$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
View map of 1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
92 reviews
Great Get Away

We totally unplugged while we were there. The restaurant choices are wonderful. See full review

  • Karen E.
  • Dec 29, 2014
So wonderful~~~

Everyone was very kind. In fronyt of hotel, there was a fine seashore. Hotel was so beautiful, so I... See full review

  • Jespi
  • Oct 4, 2014
Rising from water's edge on the quaint island of Coronado in San Diego, the Hotel del Coronado is considered one of America's most beautiful beach resorts.

A classic historic hotel, The Del was built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977. Today, The Del offers travelers contemporary luxury in an enchanting Victorian atmosphere. Add the resort's beachfront location, and it's no wonder USA Today calls The Del one of the top ten resorts in the world. The Del offers a quintessential San Diego resort vacation experience. For those seeking a romantic retreat, the resort's magical architecture and island setting are perfect. In fact, the Travel Channel rated The Del the number-one wedding destination in America. The Del is also a wonderful family vacation destination, featuring abundant recreation, as well as seasonal teen and children's programs. And, for getting down to business, meeting and incentive planners can work with over 65,000 feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and exhibition space.

Hotel del Coronado, situated along 28 oceanfront acres, is an elegant example of Victorian architecture and is considered one of America's most beautiful resorts. The Del has become a living legend with visits by celebrities, U.S. presidents and dignitaries from around the world. In fact, publisher Rand McNally credits the Hotel del Coronado as enjoying more fame and historical significance than perhaps any hotel in North America.

With almost 365 days of sunshine and an award- wining beachfront location, The Del is the premier West Coast leisure destination for family adventures or romantic getaways. The resort offers a variety of casual and fine dining restaurants overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Guests can enjoy year-round recreation activities including surfing, boating, biking or relaxing poolside or on the beach. There are two swimming pools, spa services, fitness center and over 20 shops and boutiques. The charming island village of Coronado is just outside The Del's front door and exciting downtown San Diego is only ten minutes away.

The Hotel del Coronado's Self Parking is now $37 & Valet Parking is $47, per vehicle, per night. Please also note we have recently gone pet friendly and there is a $150 non refundable charge for pet cleaning fees.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property Rooms

Resort Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 4.
Victorian Queen
One bed. Located in original hotel building. 200-289 square feet. High-speed Internet access (wireless Internet access may also be available). Video games. Coffeemaker. The Sea bath products. In-room safe. Air conditioning. Note this room cannot accommodate rollaway beds the maximum occupancy is two.
Partial Ocean View King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 2.
Partial Ocean View Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 4.
Resort King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 2.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Cabana Bar
Right on the sand, features light fare and tropical drinks.
1500 Ocean
1500 OCEAN restaurant and bar features glowing sunset colors, beautiful dark wood accents, warm lighting and the comfortable elegance found in a beachfront cabana setting.

The arrival experience begins on the terrace entrance overlooking the Pacific. The terrace also offers a one-of-a-kind, intimate outdoor dining venue. Inside, the restaurant features two private dining venues and a wine vault. A signature glass wall, with vibrant sunset hues, provides the backdrop for the bar and creates and radiant, energetic ambiance.

The menu showcases the freshest Southland Coastal Cuisine, with selections from Santa Ynez to Cabo San Lucas. Featured wines from many of the vineyards grown in these areas will complement the incredible culinary flavors.

Sun Deck Bar and Grill
Cocktails and grilled favorites with magnificent views of the Pacific and seasonal live entertainment.
Babcock and Story Bar
Voted "Best Hotel Bar" in San Diego Magazine Reader's Poll, B&S Bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks, California premiere wines, espressos, afternoon tapas, seasonal entertainment and amazing indoor and outdoor terraced seating.
Sheerwater
Sheerwater is the Hotel del Coronado's oceanfront restaurant featuring expansive outdoor dining terraces and giant fireplaces.

Sheerwater offers California coastal cuisine: regional specialties that emphasize bold flavor, tantalizing spices and seasonally inspired menus. Signature entrees are prepared in the exhibition oven. A special children's menu includes original takes on traditional childhood favorites. The bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks and California's premier wines. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.

Crown-Coronet Room
The world-famous Crown-Coronet Room rivals the imagination. Whimsical crown-shaped chandeliers, designed by Wizard of Oz author L. Frank Baum, drop from glowing sugar-pine ceiling. Spacious windows circling the room offer some of California's most radiant views. The Crown Room offers an award-winning Sunday Brunch (voted "Best Sunday Brunch" by the California Restaurant Association), holiday celebrations and special events.

See why the splendor of the Crown Room was chosen as the first state dinner held outside the White House and as a setting for many Hollywood films.

Babcock and Story Bakery
Serves gourmet coffee, tea and freshly baked breads and pastries.
Boardwalk Cafe
Features light breakfast and lunch fare, refreshing smoothies and cool treats.
Splash Bar and Deli
Located poolside. Features sandwiches, snacks, and specialty tropical drinks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located on 28 oceanfront acres, and offering 65,000 square feet of event space, the Hotel del Coronado is San Diego's premier meeting resort. With indoor, outdoor and oceanfront facilities, combined with an elegant Victorian ambience, superb cuisine, and friendly service, The Del provides a wonderful setting for corporate meetings, conferences, corporate retreats, teambuilding programs, and workshops. The Del's distinctive San Diego conference rooms and meeting facilities offer spectacular views, inspire creativity, entertain, reward, and impress corporate associates and clients alike.

