$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
1221 CHESS DRIVE, FOSTER CITY, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
71 reviews
Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods... See full review

  • ath2
  • Jul 15, 2014
Unforgettable Experience

Staff was fantastic, manager gave us a free upgrade for being our anniversary. Nice suite very... See full review

  • marlon1974
  • Jun 29, 2014
Enjoy the Best of the San Francisco Bay Area Welcome to the Crowne Plaza® Foster City - San Mateo, here to deliver you services and amenities you wont find anywhere else. We are centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley. We are just 9 miles away from the San Francisco International Airport, providing complimentary airport shuttle to and from the hotel. Our hotel is proud to offer free Wi-Fi access, free parking, a 24-hour business center, and 16,000 sq. feet of meeting space to ensure all your professional needs are met. We are surrounded by top companies like Visa, Sony and Gilead, just to name a few. We are also only a short drive from CSM, San Mateo Event Center and Stanford University. Dine at any of our 3 restaurants, dip in our indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and experience the height of relaxation with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring complimentary sleep kits, in any one of our 350 well appointed guestrooms or suites. Treat yourself to an upgrade to our Executive Level featuring breakfast in our Crowne Club und upgraded room amenities. Enjoy the views of Foster Citys lagoon, tee off at one of the local golf courses, stroll the outdoor Shopping Centers upscale shops, or take the free shuttle to the Hillsdale Mall. Make your reservation today and let our award winning team help to make your stay successful and memorable.

Hotel Map

37.5621 -122.277
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 27.00, MI, N; Oakland Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI, SW; San Francisco International, (SFO), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Cafe Florian
A beautiful restaurant centrally located in our garden atrium lobby, surrounded by waterfalls and streams of Japanese Koi fish. The Sunday Champagne Brunch offers many choices of delicious items, and is a local favorite.
Chit Chat Lounge
An informal lounge in the lobby that serves drinks and light appetizers.
Clubhouse Bistro
Sports bar and Night Club equipped with a brick fire oven and full bar with drink specialties
Fish Market
Nestled alongside a quiet lagoon, this seafood restaurant features a full service cocktail bar and lounge area and a popular oyster bar. Patio dining available in the summer months.
Kingfish
Steak and Seafood located in downtown San Mateo. Very popular loaction for groups to have dinner.
Paul Martin's American Grill
At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank M 19
Ft. Lauderdale
Sep 4, 2012

Foster city

Good and convenient. Clean. Thanks to the cleaning personnel they accommodate our request

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great sports bar

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flymoose
Honolulu, HI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great Hotel for the price

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the hotel rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and if your into sports they have a great sports bar onsite, the breakfast buffet was also good. However there is one thing I feel that I need to say, is that if your planning on staying here either a Friday or Saturday night, the sports bar turns into a night club, our room sat right above the club, and the music can be heard from the room from at least 10pm til 2am! We decided to check out the club, which turn out to be alot of fun. However If you are looking for a quiet nights sleep on Friday or Saturday night, I highly recommend you ask the hotel to not reserve your room over or near the night club. Overall all I have to say is that this is a great hotel for the price that we paid, and we plan on staying here again on our next trip to the San Francisco area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flymoose
Honolulu, HI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great Hotel for the price

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the hotel rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and if your into sports they have a great sports bar onsite, the breakfast buffet was also good. However there is one thing I feel that I need to say, is that if your planning on staying here either a Friday or Saturday night, the sports bar turns into a night club, our room sat right above the club, and the music can be heard from the room from at least 10pm til 2am! We decided to check out the club, which turn out to be alot of fun. However If you are looking for a quiet nights sleep on Friday or Saturday night, I highly recommend you ask the hotel to not reserve your room over or near the night club. Overall all I have to say is that this is a great hotel for the price that we paid, and we plan on staying here again on our next trip to the San Francisco area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfespirit7
Sedona, az
May 9, 2011

Great Stay

Good location. Booked San Francisco bus tour thru hotel, loved someone else doing all the driving. Good restaurants and movie theater cloae by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfespirit7
Sedona, az
May 9, 2011

Great Stay

Good location. Booked San Francisco bus tour thru hotel, loved someone else doing all the driving. Good restaurants and movie theater cloae by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hayward, CA
May 1, 2011

good room for a good price!

I just needed a night away from home and I looked up hotels on the peninsula. the hotel itself is really nice inside. really clean and the staff was very nice every time I needed them. the room was a modestly nice room. nothing outstanding cuz well, it's the Crowne Plaza; not the Ritz Carlton. but I really liked the room tho, it was really nice and had everything we needed for the night. we spent the day in SF which was maybe a 20 drive away which isn't bad. and I live across the bridge just about 10 minutes away so the hotel was located in a great place.. halfway between home and SF. I had a good time during my stay, the only thing I didn't like was the hotel made a $50 deposit with my card and never told me that. I had to have an alert sent to my phone from the card company and then asked them to find out what the charge was for. I get it back so it's nothing I'm mad about it just seemed kind of shady that they didn't tell me up front. but thanks for a good time Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive from SF and downtown San Mateo has plenty to do as well.

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hayward, CA
May 1, 2011

good room for a good price!

I just needed a night away from home and I looked up hotels on the peninsula. the hotel itself is really nice inside. really clean and the staff was very nice every time I needed them. the room was a modestly nice room. nothing outstanding cuz well, it's the Crowne Plaza; not the Ritz Carlton. but I really liked the room tho, it was really nice and had everything we needed for the night. we spent the day in SF which was maybe a 20 drive away which isn't bad. and I live across the bridge just about 10 minutes away so the hotel was located in a great place.. halfway between home and SF. I had a good time during my stay, the only thing I didn't like was the hotel made a $50 deposit with my card and never told me that. I had to have an alert sent to my phone from the card company and then asked them to find out what the charge was for. I get it back so it's nothing I'm mad about it just seemed kind of shady that they didn't tell me up front. but thanks for a good time Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive from SF and downtown San Mateo has plenty to do as well.

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east brunswick, nj
Mar 10, 2011

Excellent stay at Crowne Plaza

I had an excellent stay at the hotel. The room was clean and well appointed. My few interactions with the staff was courteous and efficient. The hotel was in a good area, was quiet and looked well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east brunswick, nj
Mar 10, 2011

Excellent stay at Crowne Plaza

I had an excellent stay at the hotel. The room was clean and well appointed. My few interactions with the staff was courteous and efficient. The hotel was in a good area, was quiet and looked well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Oct 30, 2010

Crowne Plaza San Fran

It was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Oct 30, 2010

Crowne Plaza San Fran

It was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top