$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Loews Coronado Bay

4 stars
4000 Coronado Bay Rd, Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
83 reviews
Wonderful Getaway

THIS HOTEL IS THE BEST! I WILL DEFINATELY BE STAYING HERE IN THE FUTURE! See full review

  • Madeline52
  • Dec 1, 2014
Beautiful hotel with helpful staff

The hotel and location are beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool area is... See full review

  • xrayholley
  • Aug 17, 2014
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-To-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort*s waterfront location the new design artfully combines San Diegos sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. Loews Coronado Bay Resort offers activities as varied as our guests. Relax by one of three pools, stroll down the pristine Silver Strand State Beach, pamper yourself at Sea Spa or just enjoy a glass of wine while sitting at an outdoor fire feature watching the sunset. Other resort recreation includes three bayside tennis courts, a private marina with bike rentals and a fleet of gondolas and a full-service spa and salon. Our 439 rooms include 37 suites and are all designed to fit your specific needs, whether those needs be spacious rooms perfect for families or flexible work areas ideal for business travelers looking to get work done while traveling. All guest rooms feature free wi-fi, in-room safe, a Keurig coffeemaker, Julien Farel professional hair dryer, flat screen television and 24-hour room service.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Loews Coronado Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Loews Coronado Bay Rooms

Deluxe
Pool View, non smoking room accommodations with 1 king bed or 2 double beds. Furnished balconies, feature views of the pool.Comp wifi.
Standard
Resort View, non smoking room accommodations with 1 king bed or 2 double beds. Resort/Garden views. Comp wifi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Tennis pro
Boating
Water skiing
Steam bath
Wind surfing
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Drugstore
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Dining

Mistral
Captivating views and shareable plates are savored at Mistral. Robust, intense flavors are prepared with brilliant and innovative techniques and infused with the freshest herbs from the resorts own organic herb garden.
Market
Whimsical design inspired by our unique waterfront location offers both indoor and outdoor dining. Chef Leland Heatons menu offers options that showcase the culinary variety of Southern California and familiar favorites to satisfy every appetite.
Market To Go
Enjoy Starbucks coffee, pastries, sandwiches, salads, Ben and Jerrys ice cream, Dylans Candies, throwback soft drinks, wines and craft beers. Juice Therapy specializes in all-natural, made-to-order blends of juices and smoothies for a refreshing treat.
Cays Lounge
Breathtaking views of the skyline and Coronado Bay along with craft cocktails and local craft beers. Outside oversized teak sofas beckon guests to cozy up to stylish fire pits for a warm glow in the evening hours.
La Cantina
Casual poolside dining at La Cantina allows you to relax by one of our three pools while our bartenders mix your favorite libations, such as liquor infusions and frozen favorites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Coronado Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supersirk
Business
Laguna Woods,California
Oct 17, 2012

Satisfactory Experience Par

This hotel was satisfactory but far from outstanding. Parking, which was $25.00 per day was diffucult with no convenient spaces. The staff was a redeeming feature. They were great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We had dinner at "The Butcher Shop" It wasoutstanding and a geat value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
winecountrymom
Business
petaluma, ca
Jul 19, 2012

great value

the hotel was very nice!! lobby had recently been remodeled, and the rooms were roomy and clean. pool was great, only problem was there were kids most of the time in the adult jacuzzi. staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. only problem was it is 4 miles from downtown coronado. they do provide a no cost shuttle service that takes you to and from downtown coronado (reservation required). i would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired Sailor
Business
Sacramento
May 29, 2012

100% Positive Experience

What more to say ! In addition, it was a great plus to have access to the Silver Strand State Beach AND !! The hotel will golf cart you and your rubber duck over and back !! Even after the multitude of fees and tax's, I was glad we stayed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mdraegerPNW
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
May 1, 2012

Not as advertised

I booked this hotel for my husbands and my 15th wedding anniversary getaway. The photos of it looked nice and we wanted to stay someplace a little more special. I read some of the reviews online, so I was prepared for them to do the typical resort gouging for every little thing (i.e. $25 self parking charge... ) but I expected that my room would be nice and the customer service would be excellent. When we arrived to check in at 3:00, we were told that our room wasn't ready and that they would call us when it was. Now, I've had to wait for a room to be ready when I've arrived early in the morning, not at 3:00 in the afternoon (especially when I filled in my arrival time when making the reservation... ) so I was a bit annoyed. We waited by the pool area for half an hour without hearing anything, before calling reception to discover that our room was indeed ready. When we returned to the front desk, they weren't super apologetic and it seemed like this type of thing happened all the time, which is pretty inexcusable for a property of the level that this one wants to be perceived at. We'd booked a Grand View Suite and while it was a very lovely room, a suite it was not. The website makes a big deal about their deep soaking tubs, but ours was a average tub that you'd find in any normal hotel. All in all, the room was clean and fine, just not as advertised, making it way overpriced. (I also really enjoyed that they provided one bathrobe. Great attention to detail... ) I was aware that the property was fairly far away from the rest of Coronado and was prepared for that. It made for a nice quiet place to stay, but if you are looking to stay in town, you would be disappointed. All in all, I left the hotel feeling like all they want is as much money as they can get from whoever passes through their doors. They don't care if you return or say nice things about them when you leave. And it's a shame, because all they really need to do is make sure their website matches up better with the customer experience. Had I not been promised some fancy room/amazing customer service experience beforehand, I would have been much less annoyed and wouldn't have walked away feeling like I'd been hustled. One last thing, make sure to review your bill charges carefully, as they added a random pet charge ($25) to our bill. It wouldn't surprise me if that were a common occurrence, given all of the things they charge for. My husband is still waiting for them to charge us for the non-existent second bathrobe...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizavette
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 23, 2012

BIrthday Surprise!

My experience couldn't of been better! I wanted to surprise my boyfriend for his birthday and everything was perfect! He loved it and I'm gratefull to everyone that made it happen. We booked the same room for next month!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizavette
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 23, 2012

Birthday Surprise!

My experience couldn't have gotten any better! They satisfied all my requests and my boyfriend was completely surprised! The room was perfect! We will be going again next month. I am gratefull to everyone that made it happen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momis
Business
Naucalpan de Juárez, MEX, México
Apr 14, 2012

Loews Coronado

All was very good. Location is excelent and staff is very kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harbor House Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hex10
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Beautifull

Wonderfull and helpfull staf, the rooms are great and the views are gorgeous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Peohes is a short drive away and has some amazing food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sahlf
Business
Vacaville, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Romantic getaway

Great views, upgraded our room for free. Construction, but not disturbing. Very comfortable for families and couples alike

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mistral, incredible French restaurant in the hotel. Mixologist at the bar as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Coronado Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisappointedTim
Business
Maple Valley, Washington
Mar 1, 2012

Loews Coronado Bay Resort Failure

In late Feb my wife and I stayed at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort in San Diego. As I prepared for bed I stepped barefoot in a puddle of water ( I hope ) on the floor next to my bed. I washed and dried my feet and then walked between the 2 beds and again stepped into some liquid on the floor. It was late and I did not want to call the front desk or ask to change rooms since we were staying only one night. I didn't want to get dressed and go downstairs to the front desk. We just dealt with the problem but the carpet smelled terrible all night. Next day upon checkout I told the front desk about the problem and they only offered us a small horrid discount of our parking fee. I will never stay there again. I am not the type to cause a scene and demand this and that....I just never go back. The Hotel completely failed us and the stay was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fish Market restaurant next to the "Midway" air craft carrier was fantastic. The food and service was amazing. I can't wait to go back. The view of the San Diego Bay at Sunset was incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top