$411 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
133 reviews
Can't imagine better!

Visited Coronado to see friends as a late anniversary celebration. They suggested staying at the... See full review

  • Pam empty nester
  • Jun 10, 2014
First class in every way!

Our daughter held her wedding in San Diego. The Hotel del Coronado will be one of the very positive... See full review

  • GDGGDG
  • Jun 9, 2014
Rising from water's edge on the quaint island of Coronado in San Diego, the Hotel del Coronado is considered one of America's most beautiful beach resorts.

A classic historic hotel, The Del was built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977. Today, The Del offers travelers contemporary luxury in an enchanting Victorian atmosphere. Add the resort's beachfront location, and it's no wonder USA Today calls The Del one of the top ten resorts in the world. The Del offers a quintessential San Diego resort vacation experience. For those seeking a romantic retreat, the resort's magical architecture and island setting are perfect. In fact, the Travel Channel rated The Del the number-one wedding destination in America. The Del is also a wonderful family vacation destination, featuring abundant recreation, as well as seasonal teen and children's programs. And, for getting down to business, meeting and incentive planners can work with over 65,000 feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and exhibition space.

Hotel del Coronado, situated along 28 oceanfront acres, is an elegant example of Victorian architecture and is considered one of America's most beautiful resorts. The Del has become a living legend with visits by celebrities, U.S. presidents and dignitaries from around the world. In fact, publisher Rand McNally credits the Hotel del Coronado as enjoying more fame and historical significance than perhaps any hotel in North America.

With almost 365 days of sunshine and an award- wining beachfront location, The Del is the premier West Coast leisure destination for family adventures or romantic getaways. The resort offers a variety of casual and fine dining restaurants overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Guests can enjoy year-round recreation activities including surfing, boating, biking or relaxing poolside or on the beach. There are two swimming pools, spa services, fitness center and over 20 shops and boutiques. The charming island village of Coronado is just outside The Del's front door and exciting downtown San Diego is only ten minutes away.

The Hotel del Coronado's Self Parking is now $37 & Valet Parking is $47, per vehicle, per night. Please also note we have recently gone pet friendly and there is a $150 non refundable charge for pet cleaning fees.

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property Rooms

Resort Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 4.
Victorian Queen
One bed. Located in original hotel building. 200-289 square feet. High-speed Internet access (wireless Internet access may also be available). Video games. Coffeemaker. The Sea bath products. In-room safe. Air conditioning. Note this room cannot accommodate rollaway beds the maximum occupancy is two.
Partial Ocean View King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 2.
Partial Ocean View Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 4.
Resort King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 2.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.6817 -117.1775
Area served
Coronado, San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego Lindbergh International Airport
Area description
As the only true beachfront hotel in San Diego, the Hotel del Coronado offers a unique perspective of the city. Located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island-just across the bay from downtown-The Del provides effortless access to a variety of entertaining activities.

Known as America's Finest City, San Diego combines the art and culture of a major metropolis with a relaxed, small-town feel. Experience its world-class restaurants, fantastic shopping, award-winning local theatre, miles of recreational beaches, over 70 golf courses, and major attractions that include SeaWorld, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park, and Legoland. All are within minutes of The Del's renowned San Diego beachfront hotel accommodations.

Dining

Cabana Bar
Right on the sand, features light fare and tropical drinks.
1500 Ocean
1500 OCEAN restaurant and bar features glowing sunset colors, beautiful dark wood accents, warm lighting and the comfortable elegance found in a beachfront cabana setting.

The arrival experience begins on the terrace entrance overlooking the Pacific. The terrace also offers a one-of-a-kind, intimate outdoor dining venue. Inside, the restaurant features two private dining venues and a wine vault. A signature glass wall, with vibrant sunset hues, provides the backdrop for the bar and creates and radiant, energetic ambiance.

The menu showcases the freshest Southland Coastal Cuisine, with selections from Santa Ynez to Cabo San Lucas. Featured wines from many of the vineyards grown in these areas will complement the incredible culinary flavors.

Sun Deck Bar and Grill
Cocktails and grilled favorites with magnificent views of the Pacific and seasonal live entertainment.
Babcock and Story Bar
Voted "Best Hotel Bar" in San Diego Magazine Reader's Poll, B&S Bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks, California premiere wines, espressos, afternoon tapas, seasonal entertainment and amazing indoor and outdoor terraced seating.
Sheerwater
Sheerwater is the Hotel del Coronado's oceanfront restaurant featuring expansive outdoor dining terraces and giant fireplaces.

Sheerwater offers California coastal cuisine: regional specialties that emphasize bold flavor, tantalizing spices and seasonally inspired menus. Signature entrees are prepared in the exhibition oven. A special children's menu includes original takes on traditional childhood favorites. The bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks and California's premier wines. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.

Crown-Coronet Room
The world-famous Crown-Coronet Room rivals the imagination. Whimsical crown-shaped chandeliers, designed by Wizard of Oz author L. Frank Baum, drop from glowing sugar-pine ceiling. Spacious windows circling the room offer some of California's most radiant views. The Crown Room offers an award-winning Sunday Brunch (voted "Best Sunday Brunch" by the California Restaurant Association), holiday celebrations and special events.

