$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

3 stars
View map of 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nanda Nemani
Business
Piscataway
Apr 22, 2013

Comfortable stay

We stayed in this hotel after a day long drive. The room was so nice and we had a relaxing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St. Louis Biz Traveler
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 4, 2013

Solid business hotel

I got off to a rocky start having called ahead to confirm shuttle service and arriving to find there was no shuttle to the hotel after 10 pm (which the staff failed to mention). My free shuttle became a $40 cab ride. After that the stay was smooth. The room was nice enough, the TV worked, the toiletries smelled great (the relaxing spa samples were welcome), and the bar was above average (and would be great to catch a game). The location was spot on for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I had a unique burrito (to a Midwesterner anyway) at the nearby Freebird Burritos. It's an under 10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groom's Mother
Business
Houston TX
Feb 11, 2013

Wedding Trip

We were in the SF area for our son's wedding. The hotel was centrally located to the venue and other places we wanted to visit. However, the room was too small for the large furniture. There was barely room to move around the room. It would have been great to have a bit more room so an arm chair could be included in the room. Not sure if we were given a smaller room because we booked through a travel package, but I was disappointed in the room size. We were also turned away from the night club on Saturday night due to a dress code, which was not stated in any of the brochures/room information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would definitely use a GPS because the SF area is confusing to navigate in a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank M 19
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Sep 4, 2012

Foster city

Good and convenient. Clean. Thanks to the cleaning personnel they accommodate our request

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great sports bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler I
Business
Redwood City
Aug 1, 2012

Traveler I

Very Nice...Bellman/Busdriver helpful... A little far from airport..but not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NHRunner
Business
NH
Jul 19, 2012

Ok on the weekends

Looks like a decent business hotel. The only problem I had was the bathroom light kept coming back on so I shut the door and put a towel across the bottom to block the light at night...never bothered to complain. Probaly wouldn't pay weekday rates out of my own pocket for just myself. Location is good for hitting anywhere on the pennisula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sally Beth R
Business
Choctaw, OK
Jun 25, 2012

Comfortable and clean

This was my third time staying at this hotel and they did not disappoint. I would highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCA Ed
Business
Eureka, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Medical Stay

We have been to Stanford for my wife several times now. We have stayed at 4 different hotels and by far this was our favorite. The place was clean and comfortable meeting our needs. We enjoyed the eating establishments located in the hotel and found a cute unique gift in their gift shop. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kat13
Business
San Mateo, CA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great hotel!

Great location! Great price! One of my favorite hotels to stay in !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza FOSTER CITY-SAN MATEO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newbie to SF
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 11, 2011

As expected

The hotel has a club and we could hear the music from our 4th floor room. The sushi restaurant in the hotel was decent. The ac in the room made strange noises our first night and in the morning we realized it was leaking too and the carpet was wet. We reported the problem they resolved the strange noises but by the end of our 4 day stay the carpet was still wet and spread to the desk area. On our 2nd day, the shower knob fell off which was promptly repaired. Nothing spectacular about this hotel, and you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top