$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

2 stars
View map of 1951 Newport Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92627

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
102 reviews
GOOD TRIP

THIS IS AN EXCELLENT HOTEL.THE ROOMS ARE LARGE THE DRAPES KEEP IT DARK DURING THE DAY IF YOU ARE... See full review

  • Kenneth Y.
  • Jul 17, 2015
Nice one night stay

Location is right of the freeway, staff was pleasant and rooms were clean. See full review

  • Jayy 9
  • Jan 20, 2015
Rated Two Diamonds by AAA, Travelodge Costa Mesa/Newport Beach is a budget-friendly and comfortable hotel for visitors to Southern California's Newport Beach area. A complimentary continental breakfast greets guests each morning. Travelodge Costa Mesa/Newport Beach is centrally located and is only a short drive from the University of California's Irvine campus and famous shopping destinations South Coast Plaza and Fashion Island.
Rooms
Guest rooms at Travelodge Costa Mesa/Newport Beach are comfortable, nicely decorated and clean. Each room features free Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer, as well as cable television with HBO, ESPN and CNN. Rooms are non-smoking and larger suites are available.
Property features
AAA awarded the Travelodge Costa Mesa/Newport Beach its Two Diamond Award, indicating superior lodging at a budget-friendly price. The hotel's outdoor pool and Jacuzzi provide guests an excellent way to enjoy Southern California's balmy weather. There is also a 24-hour guest laundry and guests can fuel up for a day of sightseeing with the Travelodge Costa Mesa/Newport Beach's complimentary continental breakfast.

 

Travelodge Costa Mesa/Newport Beach is located a short three mile drive from South Coast Plaza and only five miles from University of California-Irvine and Fashion Island.


 
Highlights
  • Near Orange County shopping and beaches
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Complimentary Internet access

Nearby attractions
  • Newport Beach (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • University of California-Irvine (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Anaheim Convention Center (10.7 mi/17 km)
  • Edison Field (10.8 mi/17 km)
  • Disneyland Resort (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Knott's Berry Farm (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
 
Transportation
  • John Wayne/Orange County Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (42 mi/67 km)
  • Free shuttle to and from John Wayne Airport 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda also booked these hotels.

★★
$75
3.6 / 5 113 reviews
★★★
$66
3.7 / 5 110 reviews
★★★
$109
3.9 / 5 38 reviews
★★
$56
2.4 / 5 14 reviews
★★
$84
3.7 / 5 38 reviews
★★★
$119
3.9 / 5 41 reviews
★★
$69
2.7 / 5 86 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VeryGrossedOut
Friends
Houston, TX
May 24, 2012

Run like the wind

Horrible. Terrible. Gross. If you want to stay close to the beach, this isn't it. If you want to feel safe, this isn't your spot. If you want your room, and in return you, to smell like smoke and have useless management, you've got the right place! Stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Y Reese
Family
Bullhead City, Arizona
Jun 7, 2013

Very noisy location

When I arrived I was given my room key and had unloaded my bags to discover there was no light in the vanity area. The fixture had been taken out. I notified the person on duty and he gave me another room. This room was right on the main highway and was very noisy. Difficult to sleep or rest. Asked to be moved and he said it would be possible but would cost me $9.00 more each night. Not happy. First time I used your service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fountain valley ca
Feb 15, 2011

travelodge

very noisy location that is next to a FWY couldn't sleep, door lock would not work properly, I requested nonsmoking room I ended up with a smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eddy C
Couples
Costa Mesa, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Not a good experience

My experience at this hotel was not good from the start. The person at the front was not a happy person. Very blah. Also, I spotted like 4 or 5 different cockroaches throughout the room, which made it difficult to sleep. Sheets were not clean. Cigarette burns in the comforter and in the carpet. Overall a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jason L.
Single
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Scared and offended

My wife and I were watching tv on Friday Jan 29th when someone began knocking on the door and window to our room. We weren't expecting anyone, my wife asked who it was just kept knocking. We opened window look and asked again who it was. He demanded that we let him in. At this point I thought he was a drunk crazy guy and was scared because I didn't know what he was going to do. I used strong language and a hand gesture to make him go away. He said he was going to get police and left. I called down to front desk and said someone was trying to get into our room. Was told he was employee and some complained about our room and told us to keep it down. I was very quiet and they might have heard the room next to us who already left. He came back with police and asked why I made gesture and I said you had uniform, name tag and never said front desk. Everyone there blew us off and the manager never returned my phone call. I was very scared for our safety and no one cared. Isn't there a law says hotel workers must identify themselves?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
When in California
Single
Canada
Apr 23, 2014

Fairly good value

Nothing to complain about. Staff were helpful and delivered what I needed. The seating area for the continental breakfast was pretty nice with the TV in there. The A/C heater machine needs cleaning as it leaves an unpleasant smell when you turn it on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Balboa Island is so cute!

Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travellin mama
Family
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 29, 2011

California Dreamin

Beware! This hotel is one of those that looks better on paper...er...online. Very average hotel for the price that needs a ton of TLC regarding amenities. Continental breakfast is standing room only with very meager choices. No pool or jacuzzi available during our visit due to the fact that they were both occupied by a jackhammer for renovations (at least they're working on things)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Triangle Square located just 2 blocks away offers premium stores for shopping and upscale restaurants for dining

Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shnolt
Couples
Salt lake city
Mar 20, 2012

Decent location, pretty comfortable bed

We paid $20 extra to not be right by the loud road and got a suite where the bed was actually pretty comfy. Even though the rest of the room was only between 1-1.5 stars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The big Marco
Couples
San Mateo, California
Sep 4, 2012

Holiday trip

We have nice days on the hotel, But when we arrived, nobody told the breakfast schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Huntington Beach

Review of Travelodge Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hacienda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kourtney Young
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Oct 15, 2012

Fast and Cheap

Easy check-in. Clerk was friendly. Room was not that clean and inviting. Lighting situation was weird, room had bad lighting and bathroom couldn't figure on how to turn on the light, it only had a heat lamp and the dial for that was very tough to turn. I don't like how all the rooms had large windows facing the hallway. Did not make me feel safe. Don't have a large window unless it's on a balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top