$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Loews Coronado Bay

4 stars
4000 Coronado Bay Rd, Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
83 reviews
Wonderful Getaway

THIS HOTEL IS THE BEST! I WILL DEFINATELY BE STAYING HERE IN THE FUTURE! See full review

  • Madeline52
  • Dec 1, 2014
Beautiful hotel with helpful staff

The hotel and location are beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool area is... See full review

  • xrayholley
  • Aug 17, 2014
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-To-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort*s waterfront location the new design artfully combines San Diegos sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. Loews Coronado Bay Resort offers activities as varied as our guests. Relax by one of three pools, stroll down the pristine Silver Strand State Beach, pamper yourself at Sea Spa or just enjoy a glass of wine while sitting at an outdoor fire feature watching the sunset. Other resort recreation includes three bayside tennis courts, a private marina with bike rentals and a fleet of gondolas and a full-service spa and salon. Our 439 rooms include 37 suites and are all designed to fit your specific needs, whether those needs be spacious rooms perfect for families or flexible work areas ideal for business travelers looking to get work done while traveling. All guest rooms feature free wi-fi, in-room safe, a Keurig coffeemaker, Julien Farel professional hair dryer, flat screen television and 24-hour room service.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Coronado Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Loews Coronado Bay Rooms

Deluxe
Pool View, non smoking room accommodations with 1 king bed or 2 double beds. Furnished balconies, feature views of the pool.Comp wifi.
Standard
Resort View, non smoking room accommodations with 1 king bed or 2 double beds. Resort/Garden views. Comp wifi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Tennis pro
Boating
Water skiing
Steam bath
Wind surfing
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Drugstore
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Dining

Mistral
Captivating views and shareable plates are savored at Mistral. Robust, intense flavors are prepared with brilliant and innovative techniques and infused with the freshest herbs from the resorts own organic herb garden.
Market
Whimsical design inspired by our unique waterfront location offers both indoor and outdoor dining. Chef Leland Heatons menu offers options that showcase the culinary variety of Southern California and familiar favorites to satisfy every appetite.
Market To Go
Enjoy Starbucks coffee, pastries, sandwiches, salads, Ben and Jerrys ice cream, Dylans Candies, throwback soft drinks, wines and craft beers. Juice Therapy specializes in all-natural, made-to-order blends of juices and smoothies for a refreshing treat.
Cays Lounge
Breathtaking views of the skyline and Coronado Bay along with craft cocktails and local craft beers. Outside oversized teak sofas beckon guests to cozy up to stylish fire pits for a warm glow in the evening hours.
La Cantina
Casual poolside dining at La Cantina allows you to relax by one of our three pools while our bartenders mix your favorite libations, such as liquor infusions and frozen favorites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Coronado Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Little Rabbit
Business
Seattle
Dec 1, 2010

Better than OK, not Great

This stay was a bit like taking the Godiva wrapper off a chocolate bar only to find a Nestle's crunch inside. There's nothing wrong with a Nestle's Crunch, but when you expect Godiva ..... Our room was nicely laid out but none too spacious. Most of the evenings we had to turn up the TV to drown out the LOUD thumping from whatever was above us. (The elephant training center?) The bathroom was spacious but there was nowhere you could hang a towel that was within reach the sink or shower. The "clean" towels had grey lint on them everyday and housekeeping failed to replenish the toiletries until requested to do so. Add to this the feeling of being nickled and dimed to death ($22/day for parking, $13/day for internet in the room, etc.)and we won't be stying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A couple of great places for breakfast just a little way north of the hotel in downtown Coronado.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hayley Mall
Business
Los Angles. CA
Nov 28, 2010

fair deal but pricy food

The resort is a bit far from the center, but not too bad. We prefer to stay close to the Coronado Island anyway. The view of room is pretty good, even with the garden view as we booked. However, please note that there will be charge on the parking and internet and breakfast (all of them are pricy, breakfast is 38 per person). Other than that, the service is quite nice. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Room is tidy, spacious with modern decoration. Overall is a nice experience for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty restaurants and bars in downtown area, which only cost 10 minutes drive from the resort. Also, the shops on the Coronado Island seems pretty good too. Don't forget to try the "moo time ice cream" inside the Hotel Del Coronado! It is one of the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camarillo
Nov 24, 2010

great until checkout

The dining was overpriced and they surprised me with a $22 per night parking fee for their underground parking that was half filled and had no attendant. The view and pool area were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ouiseaux Blanc
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Fabulous Getaway!

