$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

3 stars
550, Shell Boulevard, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
41 reviews
Perfect hotel, but far from San Fran

The staff was extremely helpful. Probably the friendliest staff I have met. The food was on par... See full review

  • Nupangea
  • Apr 28, 2014
clean hotel with convenient location

This Marriott was nice but I wouldn't recommend it if you ate vacationing in the area. The room was... See full review

  • lgrose
  • Sep 15, 2014
The Courtyard San Mateo Foster City Hotel in San Mateo, CA is located just 15 minutes from SFO Airport, 20 minutes from Downtown San Francisco via the Cal Train and perfectly situated between San Francisco and San Jose. Our state-of-the-art lobby provides flexibility and choices for our guests featuring inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet access in all our Foster City hotel rooms. We also offer an indoor pool and whirlpool, perfect for blowing off steam after a busy day. Look no further than the Courtyard San Mateo Hotel for your next Bay Area visit.

Hotel Map

37.5603 -122.2731
Area served
San Francisco City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 9.50, MI, SE; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 28.00, MI, NW; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 23.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 41
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A brother from another
Business
Southwest
Apr 22, 2014

Mixed Bag

Location is very good ! Bed is one of the worst I've slept in. TOO soft ! Starbucks across the street. Clean except for one bath towel.which was stained and hanging. Lobby is well arranged and friendly with food counter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse practitioner Nessa
Business
Northern Mountains, California
Nov 20, 2012

Very Nice

Very nice, courtyard was pretty. Decor was modern. I think breakfast should be complementary at the price and that would of been better. The indoor pool and spa is nice do to the weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave the traveler from LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 21, 2012

Better than expected

For the price and star rating, the hotel experience was better than what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NotGonnaDoIt
Business
Santa Cruz Ca
Apr 15, 2012

Too loud to sleep.

Stayed here the night before I had to take an 8 hour exam so that I would have to drive an hour from my house in the morning. Looking back now I should have just stayed home. There waste music playing all night. It was the just the bass that traveled into my room so i couldn't tell where it was coming from and earplugs wouldn't have helped. I tried calling the front desk on four separate occasions only to have them answer once. I told them about the problem and they said they would send someone. The music still played into the night and no one was answering the front desk phone. I finally cost sick of the the noise and found where it was coming from and banged on the door myself at 2am. So much for getting a good nights sleep. Should have staying in a cheaper hotel and I probably would have gotten a better nights sleep. Also the floor had big stains on it and there was somebody else's hair on the blankets. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucho77
Business
San Francisco
Jan 11, 2012

Best Value

Great Location, the rooms are very clean and located very close to the expo show where I go every year. Considered the best value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta, ga
Jul 11, 2011

Expensive,

Only thing bugging me was they keep the water bottles in the room, if you use it they will charge 3.50 per bottle and they don't even say that before, and they don't offer breakfast. So i am not going to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SE Mike
Business
Carol Stream, IL
Mar 22, 2010

Week stay for business

Room was extremely clean, quiet and well kept. Workout room has 5 total machines and 3 types, Alpine, treadmill & bike. Small pool and hot tub. Enjoyed stay and will stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping mall 1 mile walk with BJ's Brewpub (very good), Red Robin and Harry's Hofbrau. Several add'l food choices within 1.5 miles other direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach
Jun 15, 2008

Easy Access

Great location to get on & off freeway. Easy access to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

starbuck's Noah's Bagels costco

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search