$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
View map of 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank M 19
Ft. Lauderdale
Sep 4, 2012

Foster city

Good and convenient. Clean. Thanks to the cleaning personnel they accommodate our request

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great sports bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flymoose
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great Hotel for the price

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the hotel rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and if your into sports they have a great sports bar onsite, the breakfast buffet was also good. However there is one thing I feel that I need to say, is that if your planning on staying here either a Friday or Saturday night, the sports bar turns into a night club, our room sat right above the club, and the music can be heard from the room from at least 10pm til 2am! We decided to check out the club, which turn out to be alot of fun. However If you are looking for a quiet nights sleep on Friday or Saturday night, I highly recommend you ask the hotel to not reserve your room over or near the night club. Overall all I have to say is that this is a great hotel for the price that we paid, and we plan on staying here again on our next trip to the San Francisco area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfespirit7
Business
Sedona, az
May 9, 2011

Great Stay

Good location. Booked San Francisco bus tour thru hotel, loved someone else doing all the driving. Good restaurants and movie theater cloae by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward, CA
May 1, 2011

good room for a good price!

I just needed a night away from home and I looked up hotels on the peninsula. the hotel itself is really nice inside. really clean and the staff was very nice every time I needed them. the room was a modestly nice room. nothing outstanding cuz well, it's the Crowne Plaza; not the Ritz Carlton. but I really liked the room tho, it was really nice and had everything we needed for the night. we spent the day in SF which was maybe a 20 drive away which isn't bad. and I live across the bridge just about 10 minutes away so the hotel was located in a great place.. halfway between home and SF. I had a good time during my stay, the only thing I didn't like was the hotel made a $50 deposit with my card and never told me that. I had to have an alert sent to my phone from the card company and then asked them to find out what the charge was for. I get it back so it's nothing I'm mad about it just seemed kind of shady that they didn't tell me up front. but thanks for a good time Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive from SF and downtown San Mateo has plenty to do as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east brunswick, nj
Mar 10, 2011

Excellent stay at Crowne Plaza

I had an excellent stay at the hotel. The room was clean and well appointed. My few interactions with the staff was courteous and efficient. The hotel was in a good area, was quiet and looked well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 30, 2010

Crowne Plaza San Fran

It was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 4, 2010

Unacceptable Loud Music

While we've stayed at this hotel on weekends and enjoyed it as restful and accomodating, we were shocked this time to be subjected to extremely loud pounding rock and roll music from the bar (3 floors down) that started at 8PM. Front desk told us that this is a "regular" feature that continues til 1:30AM Fri/Sat. At 10:30PM, they "allowed" us to move to a different room (they offered no assistance to me and my 2 kids) and the new room did not have a minifrig as the old one had, which we needed for the kids's food. It also had cobwebs in the corners. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario
Aug 14, 2010

Awesome experience!!!!!!!!

Everything was perfect, plenty of towels clean bathroom, plenty of real glass cups for a drink, computer connection, many many many amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Countryboyjoe
Business
Santa Maria, Ca
Aug 2, 2010

Great Place!

I usually avoid higher priced hotels like this, but was here for my niece's wedding, and the whole family was staying at this hotel. Got a great price here on Orbitz, but was really impressed at the hotel! Front desk service was wonderful, placing me in a room with all the amenities I LOVE! My room was clean, quiet, and just all around great. I was at the FAR end of the hallway from the elevators, but I think that's part of why it was so quiet. And a little walking won't kill anyone! hehe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Since they don't include a continental breakfast, and the restaurants & room service in the hotel are rather pricy, I recommend the IHOP and surrounding restaurants across the freeway. Any GPS can probably find it for you...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ukiah, CA.
Jul 6, 2010

Good place to stay

Beds had nice, fluffly comforters, but only doubles instead of Queens, so was a little tight when we had to share with our kids. Kids loved the pool and the glass elevators overlooking the atrium. Good breakfast place with buffet downstairs. Didn't try the buffet but food from the a la carte menu was good. Good Japanese restaurant on lobby level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jilly Bean
Business
Queen Creek, Arizona
Feb 9, 2010

Crowne Plaza - Foster City

We were visiting family that lived in Foster City as well as going to the city and up to Sonoma. Good central location - close to the freeway - close to the grocery store!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There was a spirited Super Bowl Party going on this past weekend - good food, good drinks, great venue, very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top