From the moment we arrived at the Loew's Coronado Bay Resort we knew we were in for something special. Driving through the marina and beautiful boats to the hotel set the tone for our two day stay. At check in, the valet was eager and charming, the front desk offered us a free upgrade and we were briefed on the hotel amenities. Our room was, in a word, tranquil. The furniture was sophisticated, the colors soothing and as we cuddled into the scrumptious courtesy robes and settled in to watch the sunset over the bay I was feeling very pampered. There were all kinds of things to do like bicycling along the Silver Strand, cooking classes, herb gardening, sailing, kayaking, gondola rides and kids stuff plus!!!!! a spa! Unfortunately for us, we were booked for the entire time we were there with outside activities. Drinks in the lounge, killer! A light bite at Market Cafe, tasty and satisfying. I need to come back to do the gondola thing, the spa and the award winning Mistral restaurant. This was a really good value and a really good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't be put off by the fact that the hotel is on the Strand and not in town. Town is just a short drive. The hotel has everything in the way of activities you could ask for. I have stayed in town several times and this experience beat all others hands down!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Deals of our Lives
Business
Orange County
Nov 22, 2010

Great place, Great location.

The staff was great. The place was clean. We really enjoyed the property. It was easy to get in the car and head into Coronado. The town was a perfect getaway. We found a few fun places to eat and enjoy a glass of wine. Just over the bridge we enjoyed the Gas Lamp district. As for the hotel we enjoyed the pool area each morning. We had drinks by the fire outside. We loved the deserts that were available at the market. The food was too expensive for us. We would have dined in the hotel, but $14 for a burger is ridiculous. If the hotel had food available for a reasonable price we probably would have never left the hotel. Other reviewers mentioned the $22 parking charge. This is true, but they don't charge a resort fee. So paying for parking is no big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The wine shop called Wine Styles located on the main road offers some great wine under $25. If you buy a bottle from them you can enjoy it at some local restaurants without a corckage fee. The owner is super nice and helpful. One of the hi-lights of the trip. We also used restaurant.com to find deals at other local restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heavens mommy
Business
Escondido Ca
Nov 9, 2010

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!!

The hotel was amazing and so was the customer service. The place was beautiful! We enjoyed a romantic gondala boat ride which is on their property and they served us chocolate covered strawberrries! It was perfect! I would recommend this place for a romantic get away or for a family! The hotel is a great place to go and you can bring your pets!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

On the hotel property there is a place to go on a gondala boat ride as well as you can rent bikes, jet skis and a few other things! Great way to leave the hotel room but still enjoy the resort!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC CA
Business
Irvine CA
Oct 18, 2010

very good

Good hotel but know U should pay $22/day for parking and you should opt out newspaper otherwise you get charge 75 cents/day too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upland, Ca
Aug 20, 2010

The last of the summer get away's

We were supposed to have a sleeper bed in our room in addition to the king. It took them 5 hours and 4 phone calls to get it. It was 10PM and our child was exhausted! After that we asked to have the iron in our room replaced because it was broken and they brought a hair dryer. Food service has gone down since we have last been there. Other than those issues, the staff was very friendly, the grounds were beautiful. We were fairly close to Sea World, there was a fabuloue beach within walking distance. Alot of great pluses with the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollywood, CA
Jul 5, 2010

Loews is Awesome!

Mistral Resturant is amazing. Great place to watch fireworks on the 4th!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple's weekend away
Business
Coronado, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Loews San Diego is Wonderful

The hotel was clean, well run and in a great location. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. The conceirge helped book restaurant reservations, provided directions and recommended various activities - exactly what should be expected of a concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is a short walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top