$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Loews Coronado Bay

4 stars
4000 Coronado Bay Rd, Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
83 reviews
Wonderful Getaway

THIS HOTEL IS THE BEST! I WILL DEFINATELY BE STAYING HERE IN THE FUTURE! See full review

  • Madeline52
  • Dec 1, 2014
Beautiful hotel with helpful staff

The hotel and location are beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool area is... See full review

  • xrayholley
  • Aug 17, 2014
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-To-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort*s waterfront location the new design artfully combines San Diegos sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. Loews Coronado Bay Resort offers activities as varied as our guests. Relax by one of three pools, stroll down the pristine Silver Strand State Beach, pamper yourself at Sea Spa or just enjoy a glass of wine while sitting at an outdoor fire feature watching the sunset. Other resort recreation includes three bayside tennis courts, a private marina with bike rentals and a fleet of gondolas and a full-service spa and salon. Our 439 rooms include 37 suites and are all designed to fit your specific needs, whether those needs be spacious rooms perfect for families or flexible work areas ideal for business travelers looking to get work done while traveling. All guest rooms feature free wi-fi, in-room safe, a Keurig coffeemaker, Julien Farel professional hair dryer, flat screen television and 24-hour room service.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Coronado Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Loews Coronado Bay Rooms

Deluxe
Pool View, non smoking room accommodations with 1 king bed or 2 double beds. Furnished balconies, feature views of the pool.Comp wifi.
Standard
Resort View, non smoking room accommodations with 1 king bed or 2 double beds. Resort/Garden views. Comp wifi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Tennis pro
Boating
Water skiing
Steam bath
Wind surfing
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Drugstore
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Dining

Mistral
Captivating views and shareable plates are savored at Mistral. Robust, intense flavors are prepared with brilliant and innovative techniques and infused with the freshest herbs from the resorts own organic herb garden.
Market
Whimsical design inspired by our unique waterfront location offers both indoor and outdoor dining. Chef Leland Heatons menu offers options that showcase the culinary variety of Southern California and familiar favorites to satisfy every appetite.
Market To Go
Enjoy Starbucks coffee, pastries, sandwiches, salads, Ben and Jerrys ice cream, Dylans Candies, throwback soft drinks, wines and craft beers. Juice Therapy specializes in all-natural, made-to-order blends of juices and smoothies for a refreshing treat.
Cays Lounge
Breathtaking views of the skyline and Coronado Bay along with craft cocktails and local craft beers. Outside oversized teak sofas beckon guests to cozy up to stylish fire pits for a warm glow in the evening hours.
La Cantina
Casual poolside dining at La Cantina allows you to relax by one of our three pools while our bartenders mix your favorite libations, such as liquor infusions and frozen favorites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Coronado Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 83
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelers with 2 young ki
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Sep 28, 2014

good stuff...mostly

Comfortable room, especially comfortable bed. Nice balcony with chairs/table. Very deep soaker tub (had to get in with my little ones to give them a bath), very tiny shower (I was bumping my elbows and I'm a small person). Provided portable crib and baby bath products for our tiniest tot, he slept comfortably. Great location with waking distance to silver strand beach, quick drive to downtown Coronado. Food ridiculously expensive and not quite exceptional, would recommend eating away from resort. Great pools. Overall good stuff in a great spot for a reasonable price. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Miguels restaurant was great...we ate there twice during our 5 day stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBB24
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Apr 23, 2014

Very nice family oriented resort

We just came back from a great Easter/Spring break vacation at the Loews Coronado. The resort met our expectations and even exceeded a few. My boys (ages 10 & 11) loved the pools, the ping pong tables, the s'more evening and having the ease to bike (you can rent) and roller blade (we brought ours) to Silver Strand beach. The restaurants on the property are good and downtown Coronado is a short drive (the hotel has a free shuttle) and has good restaurants. As long as you have a rental car this property works If you are looking to do SD attractions and is very relaxing to come back to after a day out and about. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and genuinely committed to making our stay a great one - we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ....
Business
California
Nov 28, 2013

Bit Remote but has Everything

If you are in San Diego to see the city this hotel may be a bit remote.. But if you are there for a convention or a few day visit this is a great place.. has everything you nee. Rooms are very clean, staff is great.. Parking is extra but extremely convenient..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jake and Jordans Mom
Business
Redlands, CA
Aug 11, 2013

Very nice place, had a great time just one BIG problem

Beautiful hotel, location was great as was the service. The only problem and it was a big one was the cleanliness. Our first room had dirty carpet, a bad smell and hair,make up in the sink, sand in the bathtub. Staff immediately responded and put us in another room, the second room had food on the floor and a dirty sink. Third room was checked by a manager and was free of evidence of previous guest. All of the rooms are in need of a deep cleaning, dirty grout in the shower dirt around door handles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My kids loved the ice cream at Moo Creamery and burgers at Burger Lounge. Take advantage of the pool and activities at the hotel and the private beach entry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yvonne Single explorer
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 16, 2013

Nice but...

