$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
View map of 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank M 19
Ft. Lauderdale
Sep 4, 2012

Foster city

Good and convenient. Clean. Thanks to the cleaning personnel they accommodate our request

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great sports bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groom's Mother
Business
Houston TX
Feb 11, 2013

Wedding Trip

We were in the SF area for our son's wedding. The hotel was centrally located to the venue and other places we wanted to visit. However, the room was too small for the large furniture. There was barely room to move around the room. It would have been great to have a bit more room so an arm chair could be included in the room. Not sure if we were given a smaller room because we booked through a travel package, but I was disappointed in the room size. We were also turned away from the night club on Saturday night due to a dress code, which was not stated in any of the brochures/room information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would definitely use a GPS because the SF area is confusing to navigate in a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank M 19
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Sep 4, 2012

Foster city

Good and convenient. Clean. Thanks to the cleaning personnel they accommodate our request

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great sports bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler I
Business
Redwood City
Aug 1, 2012

Traveler I

Very Nice...Bellman/Busdriver helpful... A little far from airport..but not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NHRunner
Business
NH
Jul 19, 2012

Ok on the weekends

Looks like a decent business hotel. The only problem I had was the bathroom light kept coming back on so I shut the door and put a towel across the bottom to block the light at night...never bothered to complain. Probaly wouldn't pay weekday rates out of my own pocket for just myself. Location is good for hitting anywhere on the pennisula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sally Beth R
Business
Choctaw, OK
Jun 25, 2012

Comfortable and clean

This was my third time staying at this hotel and they did not disappoint. I would highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCA Ed
Business
Eureka, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Medical Stay

We have been to Stanford for my wife several times now. We have stayed at 4 different hotels and by far this was our favorite. The place was clean and comfortable meeting our needs. We enjoyed the eating establishments located in the hotel and found a cute unique gift in their gift shop. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kat13
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great hotel!

Great location! Great price! One of my favorite hotels to stay in !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newbie to SF
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 11, 2011

As expected

The hotel has a club and we could hear the music from our 4th floor room. The sushi restaurant in the hotel was decent. The ac in the room made strange noises our first night and in the morning we realized it was leaking too and the carpet was wet. We reported the problem they resolved the strange noises but by the end of our 4 day stay the carpet was still wet and spread to the desk area. On our 2nd day, the shower knob fell off which was promptly repaired. Nothing spectacular about this hotel, and you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flymoose
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great Hotel for the price

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the hotel rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and if your into sports they have a great sports bar onsite, the breakfast buffet was also good. However there is one thing I feel that I need to say, is that if your planning on staying here either a Friday or Saturday night, the sports bar turns into a night club, our room sat right above the club, and the music can be heard from the room from at least 10pm til 2am! We decided to check out the club, which turn out to be alot of fun. However If you are looking for a quiet nights sleep on Friday or Saturday night, I highly recommend you ask the hotel to not reserve your room over or near the night club. Overall all I have to say is that this is a great hotel for the price that we paid, and we plan on staying here again on our next trip to the San Francisco area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfespirit7
Business
Sedona, az
May 9, 2011

Great Stay

Good location. Booked San Francisco bus tour thru hotel, loved someone else doing all the driving. Good restaurants and movie theater cloae by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top