$269 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
View map of 1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Mar 3, 2009

Honeymoon

We were booked at Hotel Del Coronado as part of our honeymoon trip. The service, from the moment we checked our car to the moment we left, was perfect. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The restaurants and the wait staff were superb! The shops were terrific! We found something for our home that they were happy to ship back for us. The location is the best. It is just minutes from the airport, a short walk into town and right on the ocean. The best of all worlds. The grounds are spectacular! We will definately be back. The sooner the better, for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wichita, kansas
Oct 25, 2010

mixed bag

We thought the staff could have been more pleasant. Particularly the front desl personnel who rarely smiled. The room was large and clean. During two of our four nights we were awakened at 2-3 a.m. by loud singing, clapping, laughing, talking, shouting from other guests whom apparently forgot their manners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 2-6 blocks from the hotel for great shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maggie23
Business
Texas
Sep 22, 2011

An historic gem that's overpriced but lovely.

Staff was excellent and the Victorian room was small but clean. Our maid was wonderful. Pool and beach waters were too cold for us to use, so we wish we had stayed cheaper and just walked over to see the place. Lots of brides everywhere and business functions constantly, but our room was pretty quiet except for Saturday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Free parking at the zoo and $4 coupon available everywhere. Still expensive but quite nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish I was still on the beach
Business
Houston TX
Aug 17, 2009

Expensive, but probably worth it

Despite my phone calls ahead of time to both Orbitz and to the hotel to confirm that there would be space for our children, when I arrived I was told that the room we booked was too small for the children. Fortunately, after some discussion with the desk, we were given a larger room with a foldout couch; however, the view was of the adjoining red-shingled roof! We couldn't even see the sky. The pool was a zoo and needs a bigger jacuzzi. It was mobbed the day we were there (a Tuesday afternoon). Given these issues, this was a very expensive hotel even with a three nights for price of two special. The beach was incredible, the food excellent and affordable once the "kids eat free" specials were incorporated into the price. These significant positives outweighed the issues with the room and pool, and account for my rating of four stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rather than rent boogie boards from the hotel, you can purchase them from a surf shop on Orange Avenue for less than the price of an afternoon rental. This will save money if you are there for several days and like to enjoy the waves the way we did. Also, if you travel with kids, the morning brunch special kids eat free ends up being a good deal and cheaper than feeding everyone from the coffee bar in the lobby. Even cheaper is the Panera Bread place on Ocean Avenue next to Starbucks. Panera has better baked goods than Starbucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Aug 5, 2011

Gotta Love It!

The location of the hotel and the hotel itsel if superb. Truly a first class experience. I'd recommend staying in the "older" section of the hotel. Very charming and has the true flavor of the Del the way it was originally built. The newer towers are nice but if you closed your eyes and were not told you were at the Del, you wouldn't know you were actually there. Definitely an experience worth splurging for and one we look forward to next summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret Busy Mom
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 3, 2011

Spring Break

The service was outstanding, but at that price, you'd hope it would be. We thought it would be a little out of the way, but getting to all the attractions was very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wormburn
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 13, 2011

Historic site with class

Classy place to do business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 11, 2010

Relive History in Luxury

This is really now a business conference/expense account hotel, but that doesn't detract from the experience. The architecture is from a bygone era, and the hotel does a good job of highlighting its past. However history alone doesn't make a great hotel--the del Coronado scores because its staff are friendly and attentive and their facilities comfortable in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Truckee, California
Oct 17, 2009

A review of the Del

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We received excellent and helpful information as a response to our questions. Our room was very clean, the only exception being water rings on the furniture. They should provide coasters that prevent it. The coasters were made from the typical cardboard that soaks up the liquid but also leaks right onto the furniture. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Chez Loma. It's a charming french restaurant about a block from the hotel. The early bird special is resonable and the food was fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chalfont, PA
Oct 17, 2010

Beautiful

It was very nice but very expensive. $13 for a burger. Beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Adorable shops very close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top