$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

3 stars
550, Shell Boulevard, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
41 reviews
Perfect hotel, but far from San Fran

The staff was extremely helpful. Probably the friendliest staff I have met. The food was on par... See full review

  • Nupangea
  • Apr 28, 2014
clean hotel with convenient location

This Marriott was nice but I wouldn't recommend it if you ate vacationing in the area. The room was... See full review

  • lgrose
  • Sep 15, 2014
The Courtyard San Mateo Foster City Hotel in San Mateo, CA is located just 15 minutes from SFO Airport, 20 minutes from Downtown San Francisco via the Cal Train and perfectly situated between San Francisco and San Jose. Our state-of-the-art lobby provides flexibility and choices for our guests featuring inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk and free high-speed Internet access in all our Foster City hotel rooms. We also offer an indoor pool and whirlpool, perfect for blowing off steam after a busy day. Look no further than the Courtyard San Mateo Hotel for your next Bay Area visit.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fremont,ca
Oct 18, 2010

50/50

no bellmen was what disappointed me...breakfast was cold but starbucks was a positive. Overall 50/50 for me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Valley, CA
Sep 28, 2010

Awesomeness

Super clean, 15 min drive from San Fran, modern decorations, friendly helpful staff. When I return to the bay I am making a point to stay here rather than in the actual city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Baja fresh, bagels, coffe, Boston Market, Jamba juice within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bookscape
Business
Athens, TN
Sep 13, 2010

Nice place to crash for three days

I really enjoy staying at Marriott's. They hire wonderful, helpful and knowledgable people. The only down thing about the hotel were the guests next door the first night. They let their kid play outside the door for some time around 7:30. That was a fluke and didn't happen again. The rooms were serviced and restocked promptly. The hot tub was so relaxing after a day in the city (San Francisco). There was proximity to several places to eat besides a great little restaurant inside the hotel. The courtyard was comfortable and cozy with a fire place to snuggle up to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This was a place that would have been better only by having a rental car with us. It was a taxi ride to and from the Caltrain station. But all in all, it wasn't bad and it was far enough away from SF to be more peaceful and restful between excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foster city
Business
foster city
Aug 23, 2010

foster city stay

The hotel was nice and friendly however there was a soccer team and the young kids ran freely constantly knicking ondoor..finally stopped before we complained other than that it was very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiku
Business
Texas
Aug 15, 2010

Beautifully decorated

This hotel must be used mainly for business because the location is remote. The staff could not describe how to get there. Gave us wrong directions so it took a while to find the place. They gave my husband free coffee to compensate. My grandson said the sofa bed was better than others he slept on during our trip. We were on our way to San Francisco and it took less than an hour to arrive from this location. Can't say enough about the decor. Lots of pretty pictures, beautiful drapes and the bed had a decorator pillow, never had that before. We paid abour $130 so this was a bargain compared to some places we stayed in California. Probably not the best for site seeing but a nice place to spend the night on the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 22, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott Foster City CA

Enjoyed indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room. Lots of family-friendly inexpensive restaurants in walking distance. Costco across the street. Supermarket 2 min drive away. Nice flat screen tv and free internet, free parking. Excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George In San Diego
Business
San Diego, CA.
Apr 12, 2010

Great hotel & professional/friendly staf

Relatively out of the way (quiet) while close enough to SFO and SFSU. Ample free parking, felt that my vehicle was safe the whole time there. Very professional and courteous staff all around. Will definately stay there again during next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most fast food available within 1/2 mile, Boston Market & Red Robin are the two largest restruants. Target at same location along with some other major stores, not too many though (keeps traffic and congestion down).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SE Mike
Business
Carol Stream, IL
Mar 22, 2010

Week stay for business

Room was extremely clean, quiet and well kept. Workout room has 5 total machines and 3 types, Alpine, treadmill & bike. Small pool and hot tub. Enjoyed stay and will stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping mall 1 mile walk with BJ's Brewpub (very good), Red Robin and Harry's Hofbrau. Several add'l food choices within 1.5 miles other direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 13, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo CA

Very comfortable room. On site dining cafe very nicely designed. Indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi excellent. Nice workout room (ellipticals, cycling, treadmill) w/ flat screen tv's. Excellent location for inexpensive dining and shopping in easy walking distance. Free internet and parking, so no "add-on" fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sofie125
Business
Knoxville, TN
Feb 21, 2010

Would definitely stay again

The staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The hotel itself was beautiful - nicely decorated, modern feel. The only complaint I have about my room is that there were some hairs (not mine) on the bathroom floor. Other than that the room looked, felt clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top