Fax services, Office supplies, Guest email, Computer workstations, High-speed copy services, General office equipment rental, Shipping, receiving, and postal services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rude Awakening
Business
San Diego
Jan 2, 2014

New Year Dissappointment

Excited to bring in the New Year at the Famous Hotel Del Coronado with our dear friends was a very disappointing experience . Long line to check in to the hotel. Our room was very small right over a trash container which proved to be our alarm clock too early the next morning. We stopped by the resturant 1500 to confirm our reservations at @ 8:15 and inquire about our menu choices when I was interrupted mid sentence And informed that there was only one choice and it was $125:00 per person. I stared to ask about the web site quote but was again interrupted. We ended up at a resturant down the street great food but not what we planned. Next morning after an early trash can wake up we were told that our wait time in the resturant would be 45min to an hour. We were due to check out at noon. We sat in the bar area and we were told that we could order from one of 3 waiters. After about 10 minutes we stopped someone who appeared to be a waiter and he told me " relax lady we don't open until 12:00. We had to leave the hotel to get breakfast in time to check out. Yikes that's not good. It ended with the car attendant yelling at us because my husband ran in to check and see what was taking me so long to get to the car out front. Next year we will not bring in the New Year at the Hotel Del Coronado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Caring Mon
Business
Bay area, CA
Sep 9, 2012

Not up to the fame

We decided to stay here because of its fame and history. Unfortunately, from any aspect of a 4-star hotel/restore, it is NOT up to the standards. The food was somehow caused us upset stomach since our very first meal at the hotel. We tried all the food services/restaurants, every single of them gave us the same stomach problem. The room was very old without any charms, and the mattresses making noises when you make turns, very basic, not luxury at all. The towels were not as near nice as my company's gym towels. The service staff were not efficiently bringing up food, or housekeeping items per guests' requests. They definitely need more professional training. The pool was dirty. Our preschooler got sick after playing in the pool. Overall, the management of the hotel was at least paying attention to the complains. Still not good enough for us to recommend this hotel at all for any families etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel with a purpose
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 2, 2014

Great architecture, great beach, poor service

It is a historic hotel that has exquisite architecture. The beach is very nice, and one can spend an entire day on the beach. However, the hotel was very crowded during the period we stayed. It was after Christmas and before the New Year. The hotel was well booked, but the problem with the crowd is not necessarily related with the guests who stay. There are many people who come to the hotel for activities (such as skating). It was ridiculously crowded. It took us more than half an hour to reach to the entrance of the hotel to check in. The guest parking was full due to the crowd and it was a challenge to find a valet to have your car parked. We waited for everything: to leave the car, to fetch the car, to eat, to drink. It ended up being a frustrating waiting experience rather than a relaxed vacation that we were hoping to have. The other issue is noise. It is an old building and sound insulation is a problem. We were bothered by the noise from the guests as they were going to their rooms late at night, and by the noise from the house keeping staff as they were chatting in the corridors early in the mornings. It is a rather expensive hotel, unfortunately we felt that the experience did not match the price, well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Miguel's Cocina or the Brigantine Seafood restaurant. Both are across the street from del Coronado, and both have excellent food.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweetnote
Business
San Diego, CA
May 31, 2011

Some Like It NOT

While the Staff was Lovely, the accomodations were HORRIBLE! We were in a wing next to the pool and which happened to be UNDER some of the main activities. One night we were treated to Skateboarders over us, the band was over us, and a wind storm which (because the umbrellas were unsecured at night)blew over tables and rolled for hours! When we called to complain about our problems we were met with Courtesy, however, we were NEVER offered a different room location. The food, while good, was overpriced along with the drinks. What was supposed to be our introduction to our new home in San Diego left us exhausted and frustrated. I'd go back for the beauty and nostalgia, however we can not recommend staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food at the Breakfast Buffet was Lovely. Didn't make it to the Crown Room, however, it is probably worth the trip to make a Brunch there.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
qishan
Business
San Diego, california
Aug 20, 2013

Not worth the money

If you spent over $600 per room per night, you never expect that the hotel parking lot is full and you need to spend 30 mins to find a parking spot on street 1 miles away. And you never expect that you have to wait another hour after 4pm (hotel check in time) before you get into your room. I think you can find other top quality hotels with far better services at half the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fallbrook, CA
Oct 16, 2009

Just OK

Not worth the money, very noisey room, with unsightly view of dirty laundry bins and industrial looking building. For the amount of money, we could have stayed at a nice hotel and gotten a nice breakfast included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
life is hard enjoy now
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2014

Nice weekend getaway

Room was minimal but nice and comfortable, but for the price with parking lot view and close to the loading dock, only worth to do it once. Monday morning it sounds like construction going on from all the delivery trucks. Staff are ok , I was expecting more professionalism and treatment of a 4-start hotels. Staff in restaurants don't usually acknowledge us though we were wondering the dining area trying to find out what's served. Even the woman at the bakery seemed annoyed when I was presenting my Complimentary drink card, not friendly at all. The dining area on the way to the beach was a mess because tables would be in the middle of pathway from the hotel to the beach. The chillean sea bass at Sheerwater restaurant was really good. The brunch at the Crown room was not as good as I thought. The prime rib was salty and the crab leg was salty also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sheerwater at the Hotel Del Coronado, La Salsa, Nado Gelato, and Moo Time creamery.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple with child
Business
Del mar, ca
Jul 2, 2012

Great beach location

Very friendly staff. Not sure if worth the money for this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago IL Family
Business
Coronada Island, CA
Mar 28, 2013

Great Beach Family Vacation

We had a wonderful stay. Highlights: Surfing lessons for three kids, hotel photographer took family shots, rented a bike for five, s'mores by a fire pit at night, nice pool, good restaurants. The property was beautiful. Room was small, bathroom was very small, ceilings were very low - but tastefully decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mountain View
Jan 3, 2009

great location

we spent only one night but the location is great and for christmas ther was an ice rink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top