This is a nice resort. However, I did not expect my 300 and something room to have only 2 beds and a giant bathroom with a view over the Marina of boats. You had to pay for parking and also internet service.It has a beautiful location away from all the tourists on Coronado Island and the staff and dining were excellent. I have stayed in other resorts and for the expense they give you a lot more. Disappointed in the lack of extras. I am not sure I would consider this place in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend you have FREE WIFI service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SDMum
Business
San Diego
Jul 5, 2013

Hotel description is misleading....

I called the hotel 4 days before our family trip to ask about activities for the July 4th weekend. They did not have one updated to share but offered to send the 'normal activities' by mail. I declined as that would arrive after i checked in. I asked about the cost of kids club i was told they had discontinued that service, then told they did have it if you booked 24 hours in advance, learning it was $80 per child for a full day which based on my experience with other resorts is very expensive. On the night of July 3rd my family and I arrived to learn the hotel was not located as close to downtown as expected, once you arrive to the hotel you are there for the duration or need to rely on shuttles/taxis to get around. If our young children hadn't been with us I would have walked the 6 miles into town- had I known this ahead of time I would not have booked here as this means your dining choices are very limited to the overpriced hotel restaurants. Dinner for a family of 4 was $120 and were not talking fine dining, flatbread, soup, tater tots etc on the first night..... Bagel for breakfast in the to go market was $4 for a family of 4 $40 for breakfast with bagels and drinks and for lunch the Cobb salad similar to what you would find at a fast food restaurant was $15 etc... The check in person was not helpful at all, not offering information about the resort and when asked could not answer any questions about local activities or shuttle services for example. As we wondered by the concierge desk I found the shuttle schedule for the following day. I asked questions and was not told I had to reserve the shuttle, I learned this when I showed up at the valet the following morning expecting to be able to take the 10am shuttle in time for the Coronado Parade (information i obtained through my iPhone as I we couldn't get onto the Internet as the code provided didn't work nor did they fix it). After returning from the parade we went to the pool which was overcrowded and could not find a seat. I understand this is a holiday and expected this to be the case so don't hold this against the hotel as pool staff were trying very hard to accommodate people. Just seemed that the seating area wasn't big enough to accommodate considering the size of the property. At the end of our day we returned to the room which seemed to smell like vomit from a former guest- not pleasant. At this point I was frustrated and called my the site i booked through to ask if I could leave one day earlier than paid for. They worked with the hotel to get me a refund for the last day which I am very appreciative to them and the hotel for doing this. The following evening we went to the same restaurant to eat as the night before. There were no tables as guests were "holding" seats waiting for the fireworks. On the way to the restaurant I had noticed the pool restaurant was still open so I returned there to see if we could be served there. I was told by a server they were closed. At this point i was going to have order food into the room as the shuttles were shut down for the evening and no restaurants were available. As I was leaving another server approached me telling me they were in fact still open and remained open for at least an hour after the first server told me they were closed. I checked in at approximately 7pm on July 3th and left by 9am on July 05th. Our experience was very poor had it not being for a few key staff such as Brando the server that went out of his way at the pool and the shuttle driver ( i don't recall his name) I would have given our experience zero if I could. I understand this was a holiday and I expected to have slow service and overcrowding, even with my low expectations this was not a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miale
Business
Cornado beach
May 30, 2013

I enjoyed how they had lots of fun family stuff to do.

We had great experience. Enjoyed it lots with my family. We had few problems but they took care of it rite of way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shiningce
Business
Santa Rosa
Mar 4, 2013

great potential

The actual site was clean and beautiful, pools were great, easy walk to the beach too. The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. The valet staff were excellent. The restaurant, cafe, concierge and front desk staff were less than helpful, service incredibly slow, and at times they were rude. Great potential for a full resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Clydes on Orange & 4th for breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanDiegoGirl98
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 26, 2012

Great price

We booked a last minute stay here and the price was great. The hotel was not too crowded which made services such as valet and bell hops extra speedy. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. I've stayed here a few times and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The new bar at this hotel served very tasty food & drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dholmes71
Business
La Canada, California
Nov 25, 2012

It all adds up

Loews is a very nice hotel in a beautiful setting. Parking was $25 per day, use of the fitness center was $10 per person, per day and wireless internet was $10 per day. I am a member of Loews loyalty program and could have gotten some of these things for free, but since I booked through a third party travel site, I was not entitled to them during this stay. In addition, for the same reason, this four night stay earned me no points. Also, service was less than stellar. I had three rooms in order to accommodate all family members, and we left a not for the maid to leave us all regular coffee (K-Cups) in each room, no decaf. Well, we didn't even get the usual assortment--they left no coffee at all, and no cups! One room's TV remote was missing and they failed to bring us one despite agreeing to do so upon our request. These were minor irritations and didn't prevent us from enjoying our stay in this very nice hotel. I should also add that they are pet friendly and were very accommodating to my sister's golden retriever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top