$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
52 reviews
Crowne Plaza

Affordable, several dining options in the hotel as well as in the hotel's neighborhood. Very nice... See full review

  • Sassy Sissy
  • Sep 16, 2014
Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods... See full review

  • ath2
  • Jul 15, 2014
Enjoy the Best of the San Francisco Bay Area Welcome to the Crowne Plaza® Foster City - San Mateo, here to deliver you services and amenities you wont find anywhere else. We are centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley. We are just 9 miles away from the San Francisco International Airport, providing complimentary airport shuttle to and from the hotel. Our hotel is proud to offer free Wi-Fi access, free parking, a 24-hour business center, and 16,000 sq. feet of meeting space to ensure all your professional needs are met. We are surrounded by top companies like Visa, Sony and Gilead, just to name a few. We are also only a short drive from CSM, San Mateo Event Center and Stanford University. Dine at any of our 3 restaurants, dip in our indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and experience the height of relaxation with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring complimentary sleep kits, in any one of our 350 well appointed guestrooms or suites. Treat yourself to an upgrade to our Executive Level featuring breakfast in our Crowne Club und upgraded room amenities. Enjoy the views of Foster Citys lagoon, tee off at one of the local golf courses, stroll the outdoor Shopping Centers upscale shops, or take the free shuttle to the Hillsdale Mall. Make your reservation today and let our award winning team help to make your stay successful and memorable.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cafe Florian
A beautiful restaurant centrally located in our garden atrium lobby, surrounded by waterfalls and streams of Japanese Koi fish. The Sunday Champagne Brunch offers many choices of delicious items, and is a local favorite.
Chit Chat Lounge
An informal lounge in the lobby that serves drinks and light appetizers.
Clubhouse Bistro
Sports bar and Night Club equipped with a brick fire oven and full bar with drink specialties
Fish Market
Nestled alongside a quiet lagoon, this seafood restaurant features a full service cocktail bar and lounge area and a popular oyster bar. Patio dining available in the summer months.
Kingfish
Steak and Seafood located in downtown San Mateo. Very popular loaction for groups to have dinner.
Paul Martin's American Grill
At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No More Crown Crown Plaza
Business
OC, CA
Jun 4, 2013

BEWARE of a "Great Rate at the Crown Plaza" - You Will Be Sorry!

I previously thought this hotel chain was a higher level hotel - not anymore! This stay was the worst ever. We arrived early for check-in to our pre-paid room (paid for about a month earlier) and were curtly told by the check-in person "You're too early - you'll have to come back later". When we did come back we were assigned a room which we did not know AND WERE NEVER TOLD was directly ON TOP OF the dance club. Its not as though this was the last room available in the hotel, but this is the one they gave us. So - BEWARE OF A GREAT RATE! We were never asked at check-in whether music until 1:30 am (and no sleep until after that time) would be OK. It was not until we returned to our room late in the evening that we realized our floor was the roof of the club and we would not be sleeping anytime soon. After a call the staff did offer to relocate us, but come on, give me a break - at midnight?? To further top-off this poor excuse for a hotel room was an air conditioner which would not cool below 84 degrees, and a shower handle which was just about to fall off when touched. That will be the last stay (ever) at this hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mario Barroso
Business
São José dos Campos, São Paulo
Jun 1, 2014

Prohibited entry into nightclub

Me and my friend tried dinner at the nightclub but security prevented us from entering that my friend was wearing a simple shoes instead of leather shoes, the situation was extremely awkward because we must be prepared to receive people of different cultures. We did not know who to attend a night club had to be wearing leather shoes. I found it very inelegant by the security guards ban on entering, therefore I did not nominate this hotel to anyone, because I was extremely insatifeito. Mario Barroso

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 4, 2010

Unacceptable Loud Music

While we've stayed at this hotel on weekends and enjoyed it as restful and accomodating, we were shocked this time to be subjected to extremely loud pounding rock and roll music from the bar (3 floors down) that started at 8PM. Front desk told us that this is a "regular" feature that continues til 1:30AM Fri/Sat. At 10:30PM, they "allowed" us to move to a different room (they offered no assistance to me and my 2 kids) and the new room did not have a minifrig as the old one had, which we needed for the kids's food. It also had cobwebs in the corners. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sparkly007
Business
Carson ca
Jul 29, 2014

Worst hotel i have stayed in

I had a problem with my bathtub not draing i told the lady at front desk they did nothing about it. The next morning my carpet was soaking wet bathtub was full of black gunk. I called down and after two diffrent maintance people came in (very rude) they finally swithched my room no one offered to have someone help with our bags nothing. People at front desk were more worried about talking than helping out guest. The parties that go on all night are also disturbing very load peoe screaming through the halls. Just not a great stay wont being staying in one of those hotels ever again. Wish i would know it was also under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newbie to SF
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 11, 2011

As expected

The hotel has a club and we could hear the music from our 4th floor room. The sushi restaurant in the hotel was decent. The ac in the room made strange noises our first night and in the morning we realized it was leaking too and the carpet was wet. We reported the problem they resolved the strange noises but by the end of our 4 day stay the carpet was still wet and spread to the desk area. On our 2nd day, the shower knob fell off which was promptly repaired. Nothing spectacular about this hotel, and you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flip831
Business
Gonzales
Aug 26, 2013

Average stay

It wasn't the greatest or the worst. To me it was average. We did only stay for the night. The only thing that bothered me was you could here the flushing of the showers from the other rooms. Otherwise it was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 18, 2010

Crowne Plaza Foster City CA

Room on the small side. Lots of street noise facing Chess Drive. Expensive breakfast options in hotel. Supermarket and lots of inexpensive dining within 5 min drive. Easy freeway access. In-room refrig small but very useful and quiet. Great 37" LG HDTV. Would be nice to have on-screen tv program guide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Probably good, but not THIS trip!

After a long shopping day on a buying trip for my company, all I wanted was room service, a movie, and peaceful rest before more of the same on the following day. Was told the room I reserved had been taken and all that remained was over the Bistro. I was too tired to go looking elsewhere. Ordered dinner before discovering the air conditioner didn't work. Engineer visited twice during my relaxing (not!) dinner so held off for the movie until desert- by then the air conditioner worked, but in planning to move me to another room, I could no longer order a movie. 15 minutes after calling the desk, i still couldn't order a movie and gave up. Creme brulee was all creme, no brulee- like pudding from the refrigerator, so I ordered again and paid for two deserts. Drums and base from the Bistro rattled the room until 1AM both nights. The hotel LOOKS lovely- the breakfast was fabulous, but this was the worst business trip I've taken in several years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 5, 2009

Very Decent Business Hotel

Decent small hotel. Good Japanese Restaurant next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good sushi place attached.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 30, 2010

Crowne Plaza San Fran

It was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top