$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
51 reviews
Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods... See full review

  • ath2
  • Jul 15, 2014
Unforgettable Experience

Staff was fantastic, manager gave us a free upgrade for being our anniversary. Nice suite very... See full review

  • marlon1974
  • Jun 29, 2014
Enjoy the Best of the San Francisco Bay Area Welcome to the Crowne Plaza® Foster City - San Mateo, here to deliver you services and amenities you wont find anywhere else. We are centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley. We are just 9 miles away from the San Francisco International Airport, providing complimentary airport shuttle to and from the hotel. Our hotel is proud to offer free Wi-Fi access, free parking, a 24-hour business center, and 16,000 sq. feet of meeting space to ensure all your professional needs are met. We are surrounded by top companies like Visa, Sony and Gilead, just to name a few. We are also only a short drive from CSM, San Mateo Event Center and Stanford University. Dine at any of our 3 restaurants, dip in our indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and experience the height of relaxation with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring complimentary sleep kits, in any one of our 350 well appointed guestrooms or suites. Treat yourself to an upgrade to our Executive Level featuring breakfast in our Crowne Club und upgraded room amenities. Enjoy the views of Foster Citys lagoon, tee off at one of the local golf courses, stroll the outdoor Shopping Centers upscale shops, or take the free shuttle to the Hillsdale Mall. Make your reservation today and let our award winning team help to make your stay successful and memorable.

Hotel Map

37.5621 -122.277
Nearby airports
Oakland Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 27.00, MI; San Francisco International, (SFO), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cafe Florian
A beautiful restaurant centrally located in our garden atrium lobby, surrounded by waterfalls and streams of Japanese Koi fish. The Sunday Champagne Brunch offers many choices of delicious items, and is a local favorite.
Chit Chat Lounge
An informal lounge in the lobby that serves drinks and light appetizers.
Clubhouse Bistro
Sports bar and Night Club equipped with a brick fire oven and full bar with drink specialties
Fish Market
Nestled alongside a quiet lagoon, this seafood restaurant features a full service cocktail bar and lounge area and a popular oyster bar. Patio dining available in the summer months.
Kingfish
Steak and Seafood located in downtown San Mateo. Very popular loaction for groups to have dinner.
Paul Martin's American Grill
At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kat13
San Mateo, CA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great hotel!

Great location! Great price! One of my favorite hotels to stay in !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario
Aug 14, 2010

Awesome experience!!!!!!!!

Everything was perfect, plenty of towels clean bathroom, plenty of real glass cups for a drink, computer connection, many many many amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Countryboyjoe
Santa Maria, Ca
Aug 2, 2010

Great Place!

I usually avoid higher priced hotels like this, but was here for my niece's wedding, and the whole family was staying at this hotel. Got a great price here on Orbitz, but was really impressed at the hotel! Front desk service was wonderful, placing me in a room with all the amenities I LOVE! My room was clean, quiet, and just all around great. I was at the FAR end of the hallway from the elevators, but I think that's part of why it was so quiet. And a little walking won't kill anyone! hehe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Since they don't include a continental breakfast, and the restaurants & room service in the hotel are rather pricy, I recommend the IHOP and surrounding restaurants across the freeway. Any GPS can probably find it for you...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ukiah, CA.
Jul 6, 2010

Good place to stay

Beds had nice, fluffly comforters, but only doubles instead of Queens, so was a little tight when we had to share with our kids. Kids loved the pool and the glass elevators overlooking the atrium. Good breakfast place with buffet downstairs. Didn't try the buffet but food from the a la carte menu was good. Good Japanese restaurant on lobby level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jilly Bean
Queen Creek, Arizona
Feb 9, 2010

Crowne Plaza - Foster City

We were visiting family that lived in Foster City as well as going to the city and up to Sonoma. Good central location - close to the freeway - close to the grocery store!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

There was a spirited Super Bowl Party going on this past weekend - good food, good drinks, great venue, very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jan 18, 2010

Crowne Plaza Foster City CA

Room on the small side. Lots of street noise facing Chess Drive. Expensive breakfast options in hotel. Supermarket and lots of inexpensive dining within 5 min drive. Easy freeway access. In-room refrig small but very useful and quiet. Great 37" LG HDTV. Would be nice to have on-screen tv program guide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Carlos, Ca
Nov 16, 2009

Always a nice place

My husband and I go here every couple of months or so as our "weekend getaway" close to home. It's a great room, near restaurants, and the bar/nightclub is fun. Sometimes the nightclub is still a little loud when trying to get to sleep in the room - but it's still a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are 3 good restaurants (El Torito's, Harry's Hofbrau, and Black Angus) all just a block away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plano, TX
Oct 26, 2009

Great place at a very affordable price

Nothing went wrong at all. Everything went as expected, great room, for no reason they upgraded me to their new business tower which includes a desk with a PC computer in each room, great facilities in general. It is worth the drive from downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Lovin' Teen
San Francisco
Aug 8, 2009

Great Experience

I was really impressed with this hotel. It was easy to reach and gorgeous on the inside. I was really surprised with the service and cleanliness! The bed was amazingly comfy and the room was immaculate with an HD tv and free internet. Couldn't ask for a better room, especially for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 5, 2009

Very Decent Business Hotel

Decent small hotel. Good Japanese Restaurant next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good sushi place attached.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster, CA
Jul 15, 2009

Great Family Stay at this Hotel

Great stay at this hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff and free wireless internet. Very close walking distance to shopping areas, plus free shuttle to nearby mall. The neighborhood seems very safe for walking and not very congested. I was able to walk to Budget car rental to pick up a car and the freeway is nearby to get you in and out of town convieniently. The only thing I had an issue with is after getting out the pool you have to go through the lobby to get back to your room, not really a problem, it just doesn't feel right especially when there are people sitting around waiting in the lobby, a back escape would have been ideal. A great experience overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is a weekend nightclub in the hotel, so if you are going to stay on the weekend and do not want to deal with the noise get a room on one of the higher levels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search