$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Loews Coronado Bay

4 stars
4000 Coronado Bay Rd, Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
114 reviews
we will come back for another stay

Loved the hotel and the staff! Was very relaxing, the deep soaking tubs are phenomenal! Would... See full review

  • kalisun
  • Mar 23, 2014
Honeymoon Bliss

This hotel is wonderful! The staff truly out does themselves in making sure your every need is met.... See full review

  • Bgable
  • Oct 13, 2013
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby / Bay Terrace / Cays Lounge / Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort*s waterfront location the new design artfully combines San Diego*s sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. Loews Coronado Bay Resort offers activities as varied as our guests. Relax by one of three pools / stroll down the pristine Silver Strand State Beach / pamper yourself at Sea Spa / sailing or boating on the bay / or just enjoy a glass of wine sitting at an outdoor fire feature watching the sunset. Other resort recreation include three tennis courts / a full service marina / bike rentals and a fleet of gondolas. Our 439 rooms include 37 suites and are all designed to fit your specific needs whether those needs be spacious rooms perfect for families or flexible work areas ideal for business travelers looking to get work done while traveling. All guest rooms feature Free Wi-Fi / bathrobe / Keurig Coffee maker / hairdryer / Flat screen TV

Hotel Map

32.6311 -117.134
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 13.30, MI, S; John Wayne/Orange County Airport, (SNA), 96.40, MI, NW; General Abelardo L. Rodriguez, (TIJ), 16.30, MI, NW; Brown Field Municipal Airport, (SDM), 13.30, MI, NW; Montgomery Field, (MYF), 17.60, MI, S
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Coronado Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Loews Coronado Bay Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe, non smoking room accommodations with 1 king bed or 2 double beds. Furnished balconies, feature views of the pool or marina.Comp wifi.
Standard
Superior, non smoking room accommodations with 1 king bed or 2 double beds. Furnished balconies, offer garden views. Comp wifi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Tennis pro
Boating
Water skiing
Steam bath
Wind surfing
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Drugstore
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Dining

Mistral
Captivating views and tapas-style small plates are savored at Mistral. Robust, intense flavors are prepared with brilliant and innovative techniques and infused with the freshest herbs from the resorts own organic herb garden.
Market
Whimsical design inspired by our unique waterfront location offers both indoor and outdoor dining. Chef Calleys menus offers options that showcase the culinary variety of Southern California and familiar favorites to satisfy every appetite.
Market To Go
Full service coffee bar featuring Starbucks coffee. Gourmet pastries, sandwiches and salads are just the beginning. Wide selection of Ben and Jerrys ice-cream, Dylans Candies, specialty soft drinks, variety of wines and craft beers are available.
Cays Lounge
Breathtaking views of the skyline and Coronado Bay along with craft cocktails and local craft beers. Outside oversized teak sofas beckon guests to cozy up to stylish fire pits for a warm glow in the evening hours.
La Cantina
Surfs up at this lively poolside bar with legendary mojitos, cheladas and margaritas. Enjoy salads and burgers in addition to great south-of-the-border bites. Open seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Coronado Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisappointedTim
Maple Valley, Washington
Mar 1, 2012

Loews Coronado Bay Resort Failure

In late Feb my wife and I stayed at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort in San Diego. As I prepared for bed I stepped barefoot in a puddle of water ( I hope ) on the floor next to my bed. I washed and dried my feet and then walked between the 2 beds and again stepped into some liquid on the floor. It was late and I did not want to call the front desk or ask to change rooms since we were staying only one night. I didn't want to get dressed and go downstairs to the front desk. We just dealt with the problem but the carpet smelled terrible all night. Next day upon checkout I told the front desk about the problem and they only offered us a small horrid discount of our parking fee. I will never stay there again. I am not the type to cause a scene and demand this and that....I just never go back. The Hotel completely failed us and the stay was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fish Market restaurant next to the "Midway" air craft carrier was fantastic. The food and service was amazing. I can't wait to go back. The view of the San Diego Bay at Sunset was incredible.

Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SDMum
San Diego
Jul 5, 2013

Hotel description is misleading....

