plaza® Foster City - San Mateo, here to deliver you services and amenities you wont find anywhere else. We are centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley. We are just 9 miles away from the San Francisco International Airport, providing complimentary airport shuttle to and from the hotel. Our hotel is proud to offer free Wi-Fi access, free parking, a 24-hour business center, and 16,000 sq. feet of meeting space to ensure all your professional needs are met. We are surrounded by top companies like Visa, Sony and Gilead, just to name a few. We are also only a short drive from CSM, San Mateo Event Center and Stanford University. Dine at any of our 3 restaurants, dip in our indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and experience the height of relaxation with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring complimentary sleep kits, in any one of our 350 well appointed guestrooms or suites. Treat yourself to an upgrade to our Executive Level featuring breakfast in our Crowne Club und upgraded room amenities. Enjoy the views of Foster Citys lagoon, tee off at one of the local golf courses, stroll the outdoor Shopping Centers upscale shops, or take the free shuttle to the Hillsdale Mall. Make your reservation today and let our award winning team help to make your stay successful and memorable.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cafe Florian
A beautiful restaurant centrally located in our garden atrium lobby, surrounded by waterfalls and streams of Japanese Koi fish. The Sunday Champagne Brunch offers many choices of delicious items, and is a local favorite.
Chit Chat Lounge
An informal lounge in the lobby that serves drinks and light appetizers.
Clubhouse Bistro
Sports bar and Night Club equipped with a brick fire oven and full bar with drink specialties
Fish Market
Nestled alongside a quiet lagoon, this seafood restaurant features a full service cocktail bar and lounge area and a popular oyster bar. Patio dining available in the summer months.
Kingfish
Steak and Seafood located in downtown San Mateo. Very popular loaction for groups to have dinner.
Paul Martin's American Grill
At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 52
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassy Sissy
Business
San Mateo, CA
Sep 16, 2014

Crowne Plaza

Affordable, several dining options in the hotel as well as in the hotel's neighborhood. Very nice and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

3 options for bars. One bar is open until 2 AM but required a $10 cover charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manuela888
Business
oakland
Aug 10, 2014

construction

Hotel was great the only thing that threw it off was the construction that was taking place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ath2
Business
Western PA
Jul 15, 2014

Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods nights of rest there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marlon1974
Business
san francisco
Jun 29, 2014

Unforgettable Experience

Staff was fantastic, manager gave us a free upgrade for being our anniversary. Nice suite very clean and quite. Would definately go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Restaurant and bar at hotel and club.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crys. Super giants fan
Business
Sacramento
Apr 28, 2014

Great weekend get away

It was a nice hotel with really nice staff. The room was very clean and elegant. The one complaint I have is the bed was very hard and the pillows were too soft. Woke up with a neck and back ache the next day. Other than that it was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tipsy Traveler
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Dec 9, 2013

Great Find in Foster City

The Crowne Plaza in Foster City is a real gem. The rooms are spotless and the staff friendly and extremely helpful. Although the hotel is located close to Hwy. 92, the rooms are really soundproof - I couldn't even hear a thing from the room next door. There's several nice restaurants in the restaurant and other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. I like to stay there when visiting family in the area but it is also very close to the San Francisco airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PAttyQ
Business
Moorpark, California
Jul 21, 2013

The whole Bay Area real close!

The place was very appealing, rooms very clean, staff efficient and the place overall very comfortable. The biggest plus is that the hotel is located in a nice area, with plenty of shopping places within walking distance, and freeways close by that can take you from San Francisco to the East Bay in minutes! Parking was not a problem - and it was free, while all hotels in San Francisco charge outrageous fees for parking. Great place for the money, and close to SFO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of excellent food (low cost) around the area, and a Costco store, where we bought our wine and cheeses, and saved the happy hour charges at bars or restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No More Crown Crown Plaza
Business
OC, CA
Jun 4, 2013

BEWARE of a "Great Rate at the Crown Plaza" - You Will Be Sorry!

I previously thought this hotel chain was a higher level hotel - not anymore! This stay was the worst ever. We arrived early for check-in to our pre-paid room (paid for about a month earlier) and were curtly told by the check-in person "You're too early - you'll have to come back later". When we did come back we were assigned a room which we did not know AND WERE NEVER TOLD was directly ON TOP OF the dance club. Its not as though this was the last room available in the hotel, but this is the one they gave us. So - BEWARE OF A GREAT RATE! We were never asked at check-in whether music until 1:30 am (and no sleep until after that time) would be OK. It was not until we returned to our room late in the evening that we realized our floor was the roof of the club and we would not be sleeping anytime soon. After a call the staff did offer to relocate us, but come on, give me a break - at midnight?? To further top-off this poor excuse for a hotel room was an air conditioner which would not cool below 84 degrees, and a shower handle which was just about to fall off when touched. That will be the last stay (ever) at this hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groom's Mother
Business
Houston TX
Feb 11, 2013

Wedding Trip

We were in the SF area for our son's wedding. The hotel was centrally located to the venue and other places we wanted to visit. However, the room was too small for the large furniture. There was barely room to move around the room. It would have been great to have a bit more room so an arm chair could be included in the room. Not sure if we were given a smaller room because we booked through a travel package, but I was disappointed in the room size. We were also turned away from the night club on Saturday night due to a dress code, which was not stated in any of the brochures/room information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would definitely use a GPS because the SF area is confusing to navigate in a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCA Ed
Business
Eureka, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Medical Stay

We have been to Stanford for my wife several times now. We have stayed at 4 different hotels and by far this was our favorite. The place was clean and comfortable meeting our needs. We enjoyed the eating establishments located in the hotel and found a cute unique gift in their gift shop. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top