$391 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The St. Regis Monarch Beach

5 stars
View map of One Monarch Beach Resort, One Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
13 reviews
Anniversary getaeay

Very nice hotel. Amazing views. Relaxing room. Must stay in this hotel if you go to Dana point See full review

  • Varun1985
  • Nov 24, 2014
Wow

That was the nicest resort that I've ever stayed at. See full review

  • Blah42
  • Jul 14, 2014
Tuscan-style elegance and Southern California hospitality on the beach

The St. Regis Monarch Beach Resort is modern decor housed in old world Tuscan-style architecture. The resort is set on 200 acres in Dana Point, Calif., and offers guests immaculately kept grounds, a wide choice of dining and drinking options, and a well-trained, attentive staff. Guests can stroll or take the complimentary tram to the private beach, enjoy the three heated swimming pools, or head to the championship links for a round of golf. The St. Regis also features extensive conference facilities, a business center and a club for kids.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Situated on 200 acres of prime property in Dana Point, California, overlooking the Pacific Ocean
  • Fully equipped day spa, well-appointed fitness center and par 70, 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones, Jr.
  • World class dining including executive chef Frederic Castan's European-style Motif restaurant, and Michael Mina's Stonehill Tavern
St. Regis Monarch Beach Resort Rooms

The rooms and suites at the St. Regis Monarch Beach Resort provide guests a balance of luxurious comfort and innovative technology. Guests enjoy custom designed contemporary furniture including beds featuring 300-thread-count linens and 400-thread-count goose-down comforters. Each room and suite features a private balcony or patio with a table and chairs, which offers a view of the ocean, the Grand Lawn and pool area, or the golf course. All accommodations feature a 42-inch flat screen LCD television with CD/DVD player, a spacious five-fixture en suite bathroom with duel vanities and complimentary Remede bath amenities, and high-speed wireless Internet access. Baby-sitting and child care services are available, as is 24-hour room service. The St. Regis Monarch Beach Resort is a pet friendly facility, and rooms for disabled guests are available upon request.

Things To Do:
  • Ocean Institute (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Doheny State Beach (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Mission San Juan Capistrano (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Laguna Art Museum (6 mi/9.5 km)
  • Crystal Cove State Park (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Wild Rivers Waterpark (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Discovery Science Center (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Disneyland (26 mi/41.8 km)
  • Adventure City (28.1 mi/45.2 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (30.2 mi/48.6)
Policies and fees
Parking rates: $5 USD with any validation, $15 USD for day use (maximum), $37 USD for overnight (normal cars) and $19 USD for overnight (hybrid cars).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

The St. Regis Monarch Beach Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron

Dining

The Wine Cellar
The ultimate private dining venue with 100-year-old, French, paved flooring and stone walls creating a "cellar-like" ambiance. Guests can enjoy a tasting table, private dining areas, and a wine inventory of 17,000 bottles from around the world.
The Lobby Bar & Lounge
Enjoy cocktails and light dishes in our stunning bar and lounge. Ocean-view terrace seating is available, as are fireside chairs for after-dinner drinks and conversation. Live entertainment ranges from piano performances to special events.
Motif
A delectable experience awaits with Executive Chef Frederic Castan at the helm. Motif features eclectic dishes and international mineral waters. Indoor and outdoor dining makes it ideal for breakfast, lunch, dinner or Sunday Champagne Brunch.
Monarch Bay Club
Enjoy fresh California char-grilled meats and seafood in the exclusive beachfront locale of the Monarch Bay Club. Guests of the St. Regis are whisked to the club in a resort tram to beautiful Monarch Beach for a most pleasurable dining adventure.
Crust
A delectable gourmet coffee shop with casual charm offering an assortment of gourmet espresso, coffee and tea selections, fresh bakery items, seasonal fruits, and specialty sandwiches and salads.
Club 19
Club 19 features quick, à la-carte and "to-go" options in a golf-oriented environment with wonderful ocean views.
Pool Bar and Grill
Flavorful light American fare, ocean breezes and beautiful resort views are served in a relaxing outdoor setting. The horseshoe bar is the perfect place for a cool beverage or to catch a favorite sporting event.
Stonehill Tavern
Celebrated Chef Michael Mina has teamed up with world-renowned designer Tony Chi to create Stonehill Tavern, a one-of-a-kind dining experience at The St. Regis Monarch Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
4.9
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Varun1985
Business
Cupertino, California
Nov 24, 2014

