$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

3 stars
550, Shell Boulevard, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
41 reviews
Perfect hotel, but far from San Fran

The staff was extremely helpful. Probably the friendliest staff I have met. The food was on par... See full review

  • Nupangea
  • Apr 28, 2014
clean hotel with convenient location

This Marriott was nice but I wouldn't recommend it if you ate vacationing in the area. The room was... See full review

  • lgrose
  • Sep 15, 2014
The Courtyard San Mateo Foster City Hotel in San Mateo, CA is located just 15 minutes from SFO Airport, 20 minutes from Downtown San Francisco via the Cal Train and perfectly situated between San Francisco and San Jose. Our state-of-the-art lobby provides flexibility and choices for our guests featuring inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet access in all our Foster City hotel rooms. We also offer an indoor pool and whirlpool, perfect for blowing off steam after a busy day. Look no further than the Courtyard San Mateo Hotel for your next Bay Area visit.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 41
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lgrose
Business
Hampton, va
Sep 15, 2014

clean hotel with convenient location

This Marriott was nice but I wouldn't recommend it if you ate vacationing in the area. The room was clean and the staff were friendly but the lay out was poor and the view was non existent. The outside courtyard was beautiful but you couldn't get to the pool from it. There is only one elevator so getting luggage to the other side of the hotel was a hassle. If you are traveling for business this location would be nice but not if you are trying to enjoy the bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks and bagle shop just across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nupangea
Business
Bartlesville, ok
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect hotel, but far from San Fran

The staff was extremely helpful. Probably the friendliest staff I have met. The food was on par with a breakfast restaurant. The French toast was really good. My only issue was that I didn't realize how far from San Fran we were. We took the Caltrain and it's an hour on the train each way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the upgrade to include breakfast. You'll save money. Also the food is good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jem09
Business
Cary, NC
May 6, 2012

Convenience & Value

We enjoyed staying at the Courtyard. It has a renovated lobby and very friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable, included HBO, a nice tv, and couch. Did not include breakfast, but parking was free. Great for those who need a quick overnight convenient to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to the airport, and about $30-50 less than other hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Macstewart
Business
Seattle
Mar 27, 2012

Our stay

Everything was great except room service people were very noisy in the hallway in the morning. All else was great! Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surey
Business
Logan, UT, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Comfortable, clean, and safe

The hotel is in a very quiet and safe neighborhood. We have a rental car, and therefore we could easily drive to SFO for dining and entertainment. Compared to staying in a hotel in SFO, this hotel has so much better value. We will choose it again if we return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surey
Business
Logan, UT, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Comfortable, safe, and clean

The hotel is very comfortable to stay. The only problem is somehow we could hear the next door person's talk, and wished the room could be more quiet. But the room is quiet and free from disturbance from street, etc., just the next door neighbor's voice could be heard. Maybe it was because of the door between two rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katie schu
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

amazing hotel!

Super clean and very quiet. Hotel staff was incredibly friendly and nice. The bistro is a great amenity to the hotel....food was great but alittle expensive. Starbucks directly across the parking lot and mcdonald, carls jr, and taco bell, ihop and mexican all within walking distance. Only 15 minutes into san fransisco. Hotel was in a great area and very safe. Would definately recommend to anyone. Shopping malls and great restaurants within a few miles of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fremont,ca
Oct 18, 2010

50/50

no bellmen was what disappointed me...breakfast was cold but starbucks was a positive. Overall 50/50 for me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Valley, CA
Sep 28, 2010

Awesomeness

Super clean, 15 min drive from San Fran, modern decorations, friendly helpful staff. When I return to the bay I am making a point to stay here rather than in the actual city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Baja fresh, bagels, coffe, Boston Market, Jamba juice within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bookscape
Business
Athens, TN
Sep 13, 2010

Nice place to crash for three days

I really enjoy staying at Marriott's. They hire wonderful, helpful and knowledgable people. The only down thing about the hotel were the guests next door the first night. They let their kid play outside the door for some time around 7:30. That was a fluke and didn't happen again. The rooms were serviced and restocked promptly. The hot tub was so relaxing after a day in the city (San Francisco). There was proximity to several places to eat besides a great little restaurant inside the hotel. The courtyard was comfortable and cozy with a fire place to snuggle up to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This was a place that would have been better only by having a rental car with us. It was a taxi ride to and from the Caltrain station. But all in all, it wasn't bad and it was far enough away from SF to be more peaceful and restful between excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top