Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
51 reviews
Comfortable Room

Very good experience. Hotel was being remodeled, but had no effect on us having a few very goods... See full review

  • ath2
  • Jul 15, 2014
Unforgettable Experience

Staff was fantastic, manager gave us a free upgrade for being our anniversary. Nice suite very... See full review

  • marlon1974
  • Jun 29, 2014
Enjoy the Best of the San Francisco Bay Area Welcome to the Crowne Plaza® Foster City - San Mateo, here to deliver you services and amenities you wont find anywhere else. We are centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley. We are just 9 miles away from the San Francisco International Airport, providing complimentary airport shuttle to and from the hotel. Our hotel is proud to offer free Wi-Fi access, free parking, a 24-hour business center, and 16,000 sq. feet of meeting space to ensure all your professional needs are met. We are surrounded by top companies like Visa, Sony and Gilead, just to name a few. We are also only a short drive from CSM, San Mateo Event Center and Stanford University. Dine at any of our 3 restaurants, dip in our indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and experience the height of relaxation with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring complimentary sleep kits, in any one of our 350 well appointed guestrooms or suites. Treat yourself to an upgrade to our Executive Level featuring breakfast in our Crowne Club und upgraded room amenities. Enjoy the views of Foster Citys lagoon, tee off at one of the local golf courses, stroll the outdoor Shopping Centers upscale shops, or take the free shuttle to the Hillsdale Mall. Make your reservation today and let our award winning team help to make your stay successful and memorable.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

37.5621 -122.277
Nearby airports
Oakland Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 27.00, MI; San Francisco International, (SFO), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Dining

Cafe Florian
A beautiful restaurant centrally located in our garden atrium lobby, surrounded by waterfalls and streams of Japanese Koi fish. The Sunday Champagne Brunch offers many choices of delicious items, and is a local favorite.
Chit Chat Lounge
An informal lounge in the lobby that serves drinks and light appetizers.
Clubhouse Bistro
Sports bar and Night Club equipped with a brick fire oven and full bar with drink specialties
Fish Market
Nestled alongside a quiet lagoon, this seafood restaurant features a full service cocktail bar and lounge area and a popular oyster bar. Patio dining available in the summer months.
Kingfish
Steak and Seafood located in downtown San Mateo. Very popular loaction for groups to have dinner.
Paul Martin's American Grill
At the heart of all great food is fresh, local, peak of the season ingredients. Paul Martin's aims to serve diners the best ingredients with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced produce, the best of both wild and farmed fish, artisan

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sally Beth R
Choctaw, OK
Jun 25, 2012

Comfortable and clean

This was my third time staying at this hotel and they did not disappoint. I would highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCA Ed
Eureka, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Medical Stay

We have been to Stanford for my wife several times now. We have stayed at 4 different hotels and by far this was our favorite. The place was clean and comfortable meeting our needs. We enjoyed the eating establishments located in the hotel and found a cute unique gift in their gift shop. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kat13
San Mateo, CA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great hotel!

Great location! Great price! One of my favorite hotels to stay in !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newbie to SF
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 11, 2011

As expected

The hotel has a club and we could hear the music from our 4th floor room. The sushi restaurant in the hotel was decent. The ac in the room made strange noises our first night and in the morning we realized it was leaking too and the carpet was wet. We reported the problem they resolved the strange noises but by the end of our 4 day stay the carpet was still wet and spread to the desk area. On our 2nd day, the shower knob fell off which was promptly repaired. Nothing spectacular about this hotel, and you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flymoose
Honolulu, HI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great Hotel for the price

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the hotel rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and if your into sports they have a great sports bar onsite, the breakfast buffet was also good. However there is one thing I feel that I need to say, is that if your planning on staying here either a Friday or Saturday night, the sports bar turns into a night club, our room sat right above the club, and the music can be heard from the room from at least 10pm til 2am! We decided to check out the club, which turn out to be alot of fun. However If you are looking for a quiet nights sleep on Friday or Saturday night, I highly recommend you ask the hotel to not reserve your room over or near the night club. Overall all I have to say is that this is a great hotel for the price that we paid, and we plan on staying here again on our next trip to the San Francisco area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfespirit7
Sedona, az
May 9, 2011

Great Stay

Good location. Booked San Francisco bus tour thru hotel, loved someone else doing all the driving. Good restaurants and movie theater cloae by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hayward, CA
May 1, 2011

good room for a good price!

I just needed a night away from home and I looked up hotels on the peninsula. the hotel itself is really nice inside. really clean and the staff was very nice every time I needed them. the room was a modestly nice room. nothing outstanding cuz well, it's the Crowne Plaza; not the Ritz Carlton. but I really liked the room tho, it was really nice and had everything we needed for the night. we spent the day in SF which was maybe a 20 drive away which isn't bad. and I live across the bridge just about 10 minutes away so the hotel was located in a great place.. halfway between home and SF. I had a good time during my stay, the only thing I didn't like was the hotel made a $50 deposit with my card and never told me that. I had to have an alert sent to my phone from the card company and then asked them to find out what the charge was for. I get it back so it's nothing I'm mad about it just seemed kind of shady that they didn't tell me up front. but thanks for a good time Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive from SF and downtown San Mateo has plenty to do as well.

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east brunswick, nj
Mar 10, 2011

Excellent stay at Crowne Plaza

I had an excellent stay at the hotel. The room was clean and well appointed. My few interactions with the staff was courteous and efficient. The hotel was in a good area, was quiet and looked well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Oct 30, 2010

Crowne Plaza San Fran

It was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 4, 2010

Unacceptable Loud Music

While we've stayed at this hotel on weekends and enjoyed it as restful and accomodating, we were shocked this time to be subjected to extremely loud pounding rock and roll music from the bar (3 floors down) that started at 8PM. Front desk told us that this is a "regular" feature that continues til 1:30AM Fri/Sat. At 10:30PM, they "allowed" us to move to a different room (they offered no assistance to me and my 2 kids) and the new room did not have a minifrig as the old one had, which we needed for the kids's food. It also had cobwebs in the corners. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top