I called the hotel 4 days before our family trip to ask about activities for the July 4th weekend. They did not have one updated to share but offered to send the 'normal activities' by mail. I declined as that would arrive after i checked in. I asked about the cost of kids club i was told they had discontinued that service, then told they did have it if you booked 24 hours in advance, learning it was $80 per child for a full day which based on my experience with other resorts is very expensive. On the night of July 3rd my family and I arrived to learn the hotel was not located as close to downtown as expected, once you arrive to the hotel you are there for the duration or need to rely on shuttles/taxis to get around. If our young children hadn't been with us I would have walked the 6 miles into town- had I known this ahead of time I would not have booked here as this means your dining choices are very limited to the overpriced hotel restaurants. Dinner for a family of 4 was $120 and were not talking fine dining, flatbread, soup, tater tots etc on the first night..... Bagel for breakfast in the to go market was $4 for a family of 4 $40 for breakfast with bagels and drinks and for lunch the Cobb salad similar to what you would find at a fast food restaurant was $15 etc... The check in person was not helpful at all, not offering information about the resort and when asked could not answer any questions about local activities or shuttle services for example. As we wondered by the concierge desk I found the shuttle schedule for the following day. I asked questions and was not told I had to reserve the shuttle, I learned this when I showed up at the valet the following morning expecting to be able to take the 10am shuttle in time for the Coronado Parade (information i obtained through my iPhone as I we couldn't get onto the Internet as the code provided didn't work nor did they fix it). After returning from the parade we went to the pool which was overcrowded and could not find a seat. I understand this is a holiday and expected this to be the case so don't hold this against the hotel as pool staff were trying very hard to accommodate people. Just seemed that the seating area wasn't big enough to accommodate considering the size of the property. At the end of our day we returned to the room which seemed to smell like vomit from a former guest- not pleasant. At this point I was frustrated and called my the site i booked through to ask if I could leave one day earlier than paid for. They worked with the hotel to get me a refund for the last day which I am very appreciative to them and the hotel for doing this. The following evening we went to the same restaurant to eat as the night before. There were no tables as guests were "holding" seats waiting for the fireworks. On the way to the restaurant I had noticed the pool restaurant was still open so I returned there to see if we could be served there. I was told by a server they were closed. At this point i was going to have order food into the room as the shuttles were shut down for the evening and no restaurants were available. As I was leaving another server approached me telling me they were in fact still open and remained open for at least an hour after the first server told me they were closed. I checked in at approximately 7pm on July 3th and left by 9am on July 05th. Our experience was very poor had it not being for a few key staff such as Brando the server that went out of his way at the pool and the shuttle driver ( i don't recall his name) I would have given our experience zero if I could. I understand this was a holiday and I expected to have slow service and overcrowding, even with my low expectations this was not a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 14, 2008

Our room was nestled ...

Our room was nestled between the Ice Maker room and the Service elevator. We were told by the front desk that it was a very nice room. The bellman was very helpful however when he called security to come unlock the room safe, they never arrived. The room was missing key items like hair dryer and adequate pillows. Had to call for fold down service to recieve those items. Turn down service was very good. On both our 1st and second evenings we went to the hotel lounge for a drink and each time we were treat poorly. The first night after one drink and the waiter not returning commented that if he knew we were only going to have one drink... The second even the waitress never returned to check on us after 1 drink and had to chase her down to sign the tab. The front desk staff was rude when we inquired about Fed Ex package. All of our meal at both restaurants made up for the poor hotel experience. The food was exceptional and the service even better. The rest of the hotel could learn from Food Services Group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 14, 2008

Our room was nestled ...

Our room was nestled between the Ice Maker room and the Service elevator. We were told by the front desk that it was a very nice room. The bellman was very helpful however when he called security to come unlock the room safe, they never arrived. The room was missing key items like hair dryer and adequate pillows. Had to call for fold down service to recieve those items. Turn down service was very good. On both our 1st and second evenings we went to the hotel lounge for a drink and each time we were treat poorly. The first night after one drink and the waiter not returning commented that if he knew we were only going to have one drink... The second even the waitress never returned to check on us after 1 drink and had to chase her down to sign the tab. The front desk staff was rude when we inquired about Fed Ex package. All of our meal at both restaurants made up for the poor hotel experience. The food was exceptional and the service even better. The rest of the hotel could learn from Food Services Group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stev
Scotland
Jul 9, 2013

