$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

3 stars
View map of 550, Shell Boulevard, Foster City, CA 94404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Dec 26, 2010

Excellent hotel for Bay Area vacation

Very well located between San Francisco and San Jose, so we had a great tour of the Bay Area and Silicon Valley. A short distance to SFO airport. Really enjoy the stay. Have some nice restaurants around the hotel. And it has coin-operated washer & dryer inside the hotel, very convinient. The staffs are friendly and very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Nov 22, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott Foster City

Quality was very sub-par compared with our previous stays. This is one of our favorite places based on amenities, value, etc. However this time, there were numerous maintenance problems (lights not in in swimming pool area, workout room freezing cold, incomplete sheet set for sofabed, printers in lobby for boarding passes malfunctioning, one of lobby computers for guest use was out of order, heater in room was very noisy). Nevertheless the staff is EXCELLENT and worked very hard to rectify all of these as quickly as possible. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fremont,ca
Oct 18, 2010

50/50

no bellmen was what disappointed me...breakfast was cold but starbucks was a positive. Overall 50/50 for me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Valley, CA
Sep 28, 2010

Awesomeness

Super clean, 15 min drive from San Fran, modern decorations, friendly helpful staff. When I return to the bay I am making a point to stay here rather than in the actual city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Baja fresh, bagels, coffe, Boston Market, Jamba juice within walking distance.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bookscape
Business
Athens, TN
Sep 13, 2010

Nice place to crash for three days

I really enjoy staying at Marriott's. They hire wonderful, helpful and knowledgable people. The only down thing about the hotel were the guests next door the first night. They let their kid play outside the door for some time around 7:30. That was a fluke and didn't happen again. The rooms were serviced and restocked promptly. The hot tub was so relaxing after a day in the city (San Francisco). There was proximity to several places to eat besides a great little restaurant inside the hotel. The courtyard was comfortable and cozy with a fire place to snuggle up to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This was a place that would have been better only by having a rental car with us. It was a taxi ride to and from the Caltrain station. But all in all, it wasn't bad and it was far enough away from SF to be more peaceful and restful between excursions.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foster city
Business
foster city
Aug 23, 2010

foster city stay

The hotel was nice and friendly however there was a soccer team and the young kids ran freely constantly knicking ondoor..finally stopped before we complained other than that it was very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiku
Business
Texas
Aug 15, 2010

Beautifully decorated

This hotel must be used mainly for business because the location is remote. The staff could not describe how to get there. Gave us wrong directions so it took a while to find the place. They gave my husband free coffee to compensate. My grandson said the sofa bed was better than others he slept on during our trip. We were on our way to San Francisco and it took less than an hour to arrive from this location. Can't say enough about the decor. Lots of pretty pictures, beautiful drapes and the bed had a decorator pillow, never had that before. We paid abour $130 so this was a bargain compared to some places we stayed in California. Probably not the best for site seeing but a nice place to spend the night on the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 22, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott Foster City CA

Enjoyed indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room. Lots of family-friendly inexpensive restaurants in walking distance. Costco across the street. Supermarket 2 min drive away. Nice flat screen tv and free internet, free parking. Excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George In San Diego
Business
San Diego, CA.
Apr 12, 2010

Great hotel & professional/friendly staf

Relatively out of the way (quiet) while close enough to SFO and SFSU. Ample free parking, felt that my vehicle was safe the whole time there. Very professional and courteous staff all around. Will definately stay there again during next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most fast food available within 1/2 mile, Boston Market & Red Robin are the two largest restruants. Target at same location along with some other major stores, not too many though (keeps traffic and congestion down).

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Mateo Foster City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SE Mike
Business
Carol Stream, IL
Mar 22, 2010

Week stay for business

Room was extremely clean, quiet and well kept. Workout room has 5 total machines and 3 types, Alpine, treadmill & bike. Small pool and hot tub. Enjoyed stay and will stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping mall 1 mile walk with BJ's Brewpub (very good), Red Robin and Harry's Hofbrau. Several add'l food choices within 1.5 miles other direction.

Back to menu Return to top