Anniversary getaeay

Very nice hotel. Amazing views. Relaxing room. Must stay in this hotel if you go to Dana point

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blah42
Business
East Coast
Jul 14, 2014

Wow

That was the nicest resort that I've ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry Sellers
Business
Seattle
Sep 16, 2013

Best hotel I've stayed at

This hotel is absolutely perfect. The service and staff were over the top helpful and nice. The hotel grounds itself were also in tip top shape. My only complaint would have to be something that is completely out of the hotels hands... the other guests. Full of whiny rich people who like to complain at any chance they get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Coyote Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David from england
Business
England
Jul 11, 2013

terrific hotel ideal as a base for the Los Angeles area

This hotel fully lived up to expectations, from the friendliness of the staff at Check in to the knowledable concierge staff the stay could have not gone better. The Hotel facilities and food were excellent, with two pools, one for families and a less congested one. We will return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The whale watching from Dana Point was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SergeyGold
Business
Everett, WA
Apr 2, 2013

Extra Ordinary

First Class hotel, in and out. Service is amazing, i swear i was treated like royalty. Doesn't matter how you look dress, your Royalty here. Rooms are awesome, Pools Amazing, Lounge area, Food is delicious. I went here with my fiancee and she just loved it, I will definitely come back here again and again with my sweetheart. The Beach, the water, just beautiful amazing place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen Gregan
Business
Dana Point
Nov 26, 2012

one night get away...fantastic

We felt like we were in a different country...and needed to get away from our home for a day..so this was a fabulous treat......beautiful,,,good food and service..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Brisis, Laguna Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fontana, CA
Feb 14, 2011

Pure Romance

It was a perfect Valentines getaway, we had great service from the start. We were able to upgrade our room for an extra charge, great ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 31, 2010

It use to be better!

This is not my first stay in this hotel. It was always great experience except the restaurant. I felt that the service was average. This time we went out for dinner. This time I travel with the family. My doter had separate room and the magnetic card key stopped working on the second time. The security opened the door quickly. The second key also stopped working shortly and again we had to call security to open the door with the request to bring new set of key. They came quickly to open the door but didn't bring the key! All of that was within one day. The restroom on the beach was dirty and didn't have the toilet paper. For the 5 star hotel it is not acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensburg, Pa.
Oct 21, 2009

The St. Regis is all it claims to be.

The hotel gives nothing but topflight service. The staff is friendly and polite. No one shows they are having a bad day. You are made to feel you are truly important to them. Wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Laguna Beach and stop at Cliff Drive. You can walk along the edge of the cliffs on walking paths to enjoy the views of the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olivenhain, CA
Jun 29, 2009

All ready to go back!!!

We had a wonderful time at the resort. When I first looked at the layout of the resort I thought that the beach was too far but they provide transportation from the hotel to the beach through the golf course. Once you are on the beach there is an excellent restaurant for hotel guests only as well as lounge chairs, towels, showers ect. It was wonderful. The views of the ocean were outsanding. I generally do not care for buffets especially brunch but I was so pleasantly surprised with the quality and exceptional flavors that they offered at the Sunday brunch. The restaurants were not formal. I would have liked to have at least one restaurant where people actually have to dress up a little and make it a bit different from the ordinary but the food made up for everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you actually go to the beach. It is a great opportunity to get there and enjoy being at the beach without the crowds and with high level of service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top