Overpriced

Location was too far out of town for us. Food disappointing we ate at 3different places within the hotel the buffet was cold, Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8.20 am to ask if we were checking out that day, luckily we were up and about, checkout time was 12.00 noon , perplexed! Check in was disappointing , not enough information, I overhead someone else checking in and they were informed about the complimentary bus that takes you into town and the buggy that takes you to the beach , otherwise I would have been none the wiser as information in the room was poor regarding these matters. On the plus side if you have children and dogs this hotel seemed to cater for you.The children's activities appeared to be varied and dogs were allowed in most areas. There were tennis courts and table tennis, however can't tell you how you accessed these as no info was given and we didn't use them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mdraegerPNW
Seattle, WA, USA
May 1, 2012

Not as advertised

I booked this hotel for my husbands and my 15th wedding anniversary getaway. The photos of it looked nice and we wanted to stay someplace a little more special. I read some of the reviews online, so I was prepared for them to do the typical resort gouging for every little thing (i.e. $25 self parking charge... ) but I expected that my room would be nice and the customer service would be excellent. When we arrived to check in at 3:00, we were told that our room wasn't ready and that they would call us when it was. Now, I've had to wait for a room to be ready when I've arrived early in the morning, not at 3:00 in the afternoon (especially when I filled in my arrival time when making the reservation... ) so I was a bit annoyed. We waited by the pool area for half an hour without hearing anything, before calling reception to discover that our room was indeed ready. When we returned to the front desk, they weren't super apologetic and it seemed like this type of thing happened all the time, which is pretty inexcusable for a property of the level that this one wants to be perceived at. We'd booked a Grand View Suite and while it was a very lovely room, a suite it was not. The website makes a big deal about their deep soaking tubs, but ours was a average tub that you'd find in any normal hotel. All in all, the room was clean and fine, just not as advertised, making it way overpriced. (I also really enjoyed that they provided one bathrobe. Great attention to detail... ) I was aware that the property was fairly far away from the rest of Coronado and was prepared for that. It made for a nice quiet place to stay, but if you are looking to stay in town, you would be disappointed. All in all, I left the hotel feeling like all they want is as much money as they can get from whoever passes through their doors. They don't care if you return or say nice things about them when you leave. And it's a shame, because all they really need to do is make sure their website matches up better with the customer experience. Had I not been promised some fancy room/amazing customer service experience beforehand, I would have been much less annoyed and wouldn't have walked away feeling like I'd been hustled. One last thing, make sure to review your bill charges carefully, as they added a random pet charge ($25) to our bill. It wouldn't surprise me if that were a common occurrence, given all of the things they charge for. My husband is still waiting for them to charge us for the non-existent second bathrobe...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Go to another Place
Business
LA
Jan 24, 2012

Needed to relax!

You pay overly expensive prices for amenities.. Hidden cost. I was disapointed in all the extras costs. $30 for parking a DAY/ $8 Peanuts/ $8 for a glass of orange Juice/ $13 internet a night. it goes on and on.. find a nice marriot and save the cash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
May 3, 2011

Hand in my pocket

It was a very nice and beautiful resort but they tried charging me for everything which btw was very overpriced. They had several hidden fees as well including self parking. $30 to park my own car every night, what's that about? It was vet secluded too which meant if we wanted to have dinner we had to drive 20 min into town. It was a nice get away but not exactly what a 20-30 year old like me was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
May 3, 2011

Hand in my pocket

It was a very nice and beautiful resort but they tried charging me for everything which btw was very overpriced. They had several hidden fees as well including self parking. $30 to park my own car every night, what's that about? It was vet secluded too which meant if we wanted to have dinner we had to drive 20 min into town. It was a nice get away but not exactly what a 20-30 year old like me was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pixitinkz
San Jacinto
Feb 6, 2012

Hidden Fees

The hidden fees really made the visit bad. The prices were way to expensive to eat at the hotel resturants. The room was nice and peaceful with a nice view of the bay. Staff were so accomdating and pleasent. That was the good part, the final bill was unbeliveable. Which should have been $398.00 for the hole stay ended up being $528.00 $25 bucks a night to self part added 75 to the bill then all the other hidden fees just hiked up the price. We will never stay there again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top