$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
View map of 1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW, Texas
Jul 15, 2011

Cool Pacific Breezes

Graceful and gracious, the Del kept us entertained and enfolded in old-style beauty and luxury. Linens were soft; everything was clean. The staff was adequate, although none went out his/her way. Enjoyed [...], the elevator driver. Food was excellent, although pricey. Not many extras for family time ... we missed the s'mores. :( We would love to return some day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wineseeker
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 27, 2014

Girlfriends birthday

Birthday suprises, ie flowers, wine, chocolatle dipped strawberrys were there on arrival....( though the wine was not what i had ordered). First night was great till 5:30 am.... Window shutters were inadequate to block the light and the whole room was illuminated.......not good on 'birthday morning'. Also room was next to a loading dock which woke us up at 6 am.....leading to a room change. Staff is ultraaccomidating but wait times for car valet and the breakfast buffet were unusually long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired nurse 2
Business
Las Vegas nv
Aug 14, 2014

Lovely just lovely!!!!!

Peaceful and wonderful. Just what the doctor ordered Perfect in every way!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susy0711
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 10, 2014

Vintage Experience

Although this is a 4 star hotel, you must arrive with the appropriate expectations. if you are impressed with California history, architecture and authenticity - then this hotel is a good choice for you! I loved the beautiful rose wood, along with a Full Brass (open mesh) elevator. It was so beautiful and tempting, that I used it more than the stairs. The room was extremely comfortable, plenty of room - (walk in closet), solid wood plantation shutters, balcony, ceiling fan and 40" flat screen TV. When you step outside the front entrance, you could be shopping in a specialty store, picking up some sunscreen from a drug store, or dining in a fine seafood restaurant in minutes!! Literally minutes to everything you could want. When you step out the back entrance, it opens up a world of hotel shops, patio dining, pizza and wine bar and all with the beach for a backdrop. Guess I could go on and on, but I believe the point is made. We didn't try the hotel restaurants due to the wait and crowds. For our convenience, the room service was good and efficient. Remember when you are at the Del Coronado Hotel, where the WALLS AND CEILING are still made of wood, there must be precautions like fire alarms and sprinklers. We had a few times when the alarms sounded during the night, and when you wake up in a room/building made of wood, you take notice. We were promptly notified by the security team over the intercom and assured the issue was addressed. The customer service at check out was impressive. We inquired about the alarms and he explained in detail about each incident. They offered to reduce our bill without us asking. Truly a superb experience at "The Del" !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of locals places to eat as well as fine dining and everything in between.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tagil
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2014

Charming hotel on the beach

The hotel is in excellent location right on the beach. The grounds are beautiful. The room was cozy and clean. Hotel does not get any better in terms of history and comfort. We only had an issue with the noise. Because it is older/wood-based building we could hear guests upstairs and going up and down the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FloraCorn
Business
UK
Nov 11, 2014

Beautiful architecture and location

Beautiful location on Coronado island. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has a lovely, quirky design although I wasn't very keen on getting into the old caged lift. The room was clean and comfortable, although a little dated. We'd stay here again for the location and the nearby amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Too many people. It is not a place for a quite getaway. Service is adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FloraCorn
Business
UK
Oct 18, 2014

Architectural charm

We stayed in the beautiful and historic hotel Del for two nights. The staff were friendly and attentive and the building is fantastic. It is dated in places, but it adds to the charm. The only negative was the strange smell, which I think came from the garden. Also, there were some protesters on the beach each morning, asking people to boycott the hotel! The bed was comfortable, the room clean and the setting beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SpencerC
Business
American Fork, Utah
Jan 9, 2014

great time

Fantastic location. You feel like you are staying at more than just a hotel. I enjoyed everything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
petro814
Business
boston, ma
Apr 12, 2014

It was awesome

bit pricey but cant beat oceanside properties. Awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of great Mexican restaurants so I would recommend driving

Back to menu Return to top