See why the splendor of the Crown Room was chosen as the first state dinner held outside the White House and as a setting for many Hollywood films.

Babcock and Story Bakery
Serves gourmet coffee, tea and freshly baked breads and pastries.
Boardwalk Cafe
Features light breakfast and lunch fare, refreshing smoothies and cool treats.
Splash Bar and Deli
Located poolside. Features sandwiches, snacks, and specialty tropical drinks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located on 28 oceanfront acres, and offering 65,000 square feet of event space, the Hotel del Coronado is San Diego's premier meeting resort. With indoor, outdoor and oceanfront facilities, combined with an elegant Victorian ambience, superb cuisine, and friendly service, The Del provides a wonderful setting for corporate meetings, conferences, corporate retreats, teambuilding programs, and workshops. The Del's distinctive San Diego conference rooms and meeting facilities offer spectacular views, inspire creativity, entertain, reward, and impress corporate associates and clients alike.

Fax services, Office supplies, Guest email, Computer workstations, High-speed copy services, General office equipment rental, Shipping, receiving, and postal services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, ca
Aug 5, 2011

Gotta Love It!

The location of the hotel and the hotel itsel if superb. Truly a first class experience. I'd recommend staying in the "older" section of the hotel. Very charming and has the true flavor of the Del the way it was originally built. The newer towers are nice but if you closed your eyes and were not told you were at the Del, you wouldn't know you were actually there. Definitely an experience worth splurging for and one we look forward to next summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tolga Onuk
West Hollywood
Jun 5, 2012

Great Location - Very Old Hotel

You only book this hotel if you accept the fact that you are going to be staying in the oldest hotel in california. Location is amazing. Architecture is artistic, staff is overall okay but the mold and the smell of this place can make you feel like you are in a haunted hospital - that's a fact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast in this place is priceless...

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catmom
Business
Kansas
Jun 27, 2009

Steampunk

This is a huge Victorian hotel that has been modernized as best it could be. There is a lot of dark wood and uneven floors. Not your typical big hotel. It has nice restaurants and shops but everything is very pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eno restaurant- very fun.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laughing Lulu
Huntington Beach, California
Aug 6, 2012

Great Histroical Hotel

I love this hotel, it's like stepping back in time. It's great, located right on the beach, so the location is everything. We spent time lounging on the beach and then moved up to the adult pool. This truly is adults only pool. No children were there, as they do have a family pool at the main hotel! The staff throught the hotel were all very helpful. Our room were made up quickly daily and I may say everything is spotless.. We only had one issue, we did not get our garden room as we thought we were getting when I made our reservations. The location was really pretty bad. instead of overlooking the garden we were over looking the loading dock/employee parking for the hotel. Needless to say, it was pretty loud in the morning and well into the evening. But, I still love this hotel and would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great town, nice shops and many, many great place to eat!

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda the frequent flier
Yorktown Heights, New York
Oct 9, 2012

Would definitely stay there again.

Everyone was very nice. Beach was big and spacious. Some days lots of seaweed; others none. Planes fly VERY low over the beach. Nice eating lunch at the outdoor sun deck. Housekeeping honest and efficient. Just LOVED the location. Could walk to the ferry to take into San Diego. Grocery store nearby for snacks. Lots of good restaurants close by, especially the Boat House and Vigilucci's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of delicious restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wormburn
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 13, 2011

Historic site with class

Classy place to do business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 22, 2011

Beautiful historic hotel, but pricey!

The hotel is very nice, but parts do look old. I realize thats the charm of this hotel, the rooms could be updated? We stayed in a queen victorian room. We didn't get to take advantage of the beach or pool or hot tub as it rained pretty much the whole time we stayed at the hotel. This hotel would be wonderful if you're looking for an island resort type place and intend on taking advantage of the beach and all the hotel has to offer, however if you're planning on spending a lot of time in downtown San Diego, realize that the Hotel Del is in Coronado and you'll be driving back and forth across the bridge a lot! This hotel is a beautiful and has a lot of history, but with that said, i don't know if it is exactly worth the price. Plus you have to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Truckee, California
Oct 17, 2009

A review of the Del

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We received excellent and helpful information as a response to our questions. Our room was very clean, the only exception being water rings on the furniture. They should provide coasters that prevent it. The coasters were made from the typical cardboard that soaks up the liquid but also leaks right onto the furniture. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Chez Loma. It's a charming french restaurant about a block from the hotel. The early bird special is resonable and the food was fabulous.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Mar 3, 2009

Honeymoon

We were booked at Hotel Del Coronado as part of our honeymoon trip. The service, from the moment we checked our car to the moment we left, was perfect. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The restaurants and the wait staff were superb! The shops were terrific! We found something for our home that they were happy to ship back for us. The location is the best. It is just minutes from the airport, a short walk into town and right on the ocean. The best of all worlds. The grounds are spectacular! We will definately be back. The sooner the better, for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
DFW, Texas
Jul 15, 2011

Cool Pacific Breezes

Graceful and gracious, the Del kept us entertained and enfolded in old-style beauty and luxury. Linens were soft; everything was clean. The staff was adequate, although none went out his/her way. Enjoyed [...], the elevator driver. Food was excellent, although pricey. Not many extras for family time ... we missed the s'mores. :( We would love to return some day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top